Bitrefill card, reviewed by someone who walked through the terms
If you have crypto and you want to spend it like ordinary money, the Bitrefill card is one of the names that comes up. It is a Visa, it sits in Google Pay, and it draws on a euro balance that you have topped up from Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, a few other chains, or SEPA. That is the pitch. The reality, once you read the terms and the third-party trackers, is a more ordinary story: a prepaid-style Visa from a small Estonian e-money programme, with reasonable fees, narrow country coverage, and a few sharp edges that you only find out about once you start using it.
This review walks through who the card is for, what it actually costs, how the top-up and spending work, what can go wrong, and what the alternatives look like. The card’s own score from independent testing sits at 6.8 out of 10, and the reason it is not higher comes down to country reach, the deposit spread, and the fact that the most useful information (limits, FX margins, inactivity fee) is not on the card page itself.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
The Bitrefill card earns 6.8 out of 10 in the testing breakdown I worked from. The cost score is 6 out of 10 because the headline number is good (issuance free, FX 0% on Visa’s rate) but the rest hides in the spread and an inactivity fee. Top-up options score 7 out of 10 because the chain coverage is wide and Lightning is supported, but USDT was dropped in March 2025 and the minimum deposit is EUR 15. Everyday use scores 8 out of 10 because it is a Visa, Google Pay works, and contactless is enabled. Reliability scores 9 out of 10 because Wallester is a licensed Estonian issuer and the Trustpilot reading is solid. Who can get it scores 5 out of 10 because the country list is effectively the EU plus Norway and Iceland, and US and Russian citizens are excluded regardless of where they live.

Score breakdown
| Criterion | Score | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5/10 | EU, Norway, Iceland residents (18+); US and Russian citizens excluded even if resident |
| Cost | 6/10 | Card through the app is free; SEPA and crypto deposits have a 1.99% fee; an inactivity fee kicks in after 12 months |
| Top-up options | 7/10 | BTC, Lightning, ETH, USDC, SOL, Base, Polygon, SEPA; USDT deposits ended 17 March 2025 |
| Reliability and complaints | 9/10 | Issued by Wallester AS under Estonian supervision; Trustpilot 4.5/5 across about 2,943 reviews |
| Everyday use | 8/10 | Virtual and physical Visa, Google Pay, contactless; Apple Pay listed as “coming soon” |
| Total | 6.8/10 | A solid EU/EEA card, weak on global reach, decent on cost once you know the spread |
If you are an EU/EEA resident who already has crypto in Bitcoin, Ethereum, USDC, Solana or Lightning, and you want a low-friction way to turn that into euro spending, this is a reasonable card to look at. If you are outside the EU, if you hold mainly USDT, if you want a physical Apple Pay card tomorrow, or if you want a card that publishes a clear spread in advance, you will probably want to keep looking.
Who the card is actually for
The card’s terms say access is “subject to eligibility criteria” and that “further eligibility requirements, established and verified by our partners, shall apply”. The partner in question is Wallester AS, the Estonian e-money institution that actually issues the card. Wallester is licensed by the Estonian Financial Supervision Authority (Finantsinspektsioon).
In practice, third-party tracking and the help centre put the eligible residence list at the EU member states plus Norway and Iceland. That is: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Norway, Iceland. You also need to be at least 18.
Citizenship is screened separately from residence, and the rules are stricter. US and Russian citizens are excluded regardless of where they live, with one narrow carve-out: Russian citizens who also hold EU or EEA citizenship are eligible. The help centre blocklist for verification and deposits also lists Japan, Ukraine and the UAE alongside the US and Russia. Hungarian residents have faced temporary application suspensions in the past.
The card’s terms require identity verification, run by the card partner, before you can order. There is no statement of which documents are accepted on the card page; the third-party walkthroughs describe a “Starter” tier (photo ID and a selfie liveness check, plus a proof of address in some cases) and a “Plus” tier (proof of address and proof of source of funds) reached only after the Starter deposit limit is hit, by invitation.
If you do not have an EU/EEA address, this card is almost certainly not for you.
How to get one
You start in the Bitrefill app, where the card is free to order through the in-app flow. There is a virtual Visa, usable as soon as verification is complete, and a physical Visa, which has to be activated after it arrives at the address you provided. Ordering the physical card is free; delivery time is not stated on the card page. You can order a second card from the Cards page when you need one, and you need to order a new one on expiry. Replacement cost, if you lose it, is not stated on the official page either.
