The card with no monthly fee and a cashback ladder that starts at 5,000 dollars

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Nexo card is one of those crypto cards that promises the two things people actually want: no monthly fee, and money back. It delivers the first without much argument. The second is where most readers will stop reading, because the cashback ladder does not start where people expect — it starts above a 5,000 US dollar balance, and the physical card does not exist below that line either.

Nexo works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I gave it 6.3 out of 10. That is not a bad score, it is a specific one: strong on everyday mechanics, weak on the questions you would ask before trusting an institution with your balance and your identity documents.

Who this suits: Europeans who already hold a large crypto balance on Nexo, who are comfortable with a custodial platform holding that balance, and who want a card that spends without a monthly fee. Who it does not suit: anyone without a qualifying European identity document, anyone without 5,000 US dollars to park, anyone who wants to know exactly what a card payment costs before they make it, and anyone who needs a published answer on cashback outside Credit Mode.

The conditions described on these pages are current as of October 28, 2026.

The score, criterion by criterion

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom; no official country list on the card page
Cost 7 / 10 No monthly or annual fee, free issuance; FX 0.2% weekdays in the EEA/UK, 2% outside; 2% above the ATM allowance
Top-up options 7 / 10 Spends from the Nexo account, 100+ assets, stablecoins and FiatX in Debit Mode; networks not disclosed
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Issuer DiPocket UAB (Bank of Lithuania) named; Trustpilot 4.4, but complaints about withdrawal delays, closed accounts and card-order confusion
Everyday use 8 / 10 Virtual and physical card, Apple Pay, Google Pay, ATMs; physical card needs Gold tier and 5,000 USD
Total 6.3 / 10 A good card for a specific balance holder, not a general-purpose everyday card

The single highest mark in the table is everyday use. That is not a small thing: most crypto cards are technically interesting and practically awkward. Nexo’s card is virtual or plastic, works in the two mobile wallets nearly everyone uses, and takes money out of ATMs. What holds the score down is not the card, it is the surround — who can get it, and what happens when something goes wrong.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Nexo starts with a transfer to the right network

Will they give you the card

The card page says residents and citizens of “selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom”. Read that wording carefully, because it is two tests, not one. You need to be a resident of a qualifying country and you need to hold a citizenship that qualifies. Someone living in Frankfurt with a passport from a country outside the list is not obviously covered by “residents and citizens of”.

The page does not publish the list. That is the first thing that should make you pause: there is no official country list to check yourself against before you invest an afternoon in an application. The page also does not name the excluded jurisdictions, saying only that the service is “not available in certain jurisdictions”.

A third-party card comparison site, unofficial and not confirmed by Nexo’s own pages, puts availability at 30 countries: Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom. The same source describes Bulgaria, Estonia and the United States as restricted. Treat that as a lead to check, not a fact. If your country matters to you, the only reliable answer is the support team, and I would ask them before you move any funds.

What you need to hand over: identity verification against a supported identity document issued in the EEA, the United Kingdom or another eligible European country. Two things the card page does not state — proof of address and the minimum age. That is a real gap, not a formality, because both of those get asked at some point in the process and finding out mid-application is unpleasant.

There is also news worth knowing before you decide. Cointelegraph reported a 2025-era Bulgarian police raid on Nexo’s Sofia office over alleged Russia-sanctions and AML violations, with no official Nexo statement about Russians being found. I am not drawing conclusions from that, but you should know it exists, and you should not read this as a recommendation to be casual about your own compliance position.

How to get it

The mechanics are ordinary: an application, identity verification, then activation. The card page describes one verification level and does not publish tiers, processing times or the reasons an application might be rejected. So the honest description of how long it takes is that Nexo does not say.

The card itself comes in two forms. The virtual card activates in the app. The physical card is ordered in the app — Card tab, Order Nexo Card — at no additional cost, with standard delivery up to four weeks, and it may be delivered to your local Post Office. You activate it in the app as well. The page carries a Mastercard trademark notice, but does not state the network explicitly; a third-party source, unofficial, says Mastercard. The card’s currency is not named on the page, though ATM allowances are quoted in both EUR and GBP.

Two access requirements catch people. The virtual card needs at least 50 US dollars in the account to activate. The physical card needs a balance above 5,000 US dollars in digital assets and at least Gold tier in the loyalty programme. If you are under that line, the plastic simply is not available to you, whatever you read on a blog.

A detail that has generated its own confusion: reports in October 2026 described conflicting statements about whether physical cards can be ordered at all following the MiCA transition. I would not promise delivery dates based on the page alone.

