Free Visa card on top of a crypto balance, with yield — but read this before you open one

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Rebind gives you a free Visa card that spends from a euro balance, and it advertises savings on that balance while you hold it. That sounds simple. The catch is that Rebind is a technology company, not a bank, and a good deal of what a cardholder would want to know — who issues the card, what the ATM costs, what the daily limits are, whether Apple Pay works — is either unstated on Rebind’s own pages or floating around third-party sites. My score for the card is 5.8 out of 10. It is worth a look for one narrow profile of person: a euro saver who wants a yield-bearing balance and a plain Visa to spend it from. For everyone else, the missing numbers are not a small gap, they are the whole card.

Rebind works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 5.8 / 10 — a yield promise wrapped in a card, for a specific saver

Here is how the 5.8 breaks down, criterion by criterion, so you can see where the card earns and where it does not.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Works in 40+ countries inside and outside the eurozone; unofficial sources say only the EU, EEA and UK
Cost 8 / 10 No account fees, no transfer or FX fees, no minimums; an unofficial 1.5% markup outside EUR and GBP is reported
Top-up options 4 / 10 Officially top up by IBAN; crypto routes are not confirmed by the card
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Rebind SAS has no banking licence; euros come from Monerium, an EU EMI; card issuer unnamed; no deposit insurance
Everyday use 6 / 10 Free Visa; unofficial reports say Apple Pay and Google Pay are not supported

Five criteria, and the total is 5.8 out of 10. The high point is cost — genuinely no monthly fee and no FX fee is rare. The low point is top-up: the one thing that would make this a crypto card in practice, sending crypto in, is not confirmed by Rebind’s own pages. For the audience note — euro savers who want yield and a Visa to spend from — this is the card-shaped version of a savings app, and if that is what you are after it does the job. If you are choosing a crypto card because you want to spend crypto directly, or because you want to add it to Apple Pay, you will finish this read less happy than you started.

Will they give you the card?

Rebind’s own page says it “works in 40+ countries, inside and outside the eurozone”, and the full list lives on a linked guides page. That is the entire official answer on coverage, and it is thinner than it sounds. Third-party summaries say sign-ups are effectively limited to the EU, EEA and UK. Those are unofficial lines and the card does not confirm them, but the direction of travel is consistent: the broad “40+ countries” claim is about where the card can be spent, and the narrow region is about who can open the account.

So separate the two questions people often blur together. Where can I use the card once it is open — apparently very widely, in 40+ countries inside and outside the eurozone. Can I open the account from where I sit — officially, the card does not spell this out country by country on the pages I checked. If you are outside the EU/EEA/UK, this ambiguity is the first thing to resolve in the app before you commit any money, because the unofficial sources and the official claim point in different directions.

How to get it

The signup story is short, which is either a selling point or a gap. Rebind’s page says only: “Free to open. Only takes 5 min.” The two steps it names are to sign up in the app and then get the card in the app. Beyond that, the pages I read do not say what documents are required, whether proof of address is needed, or what the minimum age is. That is what “not stated” means here — Rebind’s public pages do not say, and I am not going to fill the blank with a guess.

What third-party summaries report, unofficial and not confirmed by the card, is that you need an email address, a phone number and an ID document, and that proof of address and a selfie are not required. Take that as orientation, not as a promise of what the app will ask for.

The card itself: Rebind describes a free Visa card that you spend euros with globally and can pay in any currency. Whether that card arrives as a physical piece of plastic, a virtual card, or both, is not stated officially; unofficial sources say both exist. Delivery time is likewise not stated. The account currency is the euro, and the euro balance is issued as e-money by Monerium — a detail that matters more than it first sounds, and I come back to it under risks.

One more not-stated item, because it affects people who care about the difference: how long identity verification takes at each level. The page’s only signal is “takes 5 min”, which is not the same as a stated verification level or a stated turnaround for reviews.

Fees: what it really costs

Rebind is upfront about the absence of fees, and that absence is the card’s strongest suit. Its pages state “no account fees”, and describe the card as free. There are no tiers, no per-tier prices, “free to open” and nothing else. Rebind also states “no transfer fees, no foreign exchange fees, no minimums”. Buying or selling assets carries what it calls “a small fee”, but the amount is not stated and neither is the conversion spread. If you trade inside Rebind, that spread is the number to find before you do it at volume.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Rebind payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What Rebind says
Account / monthly fee “No account fees”; card described as free
Transfer fees “no transfer fees”
Foreign exchange fees “no foreign exchange fees”
Buying / selling assets “a small fee”, amount not stated
Conversion spread not stated
ATM withdrawal fee not stated (third-party sources list it as free)
Daily and monthly limits not stated (third-party sources list no limits; “not listed” is not a confirmed absence)

Now the two or three payments that decide whether those numbers matter.

