A Euro-area crypto card that spends straight from your Bitpanda balance, with honest costs but real eligibility limits.

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Bitpanda card is a physical Visa debit card that spends straight out of your Bitpanda balance, in euros, and it is one of the more ordinary-feeling crypto cards on the market. There is no monthly fee, no foreign-exchange surcharge on top of the Visa mark-up, and the everyday mechanics are simple. What holds it back is not the product so much as the box it comes in: you need a verified Bitpanda account, you must live in the euro area, and the people who verified through “Bankident” cannot order one at all. If that describes you, this is a genuinely usable card. If it does not, the rest of this page will tell you quickly why it is not worth chasing.

Bitpanda works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

My overall mark for the Bitpanda card is 6.5 out of 10. It is a solid, unflashy euro card from a regulated European exchange, not a premium product. It suits euro-area residents who already hold crypto or precious metals on Bitpanda and want to spend them in euros without moving funds first. It does not suit anyone outside the euro area, anyone who verified via Bankident, or anyone who needs a card in dollars, pounds, or a second currency alongside the euro.

Score Breakdown

Here is how the card scored criterion by criterion, and why.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 4 / 10 Needs a verified Bitpanda account and euro-area residence; Bankident-verified users cannot order
Cost 7 / 10 Opening, month and first delivery are free; reissue EUR 5.90; EUR 0 FX but Visa mark-up applies; ATM 2% or EUR 2 minimum; conversion spread not disclosed
Top-up options 6 / 10 Main asset is your choice: listed crypto, precious metals or EUR, converted to EUR at payment; Crypto Indices excluded
Reliability and complaints 8 / 10 Issuer Transact Payments Malta Limited under MFSA supervision (reg. C 91879); no card-specific complaints found; Trustpilot 4.1/5 across 15,896 reviews, with complaints about blocked withdrawals
Everyday use 8 / 10 Physical Visa, virtual not disclosed; Apple Pay and Google Pay; ATM with a EUR 500 daily limit

The total comes to 6.5 / 10. You can see where the weight sits: the product itself works well day to day (8 and 8), but eligibility is narrow (4), and that single number drags the whole card down more than anything about how it performs.

Who Can Get the Bitpanda Card

The eligibility test is short and, for many readers, decisive. To order the card you need two things: a verified Bitpanda account, and residence in a euro-area country. That is the rule, and it is a rule about residence rather than citizenship.

There is one extra exclusion that catches people out. If you completed Bitpanda’s identity check through “Bankident”, you cannot order the card at all. A support article also rules out Cyprus and Liechtenstein. Everything beyond the euro area is simply outside the offer; the card’s public pages do not list delivery countries beyond euro-area residence, so if you are reading this from outside that area, assume the card is not for you rather than looking for a workaround.

Why does the narrowness matter so much for the score? Because it means the card is not really a general “crypto card for everyone” — it is a companion card for a platform’s existing euro-area customers. The eligibility requirement is the single biggest reason I cannot recommend it more widely, even though the card itself behaves well.

How to Get the Bitpanda Card

Assuming you clear the residence and account test above, getting the card is an in-app process. You order the physical card from the Bitpanda app, and it ships within 3 to 7 working days depending on destination. The first shipment is free.

What you get is a physical Visa debit card in euros. The card pages do not disclose whether a virtual version exists, so do not plan on one. Only one card is active at a time.

A few practical details worth knowing up front. The card is valid for 5 years from issue, and a replacement is sent automatically when it expires. Beyond that first card, the fee schedule is: a reissue is EUR 5.90, an extra physical card is EUR 10, and the FAQ quotes EUR 9.90 for a card lost, stolen, or damaged. I would note the small inconsistency between the EUR 5.90 in the fee table and the EUR 9.90 in the FAQ — it is the kind of detail worth confirming in the app if a replacement is going to cost you real money.

On the identity side, the card page requires a verified account but does not spell out which documents are needed, and proof of address or age is not stated there. The KYC tiers and how long verification takes are also not stated on the card pages. If your verification is not finished, that is the step to sort out first — the card depends on it.

