The CoinJar card, looked at end to end: eligibility, costs, top-up mechanics, and the trade-offs of spending crypto in Australia
The CoinJar card is a prepaid Mastercard issued in Australia, built around a simple idea: pick a crypto in your CoinJar account as your “Spend” balance, and the card auto-converts it to Australian dollars at the moment of purchase. There is a free physical card, a digital card, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and a flat 1% purchase fee. It is a reasonable product for a narrow reader: an Australian resident who already holds crypto on CoinJar and wants to spend it without a separate conversion step. For anyone outside that window, the card is largely a closed door, and the everyday costs are not as low as the headline “free issuance” suggests.
This page is current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
The CoinJar card scores 5.5 out of 10. That is an honest “it works, for a small audience,” not a knockout either way. The card does what it says on the tin for Australian residents with a verified CoinJar account: you get a free AUD Mastercard, you pick a crypto to spend, and the conversion happens automatically at CoinJar’s rate. Where the score drops is in the places that matter if you are choosing a card for the long run — eligibility is restricted, foreign-currency purchases carry a 2.99%+ fee on top of the network rate, and CoinJar is a custodial platform, so the funds backing your card live with the issuer until you spend them.

Here is how the score breaks down:
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 3 / 10 | Eligibility is set out in the Australian Product Disclosure Statement, not on the card page: 18 or older, an Australian resident, with a verified CoinJar account. The card page does not list supported countries. |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Card issue and replacement are free. Purchases cost 1%, foreign transactions cost 2.99%+ on top of the Mastercard rate, ATM withdrawals cost 1%, and a lost dispute costs A$27.50. |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | You pick a crypto as a “Spend” account and the card auto-converts at CoinJar’s rate. CoinJar separately charges its normal trading fee when it sells crypto for the purchase. The list of supported coins is not given on the card page. |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | The card is issued by EML Payment Solutions Limited (AFSL 404131), with CoinJar Australia Pty Ltd as authorised representative. Trustpilot reviews of the CoinJar exchange sit at 3.3 from 2,549 reviews; card-specific complaints are rare. |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Free physical and digital Mastercard, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM access for a 1% fee, in-app card controls. |
| Total | 5.5 / 10 | A solid, no-frills AUD card for the reader it is built for; not a card to choose on cost or flexibility alone. |
In plain English: the reader this card fits is an Australian resident who already keeps crypto on CoinJar and wants a low-friction way to spend it in AUD. If you are outside Australia, the card is not on offer to you on the public page, and the AUD denomination and Australian regulator behind it confirm that. If you want the cheapest crypto card you can find, the 1% purchase fee and 2.99%+ foreign-transaction fee put CoinJar in the middle of the pack, not the front.
Who CoinJar will give the card to
The first thing to know — and the thing the public card page is quietest about — is who can actually get one. The card page does not list eligibility rules or supported countries. The rules live in the Australian Product Disclosure Statement (PDS), and they are narrower than the marketing suggests.
The conditions are: you must be 18 or older, an Australian resident, and hold a verified CoinJar account. That is the gate. If you do not meet all three, the card is not on the table through the public application. The page does not spell out the supported countries, what “verified” means in document terms, how long verification takes, or what would get an application rejected, and the card documents do not fill in those gaps either. In other words, the page tells you a card exists; the PDS tells you who can hold one.
A few practical points that fall out of that:
- The card is denominated in Australian dollars. Every fee in the PDS is in AUD and is GST-inclusive, so even if you could top it up from elsewhere, the currency the card spends in is fixed.
- The issuer is EML Payment Solutions Limited, an Australian financial-services licence holder (AFSL 404131), with CoinJar Australia Pty Ltd as the authorised representative. That means an Australian regulator oversees the card programme itself, separate from any crypto regulation that touches CoinJar the exchange.
- If you have just moved to Australia, hold a different citizenship, or live in Australia part of the year, the rules above still apply. The gate is residency, not citizenship, and the card page does not separately address citizens of other countries who are Australian residents.
If you are an Australian resident who already has a verified CoinJar account, you can move to the next step. If you are anywhere else, this is the section where the review ends for you.