Paying for coffee in Paris in euros is the clean case. The balance is already in euros, so you are spending euros against a euro balance with no conversion to think about and, per the card, no FX fee.

Paying for something in dollars from a euro balance is the second case, and it is where the card’s own claim does the work. Rebind says you can pay in any currency and that there are no foreign exchange fees. Unofficial reporting, though, points to a reported 1.5% markup on spending outside EUR and GBP. Those two statements sit side by side, and I would not let the friendly one erase the other. Treat the dollar spend as the line item to test with a small amount first.

Selling crypto to pay is the third case, and the cost is whatever the asset fee plus spread turns out to be. Neither number is published. If a large part of your plan is paying with crypto proceeds, this is the gap to ask about.

Two related things the card does advertise: savings of up to 5% on euros and up to 8% on USD, and these are variable, coming from third-party DeFi protocols rather than from a Rebind promise. Variable is the operative word — the rate can move against you, and a yield sourced through DeFi carries its own risks, which I get to under what can go wrong.

Top up: adding money, and whether crypto is one of the ways

The official top-up route is a bank transfer by IBAN. Rebind’s page describes “Instant transfers 24/7 at no cost”, and repeats that there are no transfer fees and no minimums; it also mentions savings “from 1€”. That is a low floor and a round-the-clock claim, both of which are appealing if you are paid in euros.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Rebind starts with a transfer to the right network

What Rebind does not do, on the pages I checked, is describe crypto deposits. That is the honest gap. If your reason for looking at a crypto card is that you hold crypto and want to spend it, this is where you have to slow down. Unofficial sources say the supported assets are ETH and USDC, built on Gnosis Pay infrastructure. Unofficial also means unconfirmed: Rebind’s public pages did not tell me which networks or coins to send, and that detail is not something to guess at. On-chain transfers are irreversible, and a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Get the exact network and coin confirmed in the app, in writing, before you send anything irreversible.

On the way out: savings are “available at any time” with no lock-ups, which is the good version of that sentence. But the withdrawal process itself and any fees on it are not explained. “Available at any time” tells you there is no minimum holding period; it does not tell you how long a withdrawal takes or what it costs. Those are separate questions, and the second one is unanswered.

If you are paid in euros and just want money in, IBAN does the job. If you want crypto in, you are relying on the unofficial description, and you should treat that as something to verify rather than a feature.

Paying with it every day

Day to day, Rebind is a free Visa and euro balance. Pay in any currency, spend euros globally — that is the card’s own summary, and on the fundamentals it is a normal prepaid-style card. A prepaid card draws on a stored balance rather than asking a bank to withdraw from a linked account at the moment of purchase, and many crypto cards work this way; Rebind’s balance model fits that description. The practical upshot is that the card cannot overdraw: you spend what you have loaded.

What you do not get, on the pages I read, is a wallet story. Apple Pay and Google Pay are not mentioned by Rebind. Unofficial sources say both are not supported, and one App Store reviewer says the virtual card has to be added to wallets by manual card entry — which is clunky and not the same thing as native wallet support. If tapping your phone at the terminal is how you pay now, that is a downgrade, and you should assume it until the app proves otherwise.

The app is on the App Store and Google Play; I did not check store ratings. Rebind’s page states no card cashback — though third-party reviews mention cashback, and, in one aggregator’s summary, yield figures that conflict across its regional pages, so treat any specific number floating around review sites with suspicion.

On disputes, Rebind’s pages say nothing I could find. When a payment goes wrong, who you call and how the refund process works is not explained on the pages I read. Nor are spending limits, category blocks, or card-freeze controls described in a way you could rely on. The category of everyday card contains a lot of quiet features, and Rebind documents few of them.

What can go wrong

The structural risk comes before any individual complaint. Rebind SAS is a technology company, built in Paris, and it says itself that it holds no banking licence. Your euros are not bank deposits: they are e-money issued by Monerium, an EU-licensed electronic money institution. That distinction matters because e-money funds are safeguarded by segregation or insurance at the institution, but they are not the same as a bank deposit and are not covered by the French deposit guarantee scheme (FGDR) or its equivalents. Rebind states this plainly in its own protection guide, to its credit. Rebind also says it does not custody your crypto — stablecoin assets are owned and held by you — while pointing to passkey and biometric protection in its guide.

