A free virtual Visa built for people who already self-custody
Tangem is not really a bank card brand in the ordinary sense. It is a hardware-wallet company that added a payment layer on top: Tangem Pay, a prepaid-style Visa that spends a balance you load yourself with stablecoins or bank money, without handing the wallet keys to anyone. That single design choice explains almost everything about who will like this card and who will find it awkward.
My score for it is 7.5 out of 10. That is a good card for a narrow and quite specific person, and a mediocre one for everyone else. If you keep your own crypto on a self-custodial wallet and you mainly want a free virtual Visa number to spend from without giving up control, this belongs near the top of your list. If you want a normal bank card with a normal bank’s protections, predictable statements and no blockchain involved anywhere, it will frustrate you.
The conditions described on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 7.5 / 10, aimed at self-custody holders who want a free virtual Visa
The single strongest thing about this card is that the Basic tier costs nothing to hold and issues a virtual Visa at no charge, with no monthly account fee and no per-transaction fee. On top-up, it takes USDC and USDT across four networks, and pays 1% cashback on Basic. For a hardware-wallet owner who wants a card number for subscriptions and travel, that is a genuinely good deal.

The weak part is everything around the edges: the card works only in a limited set of countries, identity checking is handled by a partner rather than by Tangem, the crypto conversion spread is not published, and one of the card’s own help articles says cash withdrawals are not yet available while another describes them in detail. Documentation is not fully aligned with itself, which is a bad sign in a product you would use for money.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Available in the US and selected countries across LATAM, APAC, MEA and Africa; not every country or US state, and an unsupported region means rejection during KYC |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Basic plan $0, first virtual card $0, transaction fee $0, FX at Visa Exchange Rate + 1.5%, ATM 4%; Plus is $29.99/month |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | USDC and USDT on Polygon, Base, Arbitrum and BNB Smart Chain, plus bank transfer ACH or Fedwire and other tokens via swap |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Issuer Rain, a Visa Principal Member; programme run by Paera LLC; Tangem itself is not regulated as a financial services provider; unofficial reports name Third National as issuer, and there are complaints about network outages and support |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Basic gives a virtual card, Plus gives plastic; Apple Pay and Google Pay work; ATM 4% on Basic and 2% on Plus, though another page says withdrawals are not yet available |
Total: 7.5 / 10.
The audience note matters more than the number. This is a card for hardware-wallet owners who want a free virtual Visa. It is not trying to be the everyday card for someone who pays rent in local currency and wants a banking relationship with a bank that answers the phone.
Who will they give you the card to
The answer is: adults of 18 or over who live at an address in a supported country, and only in a subset of the world.
Tangem Pay is available in the US and in selected countries across Latin America, APAC, the Middle East and Africa — not in every country, and not in every US state. The eligibility of some features is determined by your country and region of residence rather than your citizenship, and the app is where you see it. The way to check is practical rather than theoretical: enter your country of residence during onboarding and let the flow tell you. If your region is unsupported, the application is rejected at the KYC stage.
One thing I want to be precise about, because it trips people up: there is no published country list on the Tangem Pay page or in the tariffs PDF. That is what “not stated” means here — the card’s own public pages simply do not enumerate the countries. You find out by trying, inside the app.
The residency basis also has a knock-on effect on physical cards: a plastic card ships only inside the country that was verified during KYC. So a resident of a supported Latin American country gets their card delivered at home; someone who verified elsewhere does not get that option.
How to get it
The path is short, and it runs through a company you will meet twice.
Onboarding is operated by Paera LLC, which is described as responsible for your onboarding including performing KYC and AML verification. The page adds that ID verification and eligibility checks apply to the card account only — a useful distinction, because it means the wallet itself and the card account are separate things in the paperwork.
What you actually do:
- Verify a phone number and an email address with codes.
- Submit a government-issued ID.
- Give your residence address.
- Biometric data is collected by Sumsub, the identity provider.
- US residents also supply an SSN.
There is one KYC, not a repeat one. Cards are usually issued within about 5 minutes and in rare cases up to 48 hours; if it stalls past that, the address given for such cases is [email protected].