How to get the CoinJar card
The application path is short if you are already inside the gate. You start with a verified CoinJar account — that is the same identity check that lets you deposit and trade on the exchange — and from there you request the card through the CoinJar app. The card itself comes in two forms: a free physical prepaid Mastercard and a digital card that lives in the app for online use. There is no separate “premium” tier or annual fee, just the one product.
A few things to be aware of as you go through the steps:
- The card is prepaid, which means it spends a balance you have already loaded rather than drawing directly from a bank account at the till.
- The issuance fee is zero, and a replacement card is also free, according to the PDS fee table. That is friendlier than many bank-issued debit cards, where a replacement can cost A$10 to A$15.
- Delivery countries and delivery time are not stated on the card page, so the only honest answer is that the public materials do not say how long the physical card takes to arrive or where exactly it can be posted. If timing matters to you, treat that as something to confirm in-app before you request it.
- Identity verification requirements — what documents you need, how long it takes, what causes a rejection — are not stated on the card documents either. You will see them when you go through account verification, not before.
Activation is in the CoinJar app, where you can also view your card number, manage your PIN, freeze and unfreeze the card, and add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay. There is no separate “activate at ATM” step in the public documentation.
What the CoinJar card really costs
The costs are split across three places: the fee table in the PDS, the foreign-transaction and conversion language on the card page, and the trading fee CoinJar charges when it sells your crypto at the point of purchase. None of them are large on their own. They are not nothing, either, and they add up differently depending on how you use the card.
Here is what the fee table and the card page say:
| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Card issue | Free |
| Replacement card | Free |
| Monthly or annual fee | Not stated on card page |
| Purchase fee (in-store and online) | 1% (returned in Rewards points) |
| Foreign-transaction fee | 2.99%+ on top of the Mastercard rate |
| ATM fee | 1% of withdrawal (physical card only), plus any ATM operator fee |
| ATM daily limit | A$1,000 |
| ATM minimum per withdrawal | A$20 |
| ATM maximum per withdrawal | A$1,000 |
| Daily point-of-sale limit (including ATM) | A$5,000 |
| Maximum single point-of-sale transaction | A$5,000 |
| Dispute fee (per unsuccessful dispute) | A$27.50 per transaction |
A few things in that table are worth pausing on.
The 1% purchase fee is “returned in Rewards points.” That is a specific way of phrasing it: you pay 1% on each purchase, then you earn 1 CoinJar Rewards point per A$1 spent, and those points can be used to offset future trades or redeemed in the Rewards Store. The net cost depends on what a Rewards point is worth to you in practice. If you actively trade on CoinJar, the offset has a real value. If you do not, the 1% is just a 1% fee.
The foreign-transaction fee is the one that hurts most when it kicks in. “2.99%+” means the 2.99% is added on top of the rate Mastercard applies when it converts a non-AUD purchase back to AUD for settlement. The “+” leaves a small amount undefined. For a reader travelling or buying from overseas websites, this is the number that decides whether the card is good value.
The ATM fee is a flat 1% on the physical card, plus whatever the ATM operator charges. The PDS does not list a free allowance, so the 1% applies from the first dollar. Daily and per-transaction limits are tight: A$1,000 a day at the ATM, A$5,000 a day in total at point of sale, and a maximum of A$5,000 for a single point-of-sale transaction. None of those are unusual for a prepaid card, but they matter if you are planning a large purchase.
A couple of everyday examples, in plain numbers, to make the table real:
- A A$100 grocery run in Sydney: 1% purchase fee, so A$1, paid back as 100 Rewards points. Net cost in fiat terms: 1% if you treat the points as fee credit, or 0% if you would have traded on CoinJar anyway.
- A A$100 online subscription billed in US dollars: 1% purchase fee plus the 2.99%+ foreign-transaction fee plus whatever spread CoinJar charges when it sells your crypto for AUD. The honest range is roughly 4% to 5% all-in, before counting any trading fee.
- A A$200 ATM withdrawal overseas: 1% CoinJar ATM fee (A$2), the foreign-transaction fee on the AUD equivalent (A$5.98 at 2.99%), and the ATM operator’s own fee, which can be A$3 to A$5 at the high end. You arrive at roughly A$11 to A$13 in fees on a A$200 withdrawal, or around 5% or more.