What the Bitpanda Card Really Costs: Fees

The headline is friendly: opening the account, keeping it open, and the first delivery all cost nothing. Below that, though, the fees split into the ones you can see and the one that matters most but is hardest to see — the conversion spread.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Bitpanda payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Here is the fee and limit picture, taken from the card’s own pages:

Fee or limit What it is
Account opening Free
Monthly cost Free
First shipment Free
Reissue EUR 5.90 (FAQ: EUR 9.90 for loss, theft or damage)
Extra physical card EUR 10
Crypto conversion fee / spread Not stated on the card page; assets are auto-converted to EUR when you spend
Non-EUR foreign-exchange fee EUR 0, but “VISA mark-up fees apply”
ATM withdrawal 2% or EUR 2 minimum, whichever is higher
ATM daily limit EUR 500
Daily spend limit EUR 10,000
Weekly spend limit EUR 70,000
Monthly spend limit EUR 280,000
Minimum payment EUR 1

Let me make that table concrete with three ordinary payments, because that is where the fee design either helps you or quietly costs you.

Paying 40 euros’ worth of groceries in an Irish shop. You are spending euros, so there is no FX fee and no Visa mark-up. If you are paying from crypto, the platform’s trading fee for selling that asset is debited from your account on each card payment, and the conversion spread applies. That trading fee’s rate is not stated on the card page, so I cannot give you a number for it — this is the single biggest cost uncertainty on the card. On a euro balance already held, this payment is simply free.

Paying about 30 euros for a subscription in a non-euro currency. The card’s own FX fee is EUR 0, but the page is explicit that “VISA mark-up fees apply” on top. So the real cost is not zero — it is the Visa mark-up plus, if you fund it from crypto, the trading fee and spread. The mark-up figure is not published on the card pages.

Taking 200 euros out of a cash machine in the euro area. The fee is 2% or EUR 2 minimum, whichever is higher — on 200 euros that is the EUR 2 floor. Local bank fees may add on top. On a non-euro withdrawal, the EUR 0 FX fee still applies but the Visa mark-up does, on top of the ATM fee.

The pattern to take away: spending euros from a euro balance is genuinely free, and the card has no monthly or annual charge. But the moment crypto conversion or a foreign currency is involved, cost reappears — as a Visa mark-up, as an undisclosed trading fee, or as a spread the card pages do not quantify.

One more thing on limits: the free ATM withdrawals people mention are a VIP-level perk, not a card feature. The card page says top VIPs get unlimited free withdrawals each month, and the VIP scheme itself changed in July 2025, so treat any free-ATM claim as something to verify in the app rather than assume.

How to Top Up the Bitpanda Card

This is worth being clear about, because it is where most confusion lies. The Bitpanda card has no separate top-up function. There is no balance you load onto the card itself. Instead, the card spends from a “main” asset you choose in the account — and optionally a fallback asset if the main one runs short.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Bitpanda starts with a transfer to the right network

Your main asset can be any of the listed cryptocurrencies, precious metals, or plain EUR. Whichever you pick, it is converted to euros at the moment of payment. Crypto Indices are excluded from being a main asset. The minimum payment is EUR 1.

In practice, “topping up the card” just means funding your Bitpanda account the normal way and setting your preferred spending asset. The card-specific top-up fee is not stated, because there isn’t a card-specific top-up. If you want the account funded, you use the usual Bitpanda deposits — and the network and asset choices there are Bitpanda’s standard ones, not something the card changes.

One thing to know if you ever need to switch the card off for good: deactivation is permanent and done by contacting customer support. Your funds are not stranded on the card — they stay as assets or euros in your Bitpanda account and can be sold or withdrawn through normal Bitpanda payouts. But payouts, card included, are switched off while a “Proof of funds” request is open. That is the one situation where money is genuinely stuck on the platform’s timetable.

Paying With the Card Every Day

Day-to-day use is where this card earns its better marks. It is a physical Visa debit card in euros, and it works in the places you would expect a Visa to work.

For mobile payments, Apple Pay is supported on the card page, and a support article says the card can be added to Google Pay like any other Visa card. So both major mobile wallets are realistically available. The card pages do not publish a list of blocked merchants, but they do point to section 5.12 of the issuer’s cardholder agreement as the place where certain transactions are restricted — that is the reference to consult if a specific purchase is refused.

There is 1% cashback on crypto spending, credited to the EToken wallet in the asset you used. Fiat, stocks, metals, and stablecoins are excluded from qualifying transactions, as are transactions using a non-EToken payment asset. Worth flagging one inconsistency: the page body says 1% cashback, while the page’s summary line says “up to 2%”. The Product Terms (version 2.0.0, dated 1 April 2025) settle it at a fixed 1%, and an unofficial third-party source agrees with the 1%. So treat 1% as the real number and the “up to 2%” as marketing residue. The cashback payout currency is not stated.