The card is denominated in euros. The terms are explicit that crypto deposits are converted to euros, and that cashback, where it applies, is paid in euros. There is no multi-currency balance: if you spend in a non-euro currency, Visa’s exchange rate is used and Bitrefill says there is no foreign exchange fee of its own on top.
Before you can order the card, the partner runs identity checks. The card’s own page does not list the documents you will be asked for; that detail is in third-party write-ups. The two-tier system is the practical version of that: Starter covers the photo-ID-and-selfie route, with possible proof of address, and Plus adds proof of source of funds for higher limits. The first tier is what most users will live in, and it caps crypto deposits at EUR 15,000 over the lifetime of the relationship, with monthly spend of EUR 10,000 and per-day spend of EUR 10,000, plus a EUR 200 contactless-per-transaction ceiling. If you are invited to upgrade, you have 30 days to complete it or “your card will be suspended”, in the language of the terms. Processing time and the specific reasons a verification might be refused are not stated.
Activation outside the EU, where the help centre acknowledges some users will be, is the moment at which proof of address is most likely to be required.
What the Bitrefill card really costs
The card page leads with “free through the app”, and on the headline numbers that is true: there is no monthly fee, no issuance fee, no FX fee of Bitrefill’s own. The costs that matter sit one layer down, in the spread on the crypto-to-euro conversion, the SEPA pay-in fee, an inactivity fee, and the ATM charges.
Costs at a glance
| Item | Cost | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Card issuance | Free through the app | Official |
| Virtual card | Free | Official |
| Physical card delivery | Free where offered | Third-party (UNOFFICIAL) |
| Monthly fee | None stated on the official page | Official |
| SEPA / crypto deposit fee | 1.99% fixed | Official |
| Foreign exchange fee | None on top of Visa’s rate | Official |
| Inactivity fee | EUR 10/month after 12 months without spending or cash-out | Third-party (UNOFFICIAL) |
| Replacement physical card | EUR 10 | Third-party (UNOFFICIAL) |
| ATM fee | 2.49% plus the ATM operator’s own charge | Third-party (UNOFFICIAL) |
| ATM daily limit | EUR 350 | Third-party (UNOFFICIAL) |
| ATM monthly limit | EUR 3,000 | Third-party (UNOFFICIAL) |
| Minimum deposit | EUR 15 | Official |
| Spend limit per day | EUR 10,000 | Official (Starter and Plus) |
| Spend limit per month | EUR 10,000 (Starter) / EUR 15,000 (Plus) | Official |
| Contactless per transaction | EUR 200 | Official |
A few real-world examples make the totals easier to feel.
Buying lunch for EUR 12 in Spain with a Bitcoin deposit. You top up with EUR 12 worth of BTC. The 1.99% deposit fee is about EUR 0.24, and the spread between the BTC/Euro rate Bitrefill shows and the live rate is whatever the partner charges at that moment. The card then spends EUR 12 over Visa in Spain, with no FX fee because the merchant accepts euros. There is no monthly fee and no inactivity hit. Your all-in cost is the deposit fee plus the spread, which the official page does not publish as a percentage.
Buying a USD 50 Amazon gift card while travelling in the US. You pay in US dollars. Bitrefill adds no FX margin; Visa’s rate applies. The hit is again the spread at top-up time, not at the till. If you topped up with USDC, the spread is usually tighter than with BTC; if you topped up with BTC and the network fees are high, you also pay the on-chain gas in BTC before the deposit fee is even taken.
Withdrawing EUR 200 from an ATM in Berlin. The unofficial ATM fee is 2.49%, which would be EUR 4.98 on top of the EUR 200 you take out. The ATM operator’s own surcharge (set by the bank that owns the machine) is on top of that, and is the kind of thing you see as a screen prompt at the machine. You are well under the unofficial EUR 350 daily ATM limit, and the EUR 200 contactless ceiling does not apply to ATM withdrawals.
The take-away is straightforward: the visible fees are reasonable, but the conversion spread and the inactivity fee are the things that will actually cost you money over a year, and neither is published in a number on the card page.
How to top up the card
The card page lists what you can “Buy with”: Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, USDT, Solana, Base, Polygon, Li.Finance, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Visa, MasterCard. That is not the same as the card funding list, and the difference matters. USDT deposits ended on 17 March 2025, and the third-party trackers say the “Buy with” line still shows USDT because the gift-card side of the business accepts it, not the card. Apple Pay, Google Pay, Visa and MasterCard in that list are for buying gift cards and phone top-ups on the Bitrefill shop, not for topping up the card.