Two rejection causes are documented and worth knowing before you start. An unsupported region or state is one. A repeat application using the same identity is automatically rejected — and Tangem says it cannot see the reason. That second one is the annoying kind of limit, because there is no explanation to appeal against.
Which documents are accepted beyond the government ID, whether separate proof of address is required, and any age rules beyond 18+ are not stated on the public pages.
The card itself is a Visa: Visa Platinum on Basic, Visa Signature on Plus, Visa Infinite on Prestige. Basic gives a virtual card, Plus a plastic card, and Prestige virtual, plastic or metal, with metal coming soon. You can hold up to 3, 5 or 10 cards depending on tier. The card currency is USD, so any non-USD transaction is converted.
Ordering a physical card
A plastic card ships only inside the country verified at KYC, in Latin letters only. Country list and estimated delivery time appear in the app when you order. An order cannot be cancelled once placed.
| Item | Fee |
|---|---|
| First card, Basic | $15.63 to $63.45 |
| First card, Plus | Free, then the same fee applies |
| Reissue | $5 (tariff PDF says $1 for replacement) |
| Additional virtual card | $5, issued in about 1 minute, rarely up to 48 hours |
Note the discrepancy I flagged: the tariff PDF dated 25 August 2026 gives the physical card delivery fee as $14.53 to $82.10, while the page gives $15.63 to $63.45. Two official figures that do not match. I am not going to pick a winner for you — budget the higher end if the delivery matters to you.
A physical card arrives inactive, which is the right default: nothing is live until you turn it on.
Fees: what it really costs
The headline is attractive and the details are mixed. Basic has no monthly fee, no fee per transaction and no fee for the first virtual card. The costs arrive at the edges — foreign currency, cash withdrawal, physical delivery and disputes.

The pricing page for Basic is $0 per month, Visa Platinum, up to 3 cards, $10,000 daily spend per card, 1% cashback capped at $100 a month, 4% ATM fee and a $10,000 maximum card balance. Plus is $29.99 per month with Visa Signature, up to 5 cards, the first plastic card free, $50,000 daily spend, 2% cashback capped at $300 a month, 2% ATM, free bank transfers, a $50,000 balance cap and Visa Signature protections including extended warranty, price protection, purchase protection, auto rental insurance and Airport Companion lounges. Prestige, at $999 per year, is coming soon.
| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Basic plan fee | $0 |
| Plus plan fee | $29.99/month |
| Prestige plan fee | $999/year, coming soon |
| First virtual card | $0 |
| Additional virtual card | $5 |
| Replacement card | $1 (reissue listed as $5 on another page) |
| Physical card delivery | $14.53 to $82.10 (page gives $15.63 to $63.45) |
| Transaction fee | $0 |
| FX fee on non-USD transactions | Visa Exchange Rate + 1.5% |
| On-chain withdrawal | $0 |
| Dispute fee | $30 when a formal dispute opens |
| Bank onramp | ACH $1 / FedWire $11 on Basic, $0 on Plus |
| ATM fee | 4% Basic / 2% Plus / 1% Prestige |
| ATM limits | Max 3 withdrawals per 24 hours, $250 per withdrawal, no free allowance stated |
| Daily spend per card | $10,000 Basic / $50,000 Plus / $100,000 Prestige |
| Annual spend per card | $10,000,000 |
| Transaction count | 100 per day, 1,000 per month |
| Maximum card balance | $10,000 Basic / $50,000 Plus |
| Daily load | $100,000 |
| Crypto conversion fee or spread | not stated |
Three everyday payments, with the fees that actually apply
Coffee in your own country, paid in local currency. Suppose you pay 10 EUR on a card balance in USD. The transaction fee is $0. But Visa converts at its rate with a cross-border fee, and the tariff states Visa Exchange Rate + 1.5%. So 10 EUR costs you a little over 1.5% more than the mid-market rate. The help centre’s advice — choose to be charged in the local currency at the terminal rather than in USD — is the one piece of practical advice I would give anyone reading this.
A subscription billed in USD. You spend from the USD balance, no conversion, no transaction fee. Cashback of 1% on Basic accrues against a $100 monthly cap. This is the cleanest case for the card and the reason many people keep one.