Beyond that, the security features are the standard, reassuring set: you can block and unblock the card in the app, there is Visa anti-fraud monitoring, and online payments use 3-D Secure. If the card is lost or stolen you block it in the account and report it immediately.

What Can Go Wrong

Nothing about this card is exotic, but a few things are worth weighing honestly.

Eligibility disappointment is the first risk. If you are outside the euro area, or you verified through Bankident, this card simply is not available to you. That is not a malfunction — it is the design.

A “Proof of funds” request pauses everything. When Bitpanda requests proof of funds, all payouts including the card are disabled until it is approved. This is the single most disruptive thing that can happen to your money on this platform, and it is worth knowing about before you need it.

The trading fee on conversion is undisclosed. Every time you pay with crypto, the platform’s trading fee for selling that asset is debited from your account. The rate is not published on the card page. You are paying a fee whose size you cannot read off the page.

Withdrawal freezes are the main complaint theme. I found no card-specific complaints, but the broader Trustpilot picture for Bitpanda — 4.1/5 across roughly 15,896 reviews, with 73% five-star and 17% one-star — surfaces recurring themes of blocked withdrawals and account restrictions, high currency-exchange commission and spreads, slow support during compliance reviews, and German-language replies to English messages. None of these are card faults, but they are the platform the card sits on.

The issuer details carry one wrinkle. The card is issued by Transact Payments Malta Limited under a Visa Europe licence, regulated by the MFSA (registration C 91879), with the contract with Bitpanda GmbH in Vienna. However, an older card-account terms page names a different issuer (UAB Finansines paslaugos Contis, Bank of Lithuania licence), and an older page also describes funds in a segregated safeguarding account not covered by Lithuanian deposit insurance, with liability capped at 50 euros absent gross negligence. The older page conflicts with the current Product Terms. I would treat the current Transact Payments Malta Limited arrangement as the live one, but the discrepancy is a reminder that terms pages of different vintages can disagree.

It is custodial. Your crypto sits with the platform, not in a wallet you control. Custodial platforms have a history of failures, and blockchain transfers are irreversible. That is a category risk, not a Bitpanda-specific one, but it is the risk you are accepting by spending from a platform balance.

What to Take Instead

If the Bitpanda card’s eligibility rules or its single-currency, single-platform design do not fit you, other crypto cards exist with different trade-offs. Here is how the main alternatives compare, and none of them is obviously better for everyone.

Bitpanda RedotPay Wirex COCA
Score 6.5 / 10 6.9 / 10 6.7 / 10 6.4 / 10
Card type Physical Visa debit, EUR Virtual and physical Virtual and physical Physical and virtual, Visa
Card currencies EUR only USD card and HKD card Not stated Not stated
Issuance cost Free Virtual 10.00 USD; physical 100.00 USD Free in UK, EEA, APAC, SG, AU, “Other” Not stated
Monthly fee Free Account maintenance waived; Pro tier 12.90 USD/month No annual fee (marketing text) Not stated
Cashback 1% on crypto (EToken) 5 USD welcome reward; no rate stated Cryptoback 0.5% to up to 8% by tier Up to 8% stablecoin cashback; up to 50% on subscriptions
Region notes Euro-area residents only Long unsupported-country list; card issuance barred in 47 places incl. India, Singapore, Turkey “Worldwide (130+ countries)”; depends on region UK, EEA, Asia, South America, Middle East, Africa

Reading across the row that matters most — who can actually get one — the picture is this. Bitpanda is the narrowest (euro-area residence and a non-Bankident verified account). RedotPay is broad on crypto deposits but bars a long list of countries for identity verification and blocks card issuance in 47 places including India, Indonesia, Morocco, Nepal, Singapore and Turkey; note it charges 100.00 USD for a physical card that is non-refundable once paid. Wirex is the most widely available by its own description (“Worldwide, 130+ countries”) and issues free, but publishes fees region by region and does not state card currency or validity. COCA covers the UK, EEA, Asia, South America, Middle East and Africa, but states neither its fees nor its card currency, so you would be pricing it in the app.

If you are euro-area and already on Bitpanda, none of these beat it — you would be leaving a working, free euro card to pay an issuance fee elsewhere. If you are not in the euro area, your choice is really between RedotPay (if your country is not on its barred list) and Wirex (if you want the widest stated reach), and you should confirm your own country against each provider’s current list rather than take my word for it.