What it really costs: Fees, limits and the everyday payments

No monthly fee, no annual fee, no inactivity fee. Issuance is free, and the physical card ships free. That part is genuinely good, and for most people it is the headline reason to look at this card at all.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Nexo payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The costs arrive elsewhere. Here is the whole picture as published:

Fee or limit What it says
Monthly fee None
Annual fee None
Inactivity fee None
Issuance Free; free shipping for the physical card
Virtual card activation At least $50 in the account
Physical card access Balance above $5,000 in digital assets, and Gold tier or above
FX fee, weekdays 0.2% (EEA/UK/CH); 2% rest of world
FX fee, weekends 0.7% (EEA/UK/CH); 2.5% rest of world
Crypto conversion fee Not stated on the card page
Cashback Credit Mode only, account above $5,000, paid in NEXO or Bitcoin
ATM Available; free monthly allowance by tier, then 2%, minimum 1.99 EUR/GBP per withdrawal
Daily and monthly spend limits Not stated; clients with $100,000 in assets get “higher Nexo Card spending limits”

The free ATM allowance depends on your loyalty tier, and the tiers are set by how much of your portfolio is in NEXO tokens:

Tier Free ATM allowance per month
Base EUR 200 / GBP 180
Silver EUR 400 / GBP 360
Gold EUR 1,000 / GBP 900
Platinum EUR 2,000 / GBP 1,800

Above that allowance, the fee is 2% with a minimum of 1.99 EUR or GBP per withdrawal. Loyalty members are said to earn “up to 13%” on idle funds; the rate per tier is not stated.

Now let me walk through three ordinary payments, because that is where fee pages usually get vague and where your actual cost lives.

Coffee abroad on a weekend. Say your card currency is EUR and you are paying in a country outside the EEA, the UK and Switzerland. The FX fee is 2.5% at the weekend. The merchant sees fiat, so there is no conversion step at the till — the cost is entirely in that percentage. Nobody hands you a receipt showing it as a line item, which is why so many people think these cards are free. They are not.

A subscription billed in a currency you do not hold, on a weekday. Again 0.2% if you are inside the EEA, the UK or Switzerland; 2% if you are not. The same purchase costs ten times more depending on where you are standing. That is the single most surprising thing about this card, and it is buried in the fee table.

Anything at all in Debit Mode. The card spends stablecoins, crypto and FiatX assets such as EURx, USDx and GBPx in Debit Mode. The crypto conversion fee is not stated on the card page. A third-party source, unofficial, puts the Debit Mode swap at 0.75% and says it can stack with the FX fee. If that stacking is real, a payment abroad from a crypto balance can carry both. You cannot verify it from Nexo’s own pages, so treat the conversion step as an unknown rather than assume it is free.

There is a practical trap in the currency setting: the card currency is chosen at virtual card activation and cannot be changed on the physical-card order screen. If you pick wrong, the page tells you to contact Nexo.

On limits, the honest answer is that the page does not give them. It says only that clients with 100,000 US dollars in assets get higher spending limits. Third-party figures — EUR 10,000 per purchase, per day, EUR 60,000 per month, ATM limits of EUR 600 per transaction, EUR 2,000 per day and EUR 10,000 per month — are unofficial, described as previously published, and Nexo may set account- or region-specific limits. Use them as a scale, not a promise.

How to top it up

Top up is the wrong word here, and the difference matters. The Nexo card does not hold its own balance to be loaded. It spends directly from your Nexo account balance, which supports more than 100 digital assets, and in Debit Mode it works with stablecoins, crypto and FiatX assets.

So the question is not “how do I fund the card” but “how do I get value into the Nexo account”. And on that, the card page is silent: deposit fees, minimum top-up amounts, and which fiat top-up options exist with what fees are not stated. Networks are not stated either. That last point deserves weight — if you are planning to send a stablecoin transfer in, you need to know the network before you send, because a transfer on the wrong network can be lost. Support contact details are on support.nexo.com/contact and a status page at status.nexo.com, though the help centre pages themselves were unreadable when I looked.

Cashback, when it applies, is paid in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin, and you can change the payout currency.

Paying with it every day

This is where the card earns its best mark, and where I would expect most readers to have the smoothest experience.

Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported. The physical card is the backup for when a terminal will not take a phone. Both cash machines and merchant payments work as you would expect from a normal debit card.

The cashback is the part that needs reading twice, because of two separate conditions. Cashback applies only to purchases in Credit Mode — that is, borrowing against your holdings, not spending your balance. And the account must hold more than 5,000 US dollars in digital assets. Spend from your own balance in Debit Mode and the cashback is not there. That single fact removes cashback from the card’s appeal for most of the people who would read a review like this one.

