COCA card reviewed: who it is for, what it really costs, and where it falls short

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

COCA is a Visa debit card (physical and virtual) tied to a non-custodial crypto wallet that uses Multi-Party Computation instead of a seed phrase. The card pays cashback in stablecoins, with up to 8% on everyday spending and up to 50% on subscription services, and it runs on a tier system where the rate you earn depends on how much of the $COCA token you hold. In this review I go through who COCA will actually issue a card to, what it costs in practice, how funding works day to day, and where the published material leaves gaps that you should not have to fill in yourself.

COCA works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The information below is current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

COCA is a thoughtful product for a fairly specific reader: someone who already holds stablecoins, is comfortable with a self-custody model, and wants a Visa card that earns high cashback on subscriptions. It is less convincing for someone who needs a full-service everyday account, because the issuer is not named, several core fees are not published, and the independent review history is thin and mixed.

Criterion Score Why it matters
Who can get it 8 / 10 Wide geographic reach across the UK, EEA, Asia, South America, the Middle East and Africa, with a clear restricted-country list
Cost 6 / 10 No maintenance fee, but issuance price is not stated, official FX and ATM terms are not published, and most usable fee data comes from third-party sites
Top-up options 5 / 10 IBAN in EUR or USD, other cards and stablecoins are supported, but the accepted coins and networks are not named in the official documentation
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 The operating company is named (CCA Labs in Dubai) but the card issuer is not, Trustpilot is at 2.8/5 over 31 reviews, and several users report funds or cards becoming inaccessible
Everyday use 9 / 10 Physical and virtual Visa, support for Apple Pay and Google Pay (per third-party sources), and free ATM withdrawals up to US$250 a month according to the App Store listing

Total: 6.4 / 10

The card suits stablecoin holders who care most about earning high cashback on subscription services, and who are comfortable holding their assets in a non-custodial wallet. It does not suit someone who wants every fee, limit and country rule on a single public page before they start the sign-up, or someone who needs a clearly identified card issuer backing the programme.

Will they give you the card

COCA is currently available in the UK, the EEA, Asia, South America, the Middle East and Africa, and the company tells you to confirm your area in the app. The terms define a separate list of restricted jurisdictions, and that list includes Afghanistan, Iran, Iraq, Cuba and Syria, among others. The two lists answer different questions, and it is worth being clear which one applies to you: availability is a residency matter, while restricted jurisdictions are a citizenship and sanctions matter, and the two can pull in opposite directions if you live in one place and hold a passport from another.

If you live outside the listed regions, the card simply is not offered. If you hold a passport from a restricted jurisdiction, the question is more nuanced and depends on how COCA interprets its own terms, which is something I could not verify from the public pages. The age rule is 18+.

What the official pages do not state is the country of card issuance, the card currency, or the identity of the card issuer. COCA’s operating company is CCA Labs – FZCO, registered in Dubai Digital Oasis, UAE, under registration number DSO-FZCO-31557. The company is named; the licensed bank or e-money institution behind the Visa programme is not. That gap matters, because if something goes wrong with a transaction or a frozen balance, you need to know which regulated entity is actually responsible.

How to get it

The sign-up path is the standard crypto-card pattern: install the app, create or import a wallet, pass the issuer’s identity check, order the card. The marketing line is “no KYC hassles”, and that phrasing refers to the wallet rather than the card. For the card itself, the terms only say you must cooperate with verification requests; the actual document list, the review time, and the rejection criteria are not published.

A third-party walkthrough (penchan.co, October 2026) describes the card-specific KYC as choosing the country that matches your KYC ID and passing the issuer’s identity check, without detailing the documents. The same source notes that delivery time is not stated, though one Trustpilot reviewer called delivery fast. None of the official pages I read give a delivery window or shipping cost.

In short: you can start the process and find out at each step what is required, but you cannot read the full requirements in advance. If you prefer to know every document and every fee before you commit your time, that uncertainty is a real downside.

Fees: what it really costs

COCA’s published cost story has a clean surface and a lot of gaps underneath. The footer advertises “fee-free swaps”, the App Store listing says there are no maintenance fees, and the App Store listing also states that ATM withdrawals are free up to US$250 a month. Beyond those claims, the public pages do not give a number for card issuance, monthly fees, FX markup, ATM charges above the free allowance, or daily and monthly spending limits.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a COCA payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

A third-party source (penchan.co, October 2026) reports that the card is free to issue with no minimum balance, that the annual fee is US$0, and that a physical card requires a first top-up of EUR 50, from which card production and shipping are deducted and the remainder stays on your balance. The same source puts the FX fee in a 0.5–1.5% range depending on currency, with USD and EUR at 0%. Another aggregator (cryptocardhub, 2026) reports 0% FX and a free annual fee. A September 2026 Trustpilot reviewer argues that the real cost is hidden in the spread rather than in a stated fee.