If your spending is mostly domestic in AUD, the card is reasonably priced. The moment cross-border spending enters the picture, the numbers look less generous.
How to top up the CoinJar card
Top-up is where this card has its own logic, and it is the section worth reading carefully if you are coming from a bank-issued debit card.

You do not “load money” onto the card the way you would top up a travel money card. Instead, you choose a crypto in your CoinJar account to act as your “Spend” account. When you tap or insert the card, CoinJar sells the right amount of that crypto at its own rate, converts it to AUD, and the card pays the merchant in AUD. CoinJar separately charges its normal trading fee when it runs that sale. The crypto you pick is what you spend; the card balance is a derived AUD figure, not a stored pot of money you can see and add to.
A few things that follow from that model:
- The card spends whatever is in the “Spendable Balance” of the CoinJar Everyday Account, denominated in AUD, funded by the crypto you have set as your Spend account.
- CoinJar’s trading fee is charged on top of the 1% purchase fee, so the all-in cost of a purchase is the purchase fee plus the spread or fee on the crypto sale. The card documents do not state a separate “card top-up fee” or minimum, and they do not list which networks the deposit crypto has to come in on.
- The list of supported cryptocurrencies is not given on the card page. A 2021 launch press release said the card supported 30 digital currencies with a flat 1% conversion rate; what the page tells a reader today is that you pick a crypto, and CoinJar handles the rest. If the coin you hold is not on the list, the card cannot spend it.
- Refunds work in AUD, not in the original crypto. If you return something you bought with the card, the money goes back into your CoinJar Everyday Account in Australian dollars, regardless of what the price of the underlying crypto is doing at the time.
When the card is cancelled or revoked, the leftover value on the card is paid to CoinJar, which puts it into your CoinJar Everyday Account in Australian dollars, once any pending authorisations have cleared and you have asked CoinJar to release it. You can cancel the card yourself at any time. The issuer can cancel it with 14 days’ notice, or immediately if it suspects misuse or false information.
Paying with the card every day
In day-to-day use, the CoinJar card is straightforward. It is a Mastercard, so it is accepted wherever Mastercard is taken — that is the wider of the two main networks, including most online merchants and a large share of physical retailers. The card supports contactless payments under a A$100 limit without a PIN, which is the standard Australian threshold. Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported, and the card is tokenised inside the wallet, so the actual card number is never shared with the merchant.
In the CoinJar app, you can hold and unblock the card, change your PIN, see your full transaction history, and manage which crypto is set as your Spend account. The app is available on iOS and Android; third-party sources put the iOS app at around 4.1 out of 5 from a small review base, and the Android app at around 3.91 from a few thousand ratings. Those numbers are unofficial and not from the card issuer.
A few everyday things worth knowing:
- Rewards come in the form of 1 CoinJar Rewards point per A$1 spent. Points offset future trades or can be redeemed in the Rewards Store. The effective value of a point depends on what you do with it, and the card page does not put a fixed cash value on it.
- Disputes follow Mastercard scheme rules. You notify EML (the issuer) as soon as possible; the time limit is generally 90 days from the transaction. If extra information is asked for, you have 10 days to provide it or the chargeback can be lost. An unsuccessful dispute costs A$27.50. The complaints process aims to resolve within 5 days, with escalation to AFCA (the Australian Financial Complaints Authority) if it cannot.
- A merchant refund lands back in your CoinJar Everyday Account in AUD. There is no automatic conversion back into the original crypto.
- The card does not publish a list of blocked merchant category codes. That means the merchant categories the card declines are decided at the issuer’s discretion rather than spelled out in the public documents.
For most everyday spending — supermarkets, fuel, cafes, online subscriptions in AUD — the experience is what you would expect from a prepaid Mastercard. The 1% fee is the cost, and the Rewards points are the offset.
What can go wrong with the CoinJar card
A prepaid crypto card has the same moving parts as any prepaid card, plus the moving parts of a crypto exchange. Both sets can fail, and the way they fail is worth understanding before you commit a balance to the Spend account.