Taking $100 out of an ATM. On Basic, 4% of the withdrawal amount, so $4, and no free allowance is stated anywhere. On Plus the fee is 2%, and Plus costs $29.99 a month to hold. The Plus tier only makes sense for someone who both spends heavily and uses ATMs; for occasional cash, the Basic fee is the cheaper route. Note also that ATM access is restricted to contactless-enabled ATMs, that only cards issued after 10 March 2026 showing Platinum or Signature in Apple or Google Pay qualify, and that older cards must be reissued.
The plan fee is charged every 30 days, not monthly on the calendar. If the balance cannot cover it, you get 30 days to top up before Signature cards close and the plan drops to Basic. That is a real cliff: an unfunded Plus account quietly loses its card tier.
How to top it up
This is where the card scores highest, and it is the strongest reason to keep an eye on it.
You fund the card with stablecoins or fiat straight from your bank account. Concretely, USDC and USDT on Polygon, Base, Arbitrum and BNB Smart Chain, plus bank transfer by ACH or Fedwire in some regions, where the incoming money is converted to USDC. Other tokens can be used through a swap.
There are three routes:
- From Tangem Wallet, with a swap if you hold a different token.
- From another wallet or exchange, using the deposit address for the right network.
- By bank transfer, ACH or Fedwire, where available. The bank deposit fee is deducted from the amount received — send $1,001 to receive $1,000 via ACH, or $1,011 via Fedwire. On Plus these transfers are free.
Network gas is paid by the sender for a crypto transfer. Limits: daily load $100,000, 24 loads per day, 150 loads per month. The minimum top-up is not stated.
The single most expensive mistake available here is sending the wrong token or the wrong network. That deposit is permanently lost. Check the network selector twice.
Paying with it every day
Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported, with Apple Pay depending on the country. Tangem Pay lives inside the Tangem app on iOS and Android. The app store rating and number of ratings for the app were not found, so I cannot give you a sense of how users rate the software itself.
Cashback is 1% on Basic, 2% on Plus and 4% on Prestige, with monthly caps of $100, $300 and $1,000. Extra 5%, 10% and 15% on the first $500, plus a welcome bonus up to $75, are described as coming soon. What currency cashback is paid in is not stated.
Some merchant categories are blocked by Rain, the issuer: gambling and online casinos, liquor stores and certain subscription services. That list is the issuer’s policy, not a legal requirement, and it can change. It is worth knowing before you rely on this card for anything in those categories.
Which wallets are supported alongside the card, beyond blocked categories, is not stated on the pages I checked.
Two payment quirks to keep in mind. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your balance that stays for days. And address verification — the check comparing your typed billing address with issuer records — is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which is a common cause of declines on cards like this one when you pay a foreign merchant. On-chain balance updates after a purchase can take up to 2 business days.
If something goes wrong with a payment, disputes run by email to [email protected] under the standard Visa chargeback procedure, must be reported within 60 days of the transaction appearing on your statement, and carry a $30 fee when a formal dispute opens. Extra documents may be requested. A merchant refund credits your card balance only and cannot be withdrawn as cash.
What can go wrong
Here is where I stop being generous.
Tangem is not the party you have a relationship with. The card is issued by Rain, described as a Visa Principal Member, and the programme is run by Paera LLC. Tangem is the hardware-wallet brand behind it. The card’s own footer says Tangem is not regulated as a financial services provider. Registration country for Paera or Rain, and their licences, are not stated. Third-party reports put it differently: an unofficial account from January 2026 describes Tangem Pay as provided by Paera LLC and issued through Third National as a Visa licensed partner, with Rain providing co-signing and compliance — which contradicts the official issuer line. I would treat that as unconfirmed and check the current terms yourself.
Self-custody has a footnote. Card funds sit in separate Tangem Pay smart-contract accounts, and your main assets stay in the non-custodial Tangem Wallet. You can freeze and unfreeze the card instantly in the app, set a 4-digit PIN, set a custom daily spending limit including $0, and link only one wallet per account. But users dispute the self-custody claim because a USDC withdrawal passes through a swap with fees — the crypto does move through a provider on the way out. Insurance and deposit protection are not stated.
Deleting things loses money. A factory reset, or deleting the Tangem account, loses access to Tangem Pay and the funds in it, and there is no relink yet. Withdraw first, then write to [email protected] to close the account.