Because COCA’s own pages do not publish these numbers, anything you read about issuance, FX, ATM and limits from non-official sources should be treated as unofficial and not confirmed by the card. The table below reproduces the numbers that appear in these third-party reports.

Fee or limit Amount Source
Account maintenance Free App Store listing
Card issuance Not stated by COCA; unofficial: free, no minimum COCA, penchan.co
First top-up for physical card Not stated by COCA; unofficial: EUR 50 (production and shipping deducted from it) penchan.co
Annual fee Not stated by COCA; unofficial: US$0 penchan.co
FX markup Not stated by COCA; unofficial: 0% (USD, EUR), 0.5–1.5% other currencies penchan.co, cryptocardhub
ATM withdrawals Free up to US$250/month; unofficial: 2% above the monthly allowance, allowance not stated App Store listing, penchan.co
Spending limits Not stated by COCA; unofficial: no spending limit vs EUR 30,000/day, unlimited transactions (single source) penchan.co, cryptocardhub
Cashback monthly claimable range US$15–350 a month depending on tier (unofficial) penchan.co

Two everyday payments show how the cost surface works in practice. For a EUR 40 supermarket purchase on a EUR card funded from a EUR bank transfer, the unofficial numbers suggest no FX and no top-up fee, so the cost is the published or unofficial rate of cashback rather than a charge. For a US$60 streaming subscription in USD funded from USDC, the cost depends on whether the card holds USD directly or converts to EUR on the way through; if conversion is involved, the unofficial 0% on USD and EUR would still apply, but you would need to confirm the route with the app. The point is that the cost depends on a chain of small decisions — funding route, currency, tier, monthly cap — and the official documentation does not lay that chain out for you.

Tier system cashback deserves a separate look. The $COCA token gates the higher rates: Basic is automatic, with no $COCA required; higher tiers require holding $COCA in the wallet; and the higher the tier, the more you can earn, with a monthly cap per tier and region. Above your tier’s monthly cap, the rate drops to 1%. The names, thresholds and caps of higher tiers are not published on the pages I read; COCA refers to a “Tier System Terms & Conditions” document. The App Store notes do say that higher-tier members can request increased card spending limits, which is useful if you want to spend more to earn more.

Top up: how to fund the card

Funding is described in general terms rather than in detail. The official documentation (docs.coca.xyz) says the card is funded via an IBAN in EUR or USD, from other cards, or with stablecoins. Coins and networks are not named, fees and minimum top-ups are not stated, and it is not clear from the public material who pays the network fee on a stablecoin top-up.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up COCA starts with a transfer to the right network

What this means in practice is that you have to check inside the app which specific coins and networks are supported before you send anything. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so sending a stablecoin on a network that COCA does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can mean lost funds or a manual recovery ticket with no guarantee of success. Treat the wallet address and the network as one decision, not two.

Once funded, the terms say assets are transferred to a third-party linked smart contract wallet for fiat payments. That step is invisible to you as a cardholder, but it is the moment your crypto becomes a spendable fiat balance. The “pre-loaded balance” model is the safer one for a card: you top up first, then spend, and the card cannot overdraw.

Withdrawal works in the opposite direction. The terms describe closing the account by withdrawing assets, and they say the wallet is non-custodial. They also say transactions cannot be cancelled or modified once submitted, that COCA will “endeavour to give” two months’ notice if it withdraws the wallet, and that fees are not refunded on termination. Withdrawal fees are not stated.

Paying with it every day

COCA offers a physical and a virtual Visa. The card currency is not stated in the public pages, which is unusual; most crypto cards either tell you the funding currency or let you choose one at sign-up. The November 2024 press release advertised zero FX for a limited time, which is a promo signal rather than an ongoing commitment.

Mobile wallet support is not stated in the official pages, but third-party sources (penchan.co, October 2026; SpendNode) report that both Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported. Blocked merchant categories are not stated; you find out at the till if a particular merchant is restricted.

The cashback structure is the strongest everyday-use argument for the card. The published rates are up to 8% in stablecoins on general card spend and up to 50% on subscription services such as Netflix and Spotify. Both rates apply to the Basic tier automatically; higher tiers need $COCA held in the wallet. Above the monthly cap for your tier, the rate drops to 1%. The Basic tier’s exact cashback rate is not officially stated; the “up to 8%” figure is the headline. If subscriptions are a meaningful part of your monthly spend, the 50% rate is the headline number to verify, because it is far above the category norm.

The app itself is on iPhone iOS 17.0+ with visionOS 1.0+ support, at version 3.10.0, with an App Store rating of 3.9/5 from 37 ratings (read 2026-10-20). The Google Play package is listed as com.wirex.wallet, which is the Wirex package name, and the rating was not retrievable. That package-name overlap is worth noticing, because a January 2024 Trustpilot review describes Wirex accounts moving to the Coca Wallet app, and the terms are dated 2023-11-04. COCA and Wirex appear to share infrastructure or a corporate history, but the official pages do not make the relationship explicit.