The first risk is the one the card design does not protect you from: conversion timing. The card converts your crypto to AUD at the moment of purchase, at CoinJar’s rate. If the price of your chosen crypto moves sharply between the time you set it as your Spend account and the time the card settles, the AUD amount you receive is the AUD amount at settlement, not the AUD amount you expected when you tapped. You are exposed to crypto price movement every time you use the card.
The second risk is counterparty. The card is custodial, which means your crypto lives on CoinJar’s books until it is sold for the purchase. EML is the regulated card issuer, but EML does not hold your crypto. CoinJar does. If CoinJar suffers an operational or financial problem, your underlying balance is at risk in the same way it is when you hold any other balance on the exchange. The card documents do not describe insurance or safeguarding for the crypto balance itself.
The third risk is sanctions and account actions. The card documents do not state the issuer’s list of blocked merchant categories, but issuers do decline transactions for a range of reasons, and CoinJar as an exchange can put accounts under review or freeze them, as reported in user reviews of the exchange. If your account is frozen, the card cannot spend, and getting funds out of a frozen account can be slow.
The fourth risk is the foreign-transaction and dispute path. Foreign purchases cost 2.99%+ on top of the Mastercard rate; a dispute that does not go in your favour costs A$27.50; and the chargeback window is 90 days. None of those are unusual for a card, but they are the kind of thing that surprises people who think of the card as “free, because issuance is free.”
The fifth risk is support. If something goes wrong, the published support routes are [email protected] for CoinJar, [email protected] for the issuer EML, and the help center at support.coinjar.com. The third-party Trustpilot reviews of the CoinJar exchange (not the card specifically) sit at 3.3 out of 5 from 2,549 reviews, with the recurring themes of transfers held “under review” and identity re-checks. The card has its own complaint route through [email protected] and, if needed, AFCA.
To summarise the trade-offs:
Pros
- Free physical and digital Mastercard; free replacement.
- Apple Pay and Google Pay, in-app card controls.
- Auto-conversion from a chosen crypto to AUD at purchase.
- 1% purchase fee offset by Rewards points.
- Issued by an AFSL-holder; complaints route via AFCA.
Cons
- Australian residents only, with a verified CoinJar account.
- 2.99%+ foreign-transaction fee on top of the Mastercard rate.
- 1% ATM fee with no free allowance.
- A$27.50 dispute fee on an unsuccessful chargeback.
- Custodial: your crypto is held by CoinJar until the card spends it.
- The list of supported coins and the blocked merchant categories are not public.
What to take instead of the CoinJar card
The CoinJar card is one of several ways to spend crypto through a payment card. The right comparison depends on where you live, what you want to spend, and how much you want to convert. Three alternatives are worth a look, each for a different reason.
Bybit Card is a multi-region card with a Mastercard or Visa line depending on the country, with a 6.0 out of 10 score. It supports a wider list of regions than CoinJar — including Argentina, parts of Central Asia, Georgia, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and an “Asia Pacific” line — and uses a tiered cashback system that goes up to 10% for the highest tier on crypto-funded spending only. Foreign-exchange fees vary by region (around 2% in Australia, 7% in Argentina, 1.5% in Brazil, 1% in Peru), and the card has no balance of its own: it draws on the Bybit Funding Account, and crypto is sold at the One-Click Sell rate plus a 0.9% conversion fee. The cost story is region-dependent, and the rewards story is generous for active traders, but the cashback only applies to crypto-funded transactions from October 2026.
Coinbase Card is a Visa debit card available in all US states except Hawaii, scoring 6.4 out of 10. It spends cash or crypto, with all crypto converted to US dollars for purchases and ATM withdrawals, and no Coinbase transaction fees — a spread applies at the moment of conversion instead. Optional crypto rewards on every purchase are US-only and the rate varies. It is a better fit for a US reader than CoinJar, which is Australia-only, and the cost structure is simpler if you are paying in USD.
OKX launched a Mastercard virtual debit card in the EU (plus Norway, excluding Iceland and Liechtenstein) at the end of January 2026, scoring 6.2 out of 10. It is euro-denominated, linked to OKX Pay, and conversion carries a spread of around 0.1% per the May 2026 explainer, with no OKX transaction or FX fee. Cashback is only on USDG purchases, and the cap depends on your VIP tier. The card is virtual only and is funded from USDC or USDG in OKX Pay, so it is a different shape from CoinJar.