The card issuer is not named. Rebind refers to “our licensed, MiCA-compliant card-issuing partner”, and the page shows logos including Stripe, Visa, Privy and Gnosis Pay without saying which of them issues the card. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. So somewhere in that unnamed partner sits the entity whose name is on your card and who answers for a disputed payment. You should know that name.

Then the unofficial complaint list. From a third-party aggregator, unverified, user-report style: advertised cashback said to depend on holding GNO tokens with weekly caps; a 15% performance fee on yield; the 1.5% markup on non-EUR/GBP spending I flagged earlier; multi-day delays withdrawing from yield contracts; no deposit insurance; availability only in the EU/EEA/UK. One App Store reviewer says the virtual card can only be added to wallets by manual entry. None of this is confirmed by Rebind, and dates are not given for these reports. I found no Trustpilot page and no Reddit thread for Rebind, and no official complaint content on the pages I read — which is not the same as there being none.

Two risks deserve a second look. The yield is sourced from DeFi protocols and is variable — you are taking protocol risk and rate risk for an advertised “up to” figure. And withdrawals from those yield contracts have been reported as slow, which is the tension point between “available at any time” and money that is genuinely tied up in an on-chain position. Anyone relying on this balance for near-term spending needs to know that difference.

What to take instead

If the reason you want Rebind is yield on euros, the alternatives below each do some of that better and none of them does all of it. Scores are from the same review series.

MetaMask scores 7.1 / 10, the highest here. It is a Mastercard, virtual first, instant, with a metal version you can pre-order after approval — $199 a year, against Rebind’s free Visa. Sign-ups run in 45 listed countries and territories, with proof of residency required, and other regions on a waitlist; US and UK sign-ups were temporarily closed per its FAQ. Fees are a “minimal fee for each transaction”, amount not published, no MetaMask fees, no foreign transaction fee. It spends straight from a connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana. Rewards: 1% cashback in mUSD on the virtual card, up to 3% on metal but capped at the first $10,000 spent. Issuer Monovate, card provider Crypto Life. If you want to spend crypto natively and cashback in stablecoins, this is the more mature route.

KAST scores 6.1 / 10 and is the opposite bet: membership tiers that cost real money, in exchange for real perks. Visa Platinum, Infinite metal, or Infinite gold, virtual and physical, up to 10 cards. Standard is free, Premium $1,000 a year, Private $10,000 a year, billed annually. Fees are close to zero in dollar terms — 0% stablecoin top-up, 0% USD spend, 0% transaction fee — with non-USD FX at 0.5% to 1.75% depending on your country, and small fixed charges like $0.10 on sub-$25 transactions. Cashback runs 1.5% to 3% of spend depending on tier. Eligibility is residence-based and its country list is not published. The point of KAST is the membership ladder, not the free spending.

Zeal also scores 6.1 / 10 and is the closest cousin to Rebind: a Visa, spendable in 150+ countries, no additional FX fee because it converts at the Visa wholesale rate, with EUR/USD/GBP balances on Gnosis Pay infrastructure. It advertises up to 4% cashback paid in GNO, but GNO must be held in the card Safe to qualify — the same design that draws unofficial complaints about Rebind’s cashback. And Zeal’s fee schedule is not published at all, which is a bigger gap than Rebind’s “no account fees”.

Read across the three: where Rebind leads is free, no-FX-fee, euro-native spending with a yield headline. Where it trails is top-up flexibility (IBAN only, officially), cashback clarity, and how much it documents. MetaMask wins if crypto-native spending is the point. KAST wins if you will pay for tiered perks and your country is on its list. Zeal wins if you want the Gnosis Pay structure and can accept an unpublished fee schedule. Rebind wins if you are a euro saver, in the euro area, who wants yield and a card and does not need a wallet.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Rebind to someone who: is paid in euros and lives in the euro area or the UK; wants their balance to earn something while it sits there, and understands the rate is variable and DeFi-sourced; is content to top up by bank transfer rather than from a crypto wallet; and pays in a way that does not depend on tapping a phone — cash and card-present, physical card in hand. For that person, a free Visa, no FX fee, no monthly fee and up to 5% on the balance is a genuinely good deal.