Disputes are a weak point. The terms do not mention chargebacks, require disputes under English law, and limit claims to individuals. Time frames are not stated. If you need a card with a clearly published dispute path and reasonable timelines, COCA does not currently publish one.

What can go wrong

The risk picture is dominated by what is not stated, by the thin and mixed independent review history, and by a non-custodial model that puts more responsibility on you.

The first risk is the unnamed issuer. The operating company is named, but the licensed bank or e-money institution behind the Visa programme is not. If the programme is wound down, you need to know who is contractually responsible for the balance and the dispute process. Visa has terminated programmes before (FTX in November 2022; WaveCrest in 2018), and the issuer is the entity that handles the wind-down.

The second risk is the support and complaint record. Trustpilot for COCA sits at 2.8/5 from 31 reviews on the Swiss page (read 2026-10-20), with 78% five-star and 16% one-star, mostly from early 2024 wallet reviews. Other country pages show 3.5/5 from 27 reviews. A January 2024 one-star review described lost funds after a Wirex account moved to the Coca Wallet app, with the company asking for details. A two-star review described a EUR 20 SEPA transfer held pending compliance confirmation. There are positive reviews on USDT spending and on support, but the negative ones cluster around funds and access.

More recent reports are more concerning. A June 2026 user reports funds and a card being inaccessible for three months after an app update. An August 2026 review describes a deposit on the correct network that was lost, with the support ticket open for over a week. A September 2026 user reports two USDC transfers via X Layer that have not been refunded. A separate September 2026 user reports an account closed after a months-long wait, with only part of the balance returned. An August 2026 user reports an internal EUR 20 SEPA transfer held for compliance. A September 2026 review argues that the “0% FX” claim hides a spread. COCA frequently responds to negative reviews, usually asking for a ticket number.

The third risk is the security model. The wallet is non-custodial and uses Multi-Party Computation. The FAQ does not ask you to write down a seed phrase, but the terms refer to a Recovery Phrase and say COCA cannot recover access if you lose it. Swaps are protected by Flashbots against MEV-style sandwich attacks. In-app freeze and insurance are not stated. The advantage of MPC is that there is no single point of failure in the form of a stored seed phrase; the disadvantage is that you depend on COCA’s MPC implementation being correct, and you still need to keep your own devices and recovery data safe.

The fourth risk is regulatory and geographic. The card is unavailable in a long list of jurisdictions, and the terms say you must cooperate with verification requests. EU regulated entities must complete customer due diligence or end the relationship, and US customer identification programmes validate proof-of-address documents. Account closures and compliance holds, like the EUR 20 SEPA case above, are not anomalies; they are the regulated default when something in the verification or transaction pattern does not match. If your use case is sensitive to sudden account freezes, a non-custodial crypto card carries a different kind of risk from a fully licensed bank account, even if the underlying product is sound.

The fifth risk is stablecoin-specific. Stablecoins aim to hold a stable value against a fiat currency, but “despite the name, stablecoins are not necessarily stable”. USDT and USDC together account for about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation according to the BIS (July 2025). Circle says USDC is redeemable 1:1 for USD and 100% backed by cash and cash equivalents, with monthly reserve attestations. Tether describes USDT as backed 1-to-1. They carry volatility: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. Tether has also disabled tokens in OFAC-sanctioned wallets, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof.

What to take instead

Three alternatives give a useful contrast: RedotPay, Bitpanda and Wirex. Each scores higher on the headline number, but the reasons differ, and the trade-offs are not the same as COCA’s.

Card Score Geographic reach Issuance FX Cashback Notable trade-off
COCA 6.4 / 10 UK, EEA, Asia, South America, Middle East, Africa Not stated by COCA; unofficial: free Not stated by COCA; unofficial: 0% on USD/EUR, 0.5–1.5% other Up to 8% on spend, up to 50% on subscriptions, in stablecoins Issuer unnamed, dispute path unclear, FX and ATM terms not published
RedotPay 6.9 / 10 Wide, with two long restricted lists (citizenship and residency) Virtual US$10, physical US$100, replacement US$5–10 1% transaction fee, 1.2% non-default currency, 1.5% on a small set of merchants US$5 welcome reward, separate Points & Rewards programme Physical card is a one-off US$100 fee, and a long list of regions cannot order a card at all
Bitpanda 6.5 / 10 Euro-area residence required, Bankident-verified users excluded First card free, reissue EUR 5.90, each additional physical card EUR 10 EUR 0 FX fee, but VISA mark-up applies 1% (page body) or “up to 2%” (page summary) on crypto spending Euro-area only, EUR-denominated only, fiat and stablecoins excluded from cashback
Wirex 6.7 / 10 130+ countries, with regional fee schedules Free in UK, EEA, APAC, SG, AU and “Other”; metal card GBP 45 in the UK, EUR 45 elsewhere “No foreign exchange fee” on the card page; exchange fees vary by pair Cryptoback in WXT: Standard 0.5%, Premium 3%, Elite up to 8% Cash withdrawals not permitted in Singapore; long list of excluded MCCs for cashback