The actual top-up options, confirmed by the help centre and the terms, are:
- Bitcoin (on-chain)
- Lightning
- Ethereum (USDC on Ethereum)
- USDC (also on Base, Polygon and Solana)
- Solana
- SEPA transfer
USDT is not a current option. There is a fixed 1.99% Bitrefill fee on deposits, plus a variable exchange cost at the card partner’s live rate; that exchange cost is the “spread” the card page does not name. The minimum deposit is EUR 15, and smaller deposits are not added to the card balance. Store credit bought on the Bitrefill gift-card side cannot be moved to the card.
Three things to know before you send anything. First, the network you choose has to be the one the card accepts: if the page tells you to send USDC on Base, sending USDC on Ethereum to the same address can mean a manual recovery process with no guarantee of return. Second, the EU’s Transfer of Funds Regulation, in force from July 2026, means deposits above EUR 1,000 from a wallet that is not your own, or not run by an EU-licensed virtual asset service provider, are declined. Third, blockchain fees for the deposit (gas, bandwidth) are charged by the network, not by Bitrefill, and are paid in the network’s own token; sending USDC on Ethereum with no ETH in the wallet to cover gas is a common way to lose a deposit.
To get your balance back out, the card page says you can withdraw to a bank account for free, or cash out at an ATM. Free SEPA cash-out is not available to Swedish residents, per third-party reporting; ATM cash-out is, with the 2.49% fee noted in the cost section. The card is deactivated when inactivity fees take the balance to EUR 0, and the closure process for a card you want to close voluntarily is not stated on the official page.
Paying with the card every day
Once the balance is loaded, the card behaves like a normal Visa. The terms allow contactless, online and in-store spending up to the limits above. Google Pay is supported today; Apple Pay is listed as “coming soon” in third-party walk-throughs, and the card page itself does not confirm support. There is no published list of blocked merchant categories, but in line with how prepaid-style cards are usually configured, gambling and similar high-risk MCCs may be restricted by the issuer rather than by law.
The reward structure is the most unusual part of the day-to-day. Bitrefill pays 2% back in total, split as 1% on each crypto deposit and 1% on each purchase. There is no cap. The cashback is paid in euros, and the rate against your deposit or purchase currency is published on the website; that detail is in the terms rather than the card page. If a purchase is later refunded or charged back, the rewards attached to it can be debited, so the cashback is not a free option to refund.
Online payments go through 3-D Secure: the issuer assesses risk and either approves without a challenge or asks for a one-time code or biometric confirmation. If a merchant declines the card at checkout, the most common reasons are address-verification mismatches (the card is euro-denominated and the merchant’s AVS is not configured for foreign-issued cards) and BIN-based risk flags. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on the balance for several days, even if no money was actually taken.
If something goes wrong with a payment, the help article on disputes is clear: contact the merchant first, because most refunds are handled that way. Bitrefill is explicit that it is not liable for merchants who refuse the card. Time frames for chargeback rights are not stated on the card page, and that is the part you would want to check against the partner’s terms if you rely on consumer protections.
The app is on the App Store and Google Play. The third-party trackers put the App Store rating at 4.7 out of 5 across 372 ratings and the Google Play rating at 4.5 across 2,468 ratings, but those numbers come from a third party and are not confirmed by the card itself. In the app, you can freeze the card and hide the balance with one tap, and 3-D Secure is on for online payments by default.
What can go wrong
The first thing to internalise is that this is a custodial product. Bitrefill is operated by Airfill Prepaid AB, a Swedish company (559001-6035) registered in Stockholm. The card programme is run by Wallester AS in Estonia, which is licensed by the Estonian Financial Supervision Authority. The crypto side, including the virtual IBAN service, is handled by Lightspark Payments Europe AS, also in Estonia and licensed by the Estonian Financial Intelligence Unit. Your euro balance sits with the issuer, not with you, and your crypto at the moment of deposit is converted and held by those partners. The card page does not describe any safeguarding or insurance beyond what EMIs are required to do, and safeguarded client funds are not the same as bank deposits and are not covered by deposit guarantee schemes.
