Virtual, US-only, and mid-transition: what the Phantom Cash card does today

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Phantom Cash is not really a card company. It is a stablecoin account — denominated in CASH — with a Visa number bolted onto the front of it. You load the balance, you spend it, and the thing that does the actual card work sits in the middle: Lead Bank issues it, Bridge Ventures LLC manages the programme, Stripe processes the payments. Phantom is the app you look at.

Phantom Cash works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

That architecture tells you most of what follows. This is a virtual-only card, it is for US residents outside New York, and it spends a stablecoin balance rather than drawing on your bank account. And in the middle of writing this review, Phantom’s own help centre carries a notice that your virtual card is being replaced because Phantom is moving to a new card issuer. There are no dates on that notice. That single fact colours every section that follows.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

My score for the Phantom Cash card is 5.3 out of 10. That is not a bad card. It is a competent, narrow product with one specific audience — US residents who already hold dollar stablecoins inside Phantom — wrapped in a pile of paperwork that its own public pages do not answer.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 4 / 10 United States only, excluding the state of New York, by place of residence
Cost 7 / 10 Officially, fees are not disclosed; unofficial: issuance, replacement and inactivity free, top-up free, international transaction 1% + $0.30
Top-up options 4 / 10 The card spends the CASH balance; top up with Apple Pay, Google Pay, a debit card or a bank, withdraw to a bank or a Solana wallet; direct crypto top-up is not named
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Issuer Lead Bank, programme manager Bridge Ventures LLC, Stripe; the virtual card is being replaced when the issuer changes, no dates; no complaints found
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual Visa only, plus Apple Wallet and Google Wallet; unofficial: no ATM
Total 5.3 / 10

Who they will give the card to

United States only, excluding New York, and the test is residence rather than citizenship. That is the entire published eligibility rule.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Phantom Cash starts with a transfer to the right network

Read it carefully if you are outside the US, because the boundary is not “is crypto legal where I live”. It is “do I live at an address in the United States, minus the state of New York”. A US citizen living in Lisbon does not qualify on the strength of the passport. The published pages do not say what happens to applicants from unsupported countries beyond that the card is not offered there, and they say nothing about citizenship rules either way.

New York’s exclusion is a bank-level matter rather than a Phantom choice, and it is the kind of line you can run into on other US-issued products too. It is not a comment on New Yorkers.

The wider picture is worth thirty seconds, because it explains why this kind of card is shaped the way it is. A payment card number begins with an issuer identification number of six or eight digits, and any merchant can look that up to see which institution, and which country, issued it. When that issuer country differs from the cardholder’s billing address, some shops apply extra scrutiny — or decline. That single fact shapes the whole category: a crypto card is a prepaid instrument attached to a foreign or offshore programme, and merchants can read that from the front six digits. It is why “works wherever Visa is accepted” is a statement about the network, not about your odds at the till.

How to get it

Four steps, in this order: fund the Cash balance, verify your identity, get the virtual card, add it to Apple Wallet or Google Wallet.

The part that surprises people is where the identity check sits. Phantom states that KYC is not required for Phantom or Phantom Cash in general. What does require verification is the virtual card’s use of banking rails — the marketing page says verification is handled by Stripe for bank transfers, direct deposit and debit card use. Applicants must be 18 or over. Proof of address is not stated, nor are the verification tiers, how long the check takes, or the grounds on which an application can be refused.

That is not evasion on Phantom’s part; it is the shape of the product. A card that moves money through a bank partner runs into that bank’s own anti-money-laundering obligations, and those obligations are not negotiable by the app in front of you. In the EU the equivalent regime expects name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documentation, a sanctions check and a politically-exposed-person determination. In the US the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number, with electronic systems also validating proof-of-address documents. Your nationality is screened separately from your address, because sanctions screening is applied to citizenship and country of birth, not just to where you live.

So the honest answer to “does Phantom Cash require KYC” is: yes for the card, no for the wallet. And the published pages will not tell you how many documents to expect.

One more thing about the card itself. It is a virtual prepaid Visa debit card that works wherever Visa is accepted, and no physical card is stated. The currency is USD implied by the CASH stablecoin, but it is not stated outright. Delivery details are not stated either, which is consistent with there being nothing to deliver.