RedotPay is the closest in spirit: a crypto-funded Visa with a points programme and clear fee tables, but with a heavier geographic restriction list and a non-trivial physical card cost. Bitpanda is the cleanest on the regulated side, but the geographic reach is narrow and the cashback programme is euro-area only. Wirex has the broadest reach and the most published fee schedules by region, but its cashback excludes a long list of merchant categories and is paid in its own WXT token.

The honest summary is that none of these cards solves every problem, and COCA’s appeal is the subscription cashback rate and the non-custodial wallet rather than a complete and transparent fee schedule.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend COCA to a reader who already holds stablecoins in a self-custodial wallet, lives in one of the available regions, and wants a Visa card whose main selling point is high cashback on subscription services. The 50% subscription rate is the headline number to verify, and the up-to-8% general rate is competitive if your spending pattern fits the tier caps. The non-custodial model is a real plus for someone who has thought through the responsibility of holding their own keys and is comfortable with the recovery model.

I would not recommend COCA to a reader who needs every fee, limit and country rule on a single public page before they start, or who needs a clearly named card issuer with a published dispute path. I would also be cautious if any part of your use case depends on cash access (the unofficial ATM allowance is not consistent across sources), or if you are unwilling to verify the supported stablecoin networks inside the app before sending a top-up.

Before you sign up, check three things in this order: the in-app list of supported countries and your residency; the in-app list of supported coins and networks for top-up; and the in-app confirmation of the FX, ATM and issuance terms. Those three checks will tell you more than any review can.

Frequently asked questions

What is the COCA card?

COCA is a Visa debit card (physical and virtual) issued through a non-custodial crypto wallet that uses Multi-Party Computation. It pays cashback in stablecoins on card spending, with higher rates on subscription services, and it is operated by CCA Labs – FZCO in Dubai.

How does the COCA card work?

You fund the card from an IBAN in EUR or USD, from another card, or with stablecoins. The crypto is converted to a fiat balance that the card spends, and you earn tier-based cashback in stablecoins. The Basic tier is automatic; higher tiers require holding the $COCA token in the wallet.

Is COCA a bank?

No. COCA is operated by CCA Labs – FZCO, a company registered in Dubai Digital Oasis, UAE. The licensed bank or e-money institution that actually issues the Visa card is not named in the public pages.

Is the COCA card available in my country?

The card is available in the UK, the EEA, Asia, South America, the Middle East and Africa, with a restricted-jurisdiction list that includes Afghanistan, Iran, Iraq, Cuba and Syria among others. The in-app check is the only reliable way to confirm availability for your specific case.

Does the COCA card require KYC?

The marketing line “no KYC hassles” refers to the wallet. The card itself requires you to pass the issuer’s identity check under the terms. The exact document list, review time and rejection criteria are not published on the official pages.

How do I top up the COCA card?

The official documentation lists three routes: an IBAN in EUR or USD, another card, or stablecoins. The specific coins and networks are not named in the public material, and the in-app deposit screen is the only reliable guide. Sending a stablecoin on a network that COCA does not support can mean lost funds.

How do I add the COCA card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

The official pages do not state mobile wallet support, but third-party sources report that both Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported. The reliable way to confirm is to add the card inside the wallet app after you have it.

Is the COCA card free?

The App Store listing says there are no maintenance fees, and ATM withdrawals are free up to US$250 a month. The card issuance price, FX markup, ATM charges above the allowance, and spending limits are not stated in the official pages. Unofficial third-party sources report an annual fee of US$0, FX of 0% on USD and EUR, and 0.5–1.5% on other currencies, but these are not confirmed by COCA.

Is the COCA card safe?

The wallet is non-custodial and uses Multi-Party Computation, with Flashbots protection on swaps. The trade-off is that the card issuer is not named in the public pages, the dispute path is not published, and recent independent reviews include reports of funds and cards becoming inaccessible. Treat any non-custodial crypto card as carrying both custody and counterparty risk.

How do I close my COCA account?

The terms describe closing the account by withdrawing your assets from the wallet. The wallet is non-custodial, transactions cannot be cancelled once submitted, and COCA says it will “endeavour to give” two months’ notice if it withdraws the wallet. Withdrawal fees are not stated.

Content created by the «cryptocardbasics» team