Where cashback does apply, the rate depends on your tier, which depends on how much of your portfolio is in NEXO tokens:

Tier Cashback in NEXO Cashback in BTC
Platinum 2% 0.5%
Gold 1% 0.3%
Silver 0.7% 0.2%
Base 0.5% 0.1%

Rates may change and vary by region. Worth noting the gap: if you hold the same 5,000 dollars but do not hold NEXO tokens, you sit at Base.

The app itself is competent. iOS versions cover iPhone, iPad, iPod touch and Apple Vision, with an App Store rating of 4.2 out of 5 from 2K ratings when I looked on 2026-10-20, and an interface in 18 languages including Russian, Ukrainian, Kazakh and Uzbek. The Google Play listing I did not read. Blocked merchant categories, such as gambling, are not stated on the page, and dispute handling is also not stated — both worth asking about if your spending depends on them.

What can go wrong

Here is the honest risk section, and it is longer than the fees section.

The regulatory picture has moved recently. Nexo said on 3 June 2026 on social media that it had set up a MiCA-compliant structure under German oversight with products unchanged — a company post, not a regulator record. The MiCA transition period ended on 1 July 2026. Independent checks of the ESMA register in August and September 2026 found no entity named Nexo among authorised CASPs. Custody in the EEA runs through Tangany and trading through DLT Finance, with a Bulgarian FSC application reportedly filed in February 2026 and still pending per a third-party report. The card itself is issued by DiPocket UAB, authorised by the Bank of Lithuania, which is a separate question from MiCA and is a genuine comfort.

Complaints cluster around money movement and account access. Trustpilot TrustScore is 4.4 out of 5 from 18,805 reviews, read 2026-10-20. That is a good number, and the themes underneath it are not. Recurring complaints: high fees on small transactions and frustration with the 5,000 US dollar minimum, delayed withdrawals, locked or closed accounts, slow deposits, support called unhelpful on technical problems by some and praised for speed by others, an objection to third-party “Earn Provider” custody, and regional restrictions on bank funding and card access.

Counterparty risk is the structural one. This is a custodial card. The platform holds your credentials, which means you trust it completely, and cryptocurrency transfers have no built-in recovery when something goes wrong. Custodial platforms have a real history of failure, and the card page’s own framing — “industrial-grade custody” — describes the arrangement rather than the risk. An unofficial source also says there is no cardholder insurance, and 2FA details are not stated on the card page.

Mergers with crypto cards have ended badly before. A programme closure typically means a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw what is left. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026 — a single unconfirmed source, but the pattern is well documented across the industry.

Declines and holds. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on funds for several days, typically up to seven. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards because the issuer’s country shows up in the lookup. And a declined online payment can shift liability in ways that are still argued over.

On security, some real strengths. Instant card freeze, security spending controls, biometric locks, tokenised mobile wallets where the card number is replaced by a device-specific number and each payment uses a one-time code. Support is advertised as 24/7.

Taxes are yours. Digital assets are treated as property in the US, and each card payment funded from crypto can be treated as a separate disposal measured at the value on the date of the transaction. I am not giving tax advice here — I am telling you it exists, and that the answer depends on your jurisdiction.

What to take instead

If Nexo’s 5,000 US dollar threshold or its cashback structure does not fit you, three alternatives came out of the same process at comparable scores.

Xplace, 7.7 out of 10. The highest score here. Visa acceptance in 160+ countries, virtual card instant, physical card live at Silver with Gold and Platinum to come and 7–14 business day delivery. It has annual fees where Nexo has none: Basic free, Silver 99 dollars, Gold 249 dollars, Platinum 999 dollars, with no borrowing origination fee. Platinum gets 0% FX. Deposits are Solana-network assets. Credit-mode cashback runs 0.5% to 2% by tier, paid in USDC.

ether.fi, 6.7 out of 10. Visa, virtual and physical, and unusually specific about eligibility — a named list of jurisdictions plus 31 US states, with the blunt warning that if your jurisdiction is not listed you cannot apply. One free virtual card for Core members, 10 dollars in regional-pricing countries. FX on top of the base rate: 0.5% Core, 0.25% Luxe, none at Pinnacle and VIP. Cashback in ETHFI, up to 3% within monthly caps.

Exa, 6.2 out of 10. Almost identical to Nexo’s score. Visa, virtual, accepted at over 150 million merchants in more than 150 countries, and the widest country reach of the four: 45 countries and 31 US states, with 18 named ineligible countries including Belarus, China, India, Iran, Israel, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam and Russia. Marketed as free, but fees are not stated. No cashback — what it offers is yield on assets.