Who I Would Recommend It To

I would recommend the Bitpanda card to a fairly specific person: someone living in a euro-area country (not Cyprus or Liechtenstein), who already keeps a verified Bitpanda account, who did not verify through Bankident, and who holds crypto or precious metals on the platform and wants to spend them in euros day to day without fussing with conversions first. For that person it is a genuinely good, low-cost everyday card — free to hold, free to open, Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay, sensible limits, and a straightforward app.

I would steer everyone else away, gently but clearly. If you are outside the euro area, this is not your card. If you verified via Bankident, you cannot have it. If you need a dollar or pound card, a virtual card, or a second currency alongside the euro, this one does not offer it. And if you are the kind of person who wants to see every fee spelled out before committing, the undisclosed conversion spread and trading fee are a real gap — this is not the card for you.

For everyone in between: read the eligibility rules first, because they will save you more time than any feature comparison.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Bitpanda card?

The Bitpanda card is a physical Visa debit card that spends directly from your Bitpanda account balance in euros. You choose a main asset — a listed cryptocurrency, precious metals, or euros — and the card converts it to euros at the moment of payment. It is a single euro-denominated card with no monthly or annual fee, and one card can be active at a time.

Who is eligible for the Bitpanda card?

You need a verified Bitpanda account and residence in a euro-area country; the rule is based on residence, not citizenship. Users who verified through “Bankident” cannot order the card, and a support article also excludes Cyprus and Liechtenstein. Delivery to countries beyond euro-area residence is not stated on the card’s public pages.

Is Bitpanda a bank?

Bitpanda is a crypto platform, not a bank, though its card is issued by a licensed institution. The card is issued by Transact Payments Malta Limited under a Visa Europe licence, regulated by the Malta Financial Services Authority under registration C 91879. Bitpanda itself is the platform and programme manager on which the card runs.

How much does the Bitpanda card cost to hold?

There is no monthly or annual fee, and the account opening and first card delivery are both free. Replacement and extras cost money: a reissue is listed at EUR 5.90 (the FAQ quotes EUR 9.90 for loss, theft or damage) and an additional physical card is EUR 10. ATM withdrawals cost 2% or a EUR 2 minimum, whichever is higher.

How do I top up the Bitpanda card?

The card has no separate top-up function. You set a main spending asset (and optionally a fallback) from your Bitpanda account, and it is converted to euros when you spend. To add funds, you fund the Bitpanda account through its usual deposits. Crypto Indices cannot be a main asset, and the minimum payment is EUR 1.

Does the Bitpanda card require KYC?

Yes — a verified Bitpanda account is required to order the card, so identity verification is part of the process. The card page does not list which specific documents are needed, and proof of address and age are not stated there. KYC tiers and processing times are also not stated on the card pages. Separately, if Bitpanda requests “Proof of funds”, all payouts including the card are disabled until approved.

Is the Bitpanda card safe, and is it custodial?

It is custodial: your crypto is held by the platform rather than in a wallet you control, so you trust the provider with the funds. Standard safeguards are in place — app-based card block and unblock, Visa anti-fraud monitoring, and 3-D Secure for online payments. As with any custodial platform, the general counterparty risk of holding funds with an exchange applies.

Can I add the Bitpanda card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

Yes. Apple Pay is listed as supported on the card page, and a support article says the card can be added to Google Pay like any other Visa card, so both mobile wallets are realistically available. Note that online tokenised card numbers can still be restricted by the issuer, and some categories of transaction are excluded under section 5.12 of the issuer’s cardholder agreement.

How much cashback does the Bitpanda card give?

The cashback is a fixed 1% on qualifying crypto transactions, credited to the EToken wallet in the asset you used. Fiat, stocks, metals, stablecoins, and transactions using a non-EToken payment asset are excluded. You may see “up to 2%” in the page summary, but the Product Terms (version 2.0.0, dated 1 April 2025) fix it at 1%, and an unofficial third-party source agrees with the 1% figure.

What are the Bitpanda card’s limits, and are ATM withdrawals free?

Spending is capped at EUR 10,000 per day, EUR 70,000 per week, and EUR 280,000 per month, with a separate EUR 500 daily ATM limit. ATM withdrawals are not inherently free: the fee is 2% or a EUR 2 minimum, whichever is higher, plus any local bank fee. Free ATM withdrawals are a VIP-tier perk, not a standard card feature, and the VIP scheme changed in July 2025, so check the app rather than assume.

Content created by the «cryptocardbasics» team