Refunds stay put. Merchant refunds credit the card balance and cannot be withdrawn.
Shipping has geographic limits. At the launch of the physical cards, Tangem said shipping was restricted in about 20 countries, including China, Russia, North Korea and Palestine, citing KYC, sanctions and banking rules. The launch run was reported at 5,000 cards.
Documentation contradicts itself. The clearest example is the ATM: one help article gives fees, limits and eligibility in detail, and another says ATM cash withdrawals are not yet available. That is not a small thing. It means you should confirm in the app before you rely on cash.
The provider landscape is not new. Card programmes in this category close. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Closures typically mean a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw.
Complaints are thin but not empty. In a single search I found no Reddit or Trustpilot thread specific to the card. Trustpilot shows Tangem at roughly 4.1 out of 5 across about 876 reviews, but that is the brand and wallet, not this card. Card-specific feedback I did find: a one-star review of a card order shipped from Hong Kong with poor support, and users arguing about the self-custody claim described above.
Timing context. The launch was gradual from November 2025, reported at 38 jurisdictions initially. The tariff terms PDF is dated 25 August 2026. ATM withdrawals apply only to cards issued after 10 March 2026.
What to take instead
The honest comparison is with other self-custody or card-programme products that overlap in different ways. All three below scored lower on my scale, but each wins on a specific axis, so match on the axis that matters to you.
| Tangem | MetaMask | KAST | Zeal | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 7.5 / 10 | 7.1 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 |
| Card network | Visa | Mastercard | Visa | Visa |
| Where it works | US plus selected LATAM, APAC, MEA, Africa | 45 listed countries/territories; US and UK sign-ups temporarily closed | Supported-country list only shown at KYC; no published list | Spend in 150+ countries; live in EU, UK and parts of Latin America and Asia |
| Entry cost | $0 | Virtual free; Metal $199/year | $0 Standard; $1,000/year Premium; $10,000/year Private | not stated |
| FX fee | Visa rate + 1.5% | No foreign transaction fee; Mastercard rate | 0.5% to 1.75% depending on residence and country | No additional FX fee; Visa wholesale rate |
| Cashback | 1% / 2% / 4% by tier | 1% Virtual; Metal headline 3%, footnote 3% on the first $10,000 then 1% | 1.5% / 2% / 3% on spending caps | Up to 4% in GNO; app also advertises up to 5% variable APY on balances |
MetaMask is the nearest thing to a direct rival. It issues a virtual Mastercard instantly, with metal available to pre-order in the app afterwards, one card per user, and no foreign transaction fee. The catch is geography: 45 listed countries and territories with proof of residency required, other regions on a waitlist, and US and UK sign-ups temporarily closed per the FAQ. Cashback of 1% is paid in mUSD.
KAST has the deepest card ladder, up to 10 cards, and the widest range of stablecoins including PYUSD and RLUSD, with stablecoin deposits converted 1:1 at 0% spread. Its fees are more aggressive at the edges: 0.5% to 1.75% FX depending on where you live and where you are spending, $0.10 on non-USD transactions under $25, and $0.50 for a declined payment. Its eligibility rules are also the strictest, applying not only to your country of residence but to the document you hold — dual citizens may pass with an ID from a supported country. Its own Terms name only USDT and USDC as acceptable tokens, which conflicts with the token list on the app.
Zeal is the most travel-oriented of the four: spending in 150+ countries, a virtual Visa you can add to Apple Pay, and no additional FX fee because conversion happens at the Visa wholesale rate. Accounts can be held in EUR, USD and GBP. Its cost schedule is not published on its site or its app store listing, and its cashback is paid in GNO, which you must hold in the card Safe to qualify — a different kind of lock-in from the others.
If you already hold a Tangem hardware wallet, none of these is a like-for-like swap: only Tangem keeps your keys where you put them and puts a card on top.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Tangem Pay to three kinds of person.
First, the hardware-wallet owner who needs a card number for online subscriptions and travel and does not want to hand keys to a platform to get one. That is the design’s reason for existing and it does that job for $0.
Second, anyone in a supported country in Latin America, APAC, the Middle East or Africa who has USDC or USDT on Polygon, Base, Arbitrum or BNB Smart Chain and can reach a bank transfer — the four-network stablecoin support is the best part of the product.