Trustpilot is the most visible record of how the company handles problems. The Bitrefill Trustpilot sits around 4.5 out of 5 across about 2,943 reviews (read 20 October 2026), with 89% five-star and 5% one-star. The bulk of the negative reviews are about the gift-card store, not the card: gift-card markups, Apple codes that stop working and lead to account blocks, lookalike phishing sites, refunds that pause, and deposits that sit pending for 20+ days. Bitrefill replies to its one-, two- and three-star reviews. On the card side specifically, the recurring complaint in user reports is that the Visa is sometimes denied at checkout, which lines up with the AVS and BIN-based decline risk described above.
There are a few quiet risks worth knowing about:
- The card is prepaid-style. The card cannot overdraw, but the balance is held by the issuer; you are exposed to the issuer’s solvency and to any programme-level change. Visa has shut programmes down before, and crypto-card issuers have been on the wrong end of that.
- Deposits are largely irreversible. A wrong-network or wrong-token deposit typically needs manual support recovery, with no guarantee of return. Lightning and SEPA are the easiest to recover because they are at least routed through identifiable channels; sending USDC on a chain the card does not support is where most users get stuck.
- The inactivity fee kicks in after 12 months without spending or cashing out, at EUR 10 per month per the third-party trackers, and runs the balance down to zero, at which point the card deactivates. If you only plan to use the card occasionally, set a reminder.
- Hungarian residents have had temporary suspensions on new applications. The help centre mentions it, and the practical effect is that eligibility can change without a public announcement. Treat the country list as a snapshot, not a guarantee.
- The MiCA transitional period runs to 1 July 2026 for providers operating under national law. If Wallester or Lightspark have not received or been refused a MiCA authorisation by then, the card’s regulatory footing in the EU changes, which can affect availability, not just disclosure.
For everyday use, the safeguards that are in place are: 2FA in the app, one-tap freeze, 3-D Secure on online payments, and the ability to hide the balance on the home screen. Lost, stolen or unauthorised transactions are reported by emailing [email protected]; the help centre also has a contact form. There is no out-of-hours phone line.
What to take instead
The Bitrefill card is one of several EU-issued crypto cards, and it is not the right fit for everyone. Three alternatives, with their own trade-offs:
UPay scores 6.1 out of 10. It claims to support more than 180 countries, which is wider than Bitrefill’s 30, and offers virtual and physical cards in personal and business variants, with conversion handled in USD, EUR, AED and other currencies. The catch is that the KYC partner only accepts ID documents issued by the same country as the user, and the published fee, FX and cost details on the card page are thin. Cashback is not stated on the card page. UPay is a better fit if you live somewhere outside the EU/EEA and you can produce local ID.
Kemy scores 6.0 out of 10. It is advertised in 190-plus countries, with unlimited virtual Visa cards and a single physical Mastercard per user, both valid for three years. The pricing is heavier than Bitrefill: USD 15 to issue a virtual card and USD 2 a month, USD 250 for the physical card (DHL Express included) and USD 10 a month. The top-up fee schedule is tiered (USD 1.5 under USD 100, 1.25% from USD 100, with minimums of USD 5 for virtual and USD 10 for physical), and there is a 3.5% plus USD 1 transaction fee on virtual spending, which is much higher than Bitrefill. Cashback is not mentioned.
Tevau scores 6.0 out of 10. Independent tracking (UNOFFICIAL) describes Visa cards in four tiers: Virtual (USD 20), Plastic (USD 100), Metal (USD 199) and 24K Gold (USD 499), with availability in “200+ countries” and funding via USDT, where the app shows the network to use. Moving deposited USDT to the card costs 1%; the FX rate spread is mentioned but not quantified. Tevau is the option to look at if you specifically want a USDT-funded card and do not mind the pricing structure, but the published information comes from an independent tracker, not from Tevau itself.
If your priority is low fees and you live in the EU/EEA, Bitrefill is the more natural pick. If your priority is geographic reach and you can live with thinner disclosure, UPay or Tevau are worth a look. If you specifically want unlimited virtual cards and do not mind a monthly fee, Kemy is the closer fit.
Who I would recommend this to
The Bitrefill card is a reasonable choice if you live in the EU, Norway or Iceland, you already hold crypto in BTC, ETH, USDC, SOL or you use Lightning, and you want a euro-denominated Visa for everyday spending without a monthly fee. It is at its best when your top-up currency matches the card’s funding list closely (USDC and Lightning keep the spread tight) and when you spend the balance regularly enough to avoid the inactivity fee.