Fees: what it really costs

The official answer is a shrug. The card’s public pages say “fees may apply” and point to the Cardholder Agreement without publishing amounts. Trading stablecoins inside Phantom is described as fee-free. ATM fees are not stated. Spending limits are not stated.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Phantom Cash payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

What I do have is a set of unofficial figures from a third-party card-details page, which I am passing on as unofficial and not confirmed by Phantom. That page’s data was last verified on 28 September 2026 and is partly carried forward from an older dataset, so treat it as a starting point for questions rather than as a schedule.

Fee or limit Value Status
Issuance No card issuance fee Unofficial
Replacement No replacement fee Unofficial
Inactivity No inactivity fee Unofficial
Cash loads Free Unofficial
US purchases Free Unofficial
International transaction 1% + $0.30 Unofficial
ATM withdrawal Not available; ATM fee not disclosed Unofficial
Daily spending limit $2,000 by default, up to $5,000 on request Unofficial
Monthly limit Not disclosed Unofficial

Now three everyday payments, run through that table.

Groceries, in the US, in dollars. Under the unofficial figures this is free, and the card behaves like any other Visa at the till. The unknown is the conversion. If your CASH balance is held as a stablecoin rather than as dollars, something has to turn it into dollars before the terminal reads a number, and the card’s own pages do not describe that step or what it costs. If CASH ever loses its peg, the amount that reaches the shop moves with it.

A coffee shop abroad. Here the unofficial 1% + $0.30 international fee applies, plus whatever the network conversion costs. Nothing in the published material says which rate is used. A shop may also decline on sight of the BIN, and address verification is another quiet problem: AVS compares the numeric parts of the billing address you typed against issuer records, it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, and it is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards. That causes declines on its own, with no fee involved.

A hotel deposit or a car hire pre-authorisation. This is where limits bite. The unofficial daily spending figure is $2,000 by default, raised to $5,000 on request, and the monthly figure is not disclosed at all. A hold on a declined authorisation can also sit on your money for several days, typically up to seven.

The category context is worth keeping in mind too: on-chain network fees for a deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider, so they never appear in a card fee table. And a merchant category code is a four-digit classification assigned when a business starts accepting cards; gambling sits under 7995, and many issuers block it by policy rather than by law, with the blocked list differing by issuer. Phantom’s pages do not state which categories are restricted on this card.

How to top it up

The card spends your Cash account balance, held as CASH. The Cash account is funded by Apple Pay, Google Pay, a debit card or a bank account, depending on region, and withdrawals go to a bank account in the US or to a Solana wallet.

Read that list again and notice what is missing: direct crypto top-up is not named. On most competing cards, the whole point is that you already hold USDT or USDC on-chain and you spend it directly. Here, the routes Phantom names are the routes a normal person uses to put dollars into an app. The only on-chain-adjacent move mentioned is withdrawal to a Solana wallet, which is the wrong direction of travel for topping up.

Fees and minimums for funding are not stated. Stablecoin trades are described as fee-free. Withdrawal fees and timing are not stated on the pages read, and neither is what happens to the balance if you close the account — which is a question I would ask before I closed anything.

If your money is on-chain, you will end up moving it into a payment rail first, which is the friction this product was presumably built to avoid.

Paying with it every day

It goes into Apple Wallet and Google Wallet, and that is where most of the practical use lives. Restricted categories are not stated.

Adding to a mobile wallet is not a formality. Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific number stored in the Secure Element, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment carries a one-time dynamic security code. That is a real security improvement over a card number typed into a website. It is also the single most disruptive thing about the issuer change, because the replacement has to be added again by hand.

The app is the Phantom mobile app; the platforms it runs on and its store ratings are not stated on these pages. Support is a help centre with a “Start a chat” option — languages and hours not stated. Stripe handles card disputes on debit card transactions, though the process and the time frames are not stated.

There is no card cashback. Holding CASH is described as earning passive income without lockups, with no rates given. No rewards, no points, nothing to offset the fees.

There is one thing worth understanding about why these cards get declined, and it is not usually the card. Online payments may add a 3-D Secure check, where the issuer assesses risk and either approves the payment silently or challenges you with a one-time code or a biometric prompt. Visa’s version is called Visa Secure. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs by policy because the lookup reveals what the card is. The remedy is in the settings of your bank, not on your side.