The pattern worth noticing: the cards scoring higher than Nexo do it with more published detail and clearer country rules, not with better economics. Nexo is the one with no annual fee. If you have the balance and the eligibility, that matters.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Nexo card to a reader who already has more than 5,000 US dollars in digital assets on Nexo, holds a citizenship and residence in a qualifying European country, is comfortable with a custodial arrangement, and wants a card with no annual fee and a real ATM allowance. If you hold NEXO tokens, the cashback ladder and the free ATM allowance improve together, and the card starts making more sense.

I would not recommend it as a first crypto card, as a way to start spending small amounts, or as a way to avoid banking friction. Small payments are exactly where reviewers complain the fees bite. It is also not the card for you if your cashback motivation is Debit Mode spending — that path pays nothing.

Before you apply, I would check three things in this order: that your country is actually served, in writing from support; that you understand the physical card needs Gold and 5,000 dollars; and that you have read which of your own questions the card page simply does not answer — the crypto conversion fee above all, since it is the number most likely to decide whether daily spending is cheap for you or quietly expensive.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Nexo card?

It is a payment card linked to your Nexo account, issued by DiPocket UAB and authorised by the Bank of Lithuania. You get a virtual card that activates in the app and a physical card you order in the app. The card spends directly from your Nexo balance, which can hold more than 100 digital assets, in stablecoins, crypto or FiatX assets. It works in Apple Pay and Google Pay and at ATMs.

Is Nexo a bank?

No — Nexo is a crypto platform, not a bank. The card itself is issued by DiPocket UAB, a separate entity authorised by the Bank of Lithuania. Nexo’s own operating entity, registered country and its MiCA or VASP licences are not stated on the card page. Since August–September 2026, ESMA register checks have found no entity named Nexo among authorised CASPs, with custody and trading reportedly routed through partners.

Is the Nexo card free?

Mostly, yes, and this is its real strength. There is no monthly fee, no annual fee, no inactivity fee and no issuance charge, and the physical card ships free. What is not free is the FX fee — 0.2% on weekdays and 0.7% at weekends inside the EEA, UK and Switzerland, 2% and 2.5% outside — nor ATM withdrawals above your tier’s free allowance, which cost 2%.

Does the Nexo card require KYC?

Yes. Identity verification against a supported identity document issued in the EEA, the UK or another eligible European country is required, and the card is limited to residents and citizens of selected European countries. The card page does not state whether proof of address is required or what the minimum age is, and it publishes no processing times or rejection reasons. One verification level is described, with no tiers.

Is Nexo card available in my country?

The card page says “selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom” and does not publish the list or name excluded jurisdictions. A third-party source, unofficial, lists 30 countries as available and describes Bulgaria, Estonia and the United States as restricted. Do not rely on a third-party list for a decision that matters to you — ask Nexo support directly.

How do I get the Nexo card, and how long does it take?

Apply in the app and complete identity verification, then activate the virtual card in the app. The virtual card needs at least 50 US dollars in the account to activate. The physical card is ordered from the Card tab at no extra cost, with delivery up to four weeks and possible delivery to your local Post Office. You activate it in the app. Nexo publishes no processing time for verification.

Why can’t I get the plastic card?

Because of two conditions, and both are absolute. The physical card requires a balance above 5,000 US dollars in digital assets and at least Gold tier in the loyalty programme, which is set by the share of NEXO tokens in your portfolio. Reports in October 2026 also described conflicting statements about whether physical cards can be ordered at all after the MiCA transition, so confirm before you count on it.

Is Nexo card safe?

Safe depends on which risk you mean. Technical safeguards are decent: instant card freeze, spending controls, biometric locks and tokenised mobile wallets. But the card is custodial — Nexo holds your credentials, and there is no built-in recovery for crypto transfers that go wrong. An unofficial source says there is no cardholder insurance, 2FA details are not stated, and Trustpilot sits at 4.4 out of 5 from 18,805 reviews with recurring complaints about withdrawal delays and account closures.

Does Nexo card give cashback?

Only in Credit Mode, and only if your account holds more than 5,000 US dollars in digital assets. Rates by tier are 2% in NEXO or 0.5% in BTC at Platinum, 1%/0.3% at Gold, 0.7%/0.2% at Silver and 0.5%/0.1% at Base. Spending from your own balance in Debit Mode pays no cashback at all. Rates may change and vary by region.

What are the Nexo card’s limits?

The card page does not state daily or monthly spend limits. It says only that clients with 100,000 US dollars in assets receive higher Nexo Card spending limits. Unofficial figures, described as previously published, are EUR 10,000 per purchase and per day with EUR 60,000 per month, and ATM limits of EUR 600 per transaction, EUR 2,000 per day and EUR 10,000 per month. Nexo may set its own account- or region-specific limits.

Content created by the «cryptocardbasics» team