It is not the right card if you are a US or Russian citizen, if you live outside the EU/EEA, if you mainly hold USDT, if you need Apple Pay today rather than at some point, if you want every fee published up front, or if your main use is large ATM withdrawals (the unofficial 2.49% plus operator fee adds up fast).
If you fall into the first group, the practical steps are: install the app, complete the Starter identity check, send your first deposit of at least EUR 15 from a chain the app names, and use the card within a year to avoid the inactivity clock. If you fall into the second group, the alternatives above are a better starting point.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Bitrefill card?
The Bitrefill card is a euro-denominated Visa, available as a virtual card for online use and as a physical card, issued by Wallester AS in Estonia under Estonian e-money supervision. The card draws on a euro balance that you top up from crypto or SEPA, and the cashback is paid in euros. Bitrefill is the brand and the front end; the underlying licences are held by Wallester and Lightspark Payments Europe AS.
How does the Bitrefill card work?
You complete identity verification through the card partner, top up a euro balance from Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC (on Base, Polygon or Solana), Solana, or SEPA, and spend the balance anywhere Visa is accepted. The crypto is converted to euros at the partner’s live rate when the deposit lands, with a fixed 1.99% fee. Spending in non-euro currencies uses Visa’s exchange rate and Bitrefill does not add an FX margin on top.
Is Bitrefill a bank?
No. Bitrefill is the brand, operated by Airfill Prepaid AB in Sweden. The card is issued by Wallester AS, an Estonian e-money institution licensed by Finantsinspektsioon, and the crypto side is run by Lightspark Payments Europe AS, also in Estonia and licensed by the Estonian FIU. Funds are safeguarded under e-money rules rather than held as bank deposits, so they are not covered by deposit guarantee schemes.
Who owns Bitrefill?
The site states that Bitrefill is owned and operated by Airfill Prepaid AB, a Swedish company with registration number 559001-6035, registered in Stockholm. The card programme and the crypto side are run by separate licensed partners, not by Bitrefill itself.
Is the Bitrefill card available in my country?
The residency list, per the help centre and third-party trackers, covers the EU member states plus Norway and Iceland, with applicants aged 18 or over. US and Russian citizens are excluded regardless of where they live, except Russian citizens who also hold EU or EEA citizenship. The help centre blocklist also names Japan, Ukraine and the UAE, and the published list is described as truncated, so eligibility can change without notice.
How do I get a Bitrefill card?
Install the Bitrefill app, complete the identity verification with the card partner, order the virtual card for immediate use, and order the physical card for delivery to your address. The virtual card is usable as soon as verification is complete, and the physical card must be activated after it arrives.
Does the Bitrefill card require KYC?
Yes. The card’s terms require identity verification, run by the card partner, before you can order. The card page does not list the documents; the third-party walkthroughs describe a photo ID and a selfie liveness check for the Starter tier, with proof of address added for the Plus tier. Activation outside the EU is the moment at which proof of address is most often required.
How do I top up the Bitrefill card?
Send crypto from a wallet you control, on a network the app confirms, in an amount of at least EUR 15 after the 1.99% fee. Supported funding sources are Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC on Ethereum, Base, Polygon or Solana, Solana, and SEPA bank transfer. USDT deposits ended on 17 March 2025, and the page’s “Buy with” list still shows USDT because the gift-card shop accepts it, not the card.
How do I get money off the Bitrefill card?
Withdraw to a SEPA bank account for free, subject to the published limits, or withdraw cash at an ATM that accepts Visa, where the third-party tracker reports a 2.49% fee plus the ATM operator’s own charge. Free SEPA cash-out is reported as not available to Swedish residents. The card deactivates when inactivity fees take the balance to EUR 0.
Is the Bitrefill card safe?
The card is custodial, meaning your euro balance sits with the issuer and your crypto is converted and held by the partner, so you carry the issuer and partner counterparty risk that any prepaid card carries. Safeguards in the product are 2FA in the app, one-tap card freeze, the ability to hide the balance, and 3-D Secure on online payments. The card’s regulatory base is Wallester’s Estonian e-money licence and Lightspark’s Estonian FIU registration, which is the standard EU route for this kind of product; the safeguarding that goes with those licences is not the same as deposit insurance.
Virtual cards – cryptocardbasics
Content created by the «cryptocardbasics» team