What can go wrong

The first thing is already happening. Phantom’s help centre carries the notice: “Your virtual Phantom debit card is being replaced as we move to a new card issuer”. Users are told to add the replacement to Apple or Google Wallet. No dates are given. The current arrangement — Lead Bank issuing, Bridge Ventures managing, Stripe processing and handling disputes — is the one described as changing.

That is a category risk, not a personal one. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Programme closures tend to follow a pattern: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw what is left. I could not find a comparable complaint record for Phantom Cash specifically — searches for Trustpilot and Reddit complaints returned nothing Phantom-Cash-specific — but the absence of complaints is weak evidence when the card is young and small. It is also, notably, the same absence you would expect right before a migration.

Second, the counterparty stack. Phantom describes itself as the platform provider and “not a bank”. Your balance is secured on-chain as CASH, and Phantom says it does not store KYC information because identity verification is handled by Stripe. That combination — a non-bank front end, an issuing bank, a programme manager, a payment processor — is how these products are built, and each layer is a layer that can be changed. Card freeze, two-factor authentication and insurance are not stated.

Third, stablecoins. The name is a promise the asset does not have to keep. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022; USDC lost its peg briefly in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so these assets are not censorship-proof. And they are not free of the network: ERC-20 fees are paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT and no ETH cannot send it at all.

Fourth, and closest to home for anyone reading this because a bank card is hard to get: there is no ATM. Unofficial, but it is the one daily-use item that would stop someone cold.

On tax, I will say only what is structural, because this is not advice. Digital assets are treated as property, so exchanging them for goods, services, dollars or other digital assets generally produces a taxable gain or loss. For personal holdings the result is a capital gain or loss, short-term if held a year or less, measured in local currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction. Every card payment funded from crypto may therefore be a separate disposal. Take that to a professional rather than to me.

What to take instead

If the reason you are reading about Phantom Cash is that an ordinary bank card is difficult for you to get, the honest comparison is with cards built for exactly that.

Phantom Cash MetaMask KAST Zeal
Mark 5.3 / 10 7.1 / 10 6.1 / 10 6.1 / 10
Who US residents, excluding New York 45 listed countries/territories, others on a waitlist Supported-country list shown at KYC Spending in 150+ countries, issuance depends on regional availability
Card Virtual prepaid Visa debit Mastercard; virtual first, metal pre-orderable Virtual and physical; up to 10 cards Visa, virtual for online use
Cost Not disclosed officially Virtual free; metal $199/year Standard $0, Premium $1,000/year, Private $10,000/year Not stated
Spends from CASH stablecoin balance The connected wallet directly Own stablecoin balance, 1:1 Balances in the card Safe
Cashback None 1% virtual, up to 3% metal 1.5% / 2% / 3% by tier Up to 4% in GNO

MetaMask scores highest of the four at 7.1, and its shape is the opposite of Phantom’s in the way that matters most: it spends directly from the connected wallet, so if your funds are already on-chain you can use them without moving them through Apple Pay first. Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories, with proof of residency required — the page is careful to note that ineligible regions limit sign-ups, not spending. US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed per its FAQ. Cashback is 1% on the virtual card. The catch is that it describes a “minimal fee for each transaction” without publishing the amount on the page, and Solana-only wallets cannot withdraw credit.

KAST is the tiered one, and the tiers are the whole story: Standard at $0, Premium at $1,000 a year, Private at $10,000 a year, billed annually upfront with no monthly option. In exchange you get cashback of 1.5%, 2% or 3% on the first 2,000, 10,000 or 40,000 dollars a month, plus stablecoin top-up at 0%, card spend in USD at 0%, Apple and Google Pay at 0%, and a 0.5%–1.75% FX fee depending on where you live and where you spend. Its eligibility is stricter in a way that trips people up: you can live in a supported country and still fail if your ID is from a restricted region, and a VPN does not help. Its own terms list acceptable tokens as USDT and USDC, which conflicts with the PYUSD and RLUSD its app shows.

Zeal spends in 150+ countries and charges no additional FX fee, converting at the Visa wholesale rate, with Gnosis Pay fees such as ATM still applying. Cashback runs up to 4%, paid in GNO and only if you hold GNO in the card Safe. No fee schedule is published, and no physical card is stated.