I would not recommend it, without more clarity, if any of these are true of you: you need Apple Pay or Google Pay; your money comes in as crypto and you want to top up from a wallet; you plan to travel and spend heavily in dollars or pounds and cannot absorb a possible 1.5% markup; you need deposit-guarantee protection on your balance; or you are choosing a card mainly for cashback and cannot find the cashback terms in the official pages.

The honest summary is that Rebind’s strengths are the things it advertises, and its weaknesses are the things it does not. It is a young product from a company that tells you what it is — a technology company, not a bank — and that honesty is worth something. But if you are making this decision for a country outside the euro area, for wallet support, or for crypto top-up, the missing information is exactly the information you need, and no amount of reading third-party summaries will fill it in.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Rebind card?

Rebind is a euro-denominated Visa card that spends from a balance you hold with the company. Rebind SAS is a technology company built in Paris and says it holds no banking licence. The euro balance is e-money issued by Monerium, an EU-licensed electronic money institution, not a bank deposit. The card itself is described as free, and Rebind advertises no account fees.

How does the Rebind card work?

It works like a prepaid card. You load a balance, and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw. Rebind says you can pay in any currency and that there are no foreign exchange fees. It also advertises savings of up to 5% on euros and up to 8% on USD, variable rates sourced from third-party DeFi protocols. Your crypto, if you have any, Rebind says it does not custody.

Is Rebind a bank?

No, and Rebind says so itself. It is a technology company without a banking licence. Your euros are e-money issued by another company, Monerium, which is an EU-licensed electronic money institution. Because these are e-money and not bank deposits, they are not covered by deposit guarantee schemes like France’s FGDR. Rebind is transparent about this, which is worth something.

Does Rebind require KYC?

Presumably some, but the public pages do not say. Rebind’s page says only “Free to open. Only takes 5 min” and does not list documents, address proof or age. Third-party sources, unofficial, report email, phone and ID document are needed and that proof of address and a selfie are not. Because EU rules require due diligence covering identity and address, expect to be asked for identification.

Is Rebind available in my country?

Officially, Rebind says it works in 40+ countries, inside and outside the eurozone, but that describes where you can spend. Third-party sources say opening an account is limited to the EU, EEA and UK. Those unofficial lines conflict with the broad official claim, so if you are outside those regions, check the app before sending money. The card’s own pages do not publish a definitive sign-up list.

Is Rebind free?

The card is free and Rebind states “no account fees”, “no transfer fees”, “no foreign exchange fees” and “no minimums”. There are no tiers. But buying or selling assets carries “a small fee” and the conversion spread is not stated, and third-party reports mention a 1.5% markup on spending outside EUR and GBP. Free to hold is not the same as free to use in every currency.

Can I add Rebind to Apple Wallet?

Apparently not, and this is one of the bigger practical drawbacks. Rebind’s pages do not mention Apple Pay or Google Pay, and unofficial sources say neither is supported. One App Store reviewer says the virtual card can only be added to a wallet by typing the card number in manually. If you pay by tapping your phone today, expect to go back to a physical card.

How do I top up the Rebind card?

Officially, by bank transfer to an IBAN — Rebind mentions instant transfers 24/7 at no cost, with savings possible from 1€. Crypto deposits are not described on the public pages. Unofficial sources say ETH and USDC are supported through Gnosis Pay infrastructure. Because transfers on a blockchain cannot be undone, confirm the exact coin and network in the app first. The withdrawal process and any fees on it are also not explained.

Is Rebind safe?

It depends on what you mean by safe. Rebind says it does not custody your crypto, uses passkeys and biometrics, and issues your euros as regulated e-money. Against that, your euros are not deposit-insured, the card-issuing partner is unnamed, and third-party reports raise complaints about cashback tied to holding GNO, a performance fee on yield, and slow withdrawals from yield contracts. Treat the advertised yield as DeFi risk, not as a bank rate.

Is Rebind worth it?

It is worth it for one profile: a euro-area saver who wants a yield-bearing balance and a free Visa, tops up by bank transfer, and does not need a mobile wallet. It is not worth it if you need Apple Pay, crypto top-up from a wallet, dollar spending without a possible 1.5% markup, or deposit-guarantee protection. My score is 5.8 out of 10, and the missing details — issuer, ATM fees, limits, cashback terms — are exactly what a careful shopper would want before opening one.

Content created by the «cryptocardbasics» team