Third, a Plus subscriber who genuinely uses ATMs, since $29.99 a month buys a 2% withdrawal fee instead of 4% and free bank transfers. That tier only makes sense with volume.
I would not recommend it to someone who wants a bank with deposit protection, to anyone planning around a merchant refund they can withdraw as cash, to anyone whose country is not on the app’s supported list, or to a person who will hold a large balance for a long time and wants to be certain that the crypto-to-fiat spread is what they think it is — because that spread is not stated anywhere on the public pages.
Check three things before you commit: whether your country passes onboarding, what the ATM situation actually is in the app today, and what the crypto conversion spread is at the moment you are holding a balance.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Tangem card?
Tangem Pay is a prepaid-style Visa that spends a balance you load yourself, rather than a bank account. It is issued by Rain and the programme is run by Paera LLC, with Tangem as the hardware-wallet brand behind it. You fund the balance with stablecoins or bank money and pay with it like an ordinary card, but there is no bank balance behind it and no deposit guarantee.
Is Tangem a bank?
No. Tangem is a hardware-wallet company, and its own footer states it is not regulated as a financial services provider. The card programme runs through Paera LLC and Rain, a Visa Principal Member. Registration country and licences for those entities are not stated on the public pages, so the entity you deal with on a dispute is Paera, not Tangem.
How do I get a Tangem card?
You sign up through the Tangem app, verify a phone number and email, submit a government-issued ID and give a residence address; US residents also give an SSN. Biometrics are handled by Sumsub. The card usually appears within about 5 minutes and in rare cases up to 48 hours. You must be 18 or over and live in a supported country.
Does the Tangem card require KYC?
Yes, once, and it applies to the card account only. Onboarding is operated by Paera LLC, which is described as responsible for performing KYC and AML verification. If you live in an unsupported region or state, the application is rejected, and a second application with the same identity is also rejected with no reason Tangem can see.
How much does a Tangem card cost?
The Basic plan is $0 with no monthly fee, no transaction fee and the first virtual card free. Plus is $29.99 per month and Prestige, coming soon, is $999 a year. Real costs sit elsewhere: 1.5% added to the Visa exchange rate on non-USD purchases, 4% ATM on Basic, $15.63 to $63.45 for physical delivery on one page and $14.53 to $82.10 in the tariff PDF, and a $30 dispute fee.
How do I top up the Tangem card?
Three ways: from Tangem Wallet with a swap if needed, from another wallet or exchange using the deposit address for the right network, or by bank transfer ACH or Fedwire where available, which arrives as USDC. USDC and USDT are supported on Polygon, Base, Arbitrum and BNB Smart Chain. Daily load limit is $100,000, with 24 loads a day and 150 a month.
Can I use a Tangem card in my country?
It depends on where you live, not where you are a citizen. Tangem Pay is available in the US and in selected countries across Latin America, APAC, the Middle East and Africa — not all countries, and not all US states. No country list is published on the card’s pages, so the practical test is to enter your country of residence during onboarding in the app and see whether it passes.
Is the Tangem card safe?
The design is sound in the ways that matter: your main crypto stays in a non-custodial wallet, card funds sit in separate smart-contract accounts, and you can freeze the card instantly, set a PIN and set a daily limit including $0. But there is no insurance or deposit protection stated, a USDC withdrawal passes through a swap with fees, and deleting the app account or doing a factory reset loses access to the card funds with no relink available yet.
Can I withdraw money from Tangem Pay?
Yes, to a Tangem Wallet, and on-chain withdrawal is $0 — though a swap provider’s fee applies if the token differs. Bank withdrawal to US banks costs $1 by ACH or $11 by Fedwire, free on Plus, with a $10,000 per-transaction cap. Merchant refunds credit the card balance and cannot be withdrawn that way.
How do I delete my Tangem account?
Contact [email protected] to close the Tangem Pay account, and withdraw the balance first. A factory reset or deleting the Tangem app account loses access to Tangem Pay and the funds in it. The pages state there is no way to relink a card to a new wallet yet, so treat the reset as irreversible for the card side.
Wallet cards – cryptocardbasics
Content created by the «cryptocardbasics» team