Against any of these, Phantom Cash’s honest advantages are narrow: it lives inside a wallet you may already use, it is free to hold per the unofficial figures, and it converts to a bank account in the US or a Solana wallet. Its honest disadvantages are that it is US-only minus New York, virtual-only with no ATM, cashback-free, missing a published fee schedule, and mid-migration with no dates.

Who I would recommend it to

If you live in the United States outside New York, you already keep dollar stablecoins in Phantom, you spend in dollars rather than in crypto, and you would rather not open another banking relationship — this card does exactly what it says, at no visible cost, and the migration is something to watch rather than something to fear.

If any of those four things is false, the case weakens fast. If you are outside the US, this is not your card. If you want to spend crypto you already hold on-chain without moving it through a payment rail first, MetaMask is built that way and scores higher. If you want cashback to offset a fee you cannot yet see, KAST publishes its numbers in a way Phantom does not. If you travel and want a card whose FX fee is genuinely zero, Zeal is the one that says so.

And if the reason you are here is that a bank will not give you a card, understand what you would be swapping. You would be trading a regulated deposit relationship for a stablecoin balance on-chain, held through a non-bank platform with an issuing bank and a programme manager in between, where the ecosystem has a documented history of programmes simply ending. That is not a warning against doing it. It is a description of what the trade actually is.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Phantom Cash card?

It is a virtual prepaid Visa debit card attached to a stablecoin balance held inside the Phantom wallet. Lead Bank issues it under a Visa licence, Bridge Ventures LLC manages the programme, and Stripe processes the payments. It is virtual only — no physical card is stated — and it works wherever Visa is accepted.

Is Phantom Cash a bank?

No. Phantom describes itself as the platform provider and “not a bank”. Your balance is held as the CASH stablecoin, secured on-chain, and Phantom says it does not store KYC information because identity verification is handled by Stripe. Lead Bank is the bank in the structure, not Phantom.

Who can get the Phantom Cash card?

United States residents, excluding the state of New York. The test is place of residence, not citizenship, so a US passport holder living elsewhere does not qualify on that basis. Applicants must be 18 or over. Proof of address, verification tiers and timing are not stated on the public pages.

Does Phantom Cash require KYC?

For the wallet, no — Phantom states KYC is not required for Phantom or Phantom Cash in general. For the card, yes: identity verification through Link is required, handled by Stripe for bank transfers, direct deposit and debit card use. The published pages do not list the documents required or the grounds for refusal.

How much does the Phantom Cash card cost?

Officially, the pages say “fees may apply” and point to the Cardholder Agreement without amounts. Unofficial third-party data, last verified 28 September 2026 and partly carried forward, lists no issuance, replacement or inactivity fee, free cash loads and free US purchases, plus 1% + $0.30 per international transaction.

Can I use the Phantom Cash card in my country?

Only if you live in the United States outside New York — the card is available to US residents regardless of where you physically spend. It works wherever Visa is accepted, but unofficial figures put international transactions at 1% + $0.30, and no ATM access is listed.

Why is my Phantom debit card being replaced?

Phantom’s help centre says the virtual card is being replaced because Phantom is moving to a new card issuer, and users should add the replacement to Apple or Google Wallet. No dates are given. The current chain of Lead Bank, Bridge Ventures and Stripe is the arrangement described as changing.

How do I top up the Phantom Cash card?

The Cash account is funded by Apple Pay, Google Pay, a debit card or a bank account, depending on region, and you can withdraw to a US bank account or a Solana wallet. Direct crypto top-up is not named on the published pages. Fees and minimums are not stated, and stablecoin trades are described as fee-free.

Is the Phantom Cash card safe?

It is a stablecoin balance held through a non-bank platform with an issuing bank and a payment processor layered in, and it has no ATM, no cashback and no published fee schedule. Card freeze, two-factor authentication and insurance are not stated. Treat it as a spending tool for a balance you can afford to hold, not as a substitute for a bank deposit.

Is the Phantom Cash card worth it?

Worth it if you are a US resident outside New York who already holds dollar stablecoins in Phantom and wants a simple virtual Visa with, per unofficial figures, no fees on US purchases and loads. Not worth it if you need a physical card, cash withdrawals, cashback, a published fee schedule, or if you live outside the United States.

Content created by the «cryptocardbasics» team