The honest comparison is that CoinJar is not the cheapest crypto card in any single dimension — its 1% purchase fee, 2.99%+ foreign-transaction fee and A$27.50 dispute fee are higher than the best of the alternatives in their own regions. It is competitive as a free AUD Mastercard for an Australian resident who already has a verified CoinJar account and wants the simplest possible path from a crypto balance to a card swipe.
Who I would recommend the CoinJar card to
The card is a good fit for a narrow reader. If you are an Australian resident with a verified CoinJar account, hold crypto on the platform, and want to spend it in AUD with the minimum of moving parts, the CoinJar card does that job at a reasonable cost. Issuance is free, the card works in Apple Pay and Google Pay, the daily and per-transaction limits cover normal spending, and the 1% purchase fee is offset by Rewards points if you would have traded on CoinJar anyway.
It is not the right card if you travel often or buy a lot from overseas websites, because the 2.99%+ foreign-transaction fee stacks on top of the Mastercard rate. It is not the right card if you want to keep your crypto in your own wallet, because the card requires a CoinJar account and is custodial by design. It is not the right card if you live outside Australia, because the public materials restrict eligibility to Australian residents with a verified account. And it is not the right card if you want the cheapest fee in the category, because the 1% purchase fee and A$27.50 dispute fee are not best-in-class.
For a reader inside the gate, the card is a sensible “spend the crypto I already have on CoinJar” tool. For a reader outside it, the answer is to look at one of the alternatives that covers your country and your use case, rather than to try to make CoinJar fit.
Frequently asked questions
What is the CoinJar card?
The CoinJar card is a prepaid Mastercard issued in Australia, designed to spend crypto held in your CoinJar account. You pick a cryptocurrency to act as your “Spend” balance, and the card converts it to Australian dollars at CoinJar’s rate at the moment of purchase.
How does the CoinJar card work?
You choose a crypto in your CoinJar account as your Spend account. When you pay, CoinJar sells enough of that crypto for AUD and the card settles the payment in AUD. CoinJar charges its normal trading fee on the sale, on top of the 1% purchase fee.
Is CoinJar a bank?
No. CoinJar is a cryptocurrency exchange. The card itself is issued by EML Payment Solutions Limited, which holds an Australian financial-services licence (AFSL 404131), with CoinJar Australia Pty Ltd as the authorised representative of the issuer.
Who owns CoinJar?
The public card documentation does not state the ownership of CoinJar. What is on the public record is that the card programme involves EML Payment Solutions Limited as issuer and CoinJar Australia Pty Ltd as the authorised representative.
Is the CoinJar card available outside Australia?
The card page does not list supported countries. The Product Disclosure Statement restricts eligibility to Australian residents aged 18 or over with a verified CoinJar account, which means the card is, in practice, an Australian-resident product.
How do I get a CoinJar card?
You need a verified CoinJar account first, then you request the card through the CoinJar app. The physical Mastercard and the digital card are both free, and there is no separate premium tier.
Does the CoinJar card require KYC?
Yes. The card is tied to a verified CoinJar account, and CoinJar’s account verification follows standard Australian identity requirements. The specific documents required and the time it takes are not stated on the card page.
How do I top up the CoinJar card?
You do not load a cash balance in the usual sense. You choose a crypto in your CoinJar account as your Spend account, and the card auto-converts it to AUD at purchase. The list of supported coins is not published on the card page.
Is the CoinJar card free?
Issuance and replacement are free, and there is no monthly or annual fee stated on the card page. There is a 1% purchase fee, a 2.99%+ foreign-transaction fee, a 1% ATM fee, and an A$27.50 dispute fee on an unsuccessful chargeback.
Is the CoinJar card safe?
The card is issued by a licensed Australian issuer and the card programme is overseen by an AFSL-holder. The card itself is custodial, which means the crypto backing your Spend balance is held by CoinJar until the card spends it, and the card documents do not describe insurance or safeguarding for the underlying crypto.
Exchange cards – cryptocardbasics
Content created by the «cryptocardbasics» team
