An honest look at the Avici crypto card: who it suits, what it costs, and where it falls short
Avici is a Visa debit-style card that draws on a USDC balance held inside a self-custodial smart contract, with virtual and physical versions and Apple Pay and Google Pay support. The product is aimed at people who already hold crypto and want to spend it through a familiar card rail, with residents of Latin America and the UAE as a particular focus. The headline number for this review is 6.1 out of 10, and the short version is that the card does what it promises on the payment side, but the funding side is narrow, the company is quiet about its licences, and the track record of public complaints is thin but not reassuring.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Avici earns 6.1 out of 10. The card is genuinely cheap to spend with: zero transaction fees, zero foreign exchange markup from Avici, and two clean tiers (Platinum and Signature) with Apple Pay and Google Pay included. Day-to-day use is the strongest part of the package, and the self-custodial escrow design is unusual in this category. The weaknesses sit elsewhere. Funding is restricted to USDC through a single smart-contract flow, the company is not forthcoming about which bank issues the card or which licences it sits behind, and the sample of public user feedback is small and includes a serious complaint about a blocked €20,000 payment. If you live in one of the 49 supported regions, hold USDC, and value self-custody, the card is worth a close look. If you want cashback, multi-coin flexibility, or a clearly regulated European issuer, there are better-suited alternatives.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Available in 49 regions including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Japan, the UAE and the USA; 17 countries are fully closed. |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | $0 per transaction and 0% Avici FX, but the Signature tier is $30 to $75 up front and the Platinum card is $15 to $50. |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | USDC only through a Loan Escrow smart contract; no other coins on the official flow. |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Avici Inc. in San Francisco with Third National named in the docs; Trustpilot 3.5 from only 5 reviews, one about a €20,000 blocked payment. |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Virtual and physical Visa, Apple Pay, Google Pay, and a cheaper ATM fee on Signature than on Platinum. |
| Total | 6.1 / 10 | A solid spending experience held back by narrow funding, light disclosure, and a thin complaint record. |
Who they will give the card to
Avici accepts residents of 49 listed regions. Among the names you would expect are Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Colombia, Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Singapore, Thailand, the United Arab Emirates, South Africa and the United States, with US issuance subject to a supported-states list. You will not find EU countries, Georgia, Serbia, Armenia or Kazakhstan on the list. Seventeen countries are barred entirely: Belarus, Mainland China, Cuba, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. A separate, shorter list of countries is also off-limits for spending even if you are a resident elsewhere: Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela.
A few things to weigh before you apply:
- The Avici rules screen both residence and country of spending, so a holiday or business trip to one of the six spending-prohibited countries can put your card out of service for the duration.
- The card’s public pages do not state a minimum age, an excluded US-states list, or what happens to dual citizens, so the safest assumption is that the standard rules for Visa debit products in your state of residence apply, and that Avici can refuse to elaborate at the point of application.
- If your country is on the prohibited list, applying is not a workaround: the system blocks sign-up before you reach KYC, and later changes of address are typically checked against the same list.
How to get it
The official marketing line is that the card is ready in 2 minutes through the app. In practice the flow is email sign-up followed by a single Sumsub verification step: personal details, ID documents and a liveness check, with the company saying it usually takes “no more than a few minutes”. The KYC data is shared with Avici’s card partners, and Sumsub runs ongoing anti-money-laundering monitoring of both users and on-chain funds. Avici has separate verification for business accounts.
The card itself is a Visa, marketed in “secured credit-card” wording and issued in a virtual form by default. You can create virtual cards by category (subscriptions, groceries, travel) and order a physical card to be delivered. The card’s native currency is not stated on the public pages, and the marketing line of “no foreign exchange fee” is paired with a 0% Avici forex markup on the company side (see the costs section for what this does and does not include).
Delivery options for the physical card, as published, are:
- Standard untracked shipping, free, 3 to 4 weeks.
- Priority tracked international, $50, 1 to 2 weeks.
- Priority tracked in the US, $15, timing not stated.
The card’s public pages do not state which countries it ships to, what a replacement card costs, or what documents you would need if the KYC check is rejected. Sumsub verification is required, but proof of address is not mentioned, so you should not assume a utility bill is part of the flow.
Fees: what it really costs
Avici markets the card as having “no hidden fee”, “no gas fee” and “no interchange fee”, and the published per-transaction fee is $0. The detail is in the tier pricing and in what Avici does not call a fee.

The everyday cost is genuinely low. Avici charges $0 per transaction and 0% in its own foreign-exchange markup, with no top-up fee, no fee for withdrawing back to a wallet, and no “low authentication” fee. What is missing from the company side is added back by Visa on non-USD transactions in the form of a 0.4% to 1% cross-border fee, and by the upfront card price on the Signature tier.
| Fee or limit | Platinum | Signature |
|---|---|---|
| First virtual card | $15 | $30 (first year) |
| Each later virtual card | $10 one-time | — |
| Physical card | $50 one-time | $75 one-time |
| Annual fee from year 2 | — | $20 |
| Per-transaction fee | $0 | $0 |
| Foreign exchange markup (Avici) | 0% | 0% |
| Visa cross-border fee on non-USD | 0.4%–1% | 0.4%–1% |
| ATM withdrawal | $1 + 0.65% | $0 |
| Declined transaction | $0.60 | $0 |
| Balance inquiry | $0.60 | $0 |
| Per-transaction spend limit | $1,000 | $1,000 |
| Daily spend limit | $3,000 | $3,000 |
| Transactions per day | 3 | 3 |
To make the costs feel real rather than abstract, three everyday situations are worth walking through:
- A $40 lunch in a non-USD country paid by Apple Pay on Platinum. Avici adds $0; Visa may add 0.4% to 1% for the cross-border leg, so the bill is $40 plus roughly 16 to 40 cents. On Signature the same maths applies, but you save nothing on this transaction because there is no ATM leg.
- A $200 cash withdrawal from an ATM on Platinum. Avici’s fee is $1 plus 0.65% (about $1.30), so you pay around $2.30 on top of any local ATM surcharge. On Signature the Avici fee is $0, but local surcharges and the 0.4% to 1% Visa cross-border fee on a non-USD withdrawal still apply.
- The three-transactions-per-day cap in action. If you tap the card three times in a shop before noon on Platinum, the fourth tap is declined and a $0.60 declined-transaction fee is charged. Signature has no declined-transaction fee, which is the practical reason to choose it for heavy daily use.
The card’s “no transaction limits” marketing line does not match the published per-card limits. Avici explains the gap by saying the default has no over-card limit and that per-card limits are user-settable, so the numbers above are the ceiling unless you raise them. The official page does not say how to raise them, and one unofficial third-party summary puts the daily ATM limit much lower at $250, which would contradict the official numbers; treat the lower number as unconfirmed.
Top up
Top-up works in a single official way: you deposit USDC into Avici’s Loan Escrow smart contract, and that creates a USD-denominated credit balance on the card. Spent USDC is liquidated from the contract every one to two days, and in some cases weekly, so the balance catches up after a burst of spending rather than instantly. There is no minimum top-up published, no top-up fee and no fee for withdrawing remaining funds back to your own wallet. The card’s docs do not list a fiat top-up option, so the only way in is the on-chain USDC route.

The official flow is USDC only, which is a meaningful constraint if you hold BTC, ETH or other tokens. Unofficial third-party sources describe an auto-swap path through a service called Relay on EVM L2 networks and on Solana, where you send any supported token and it is swapped into USDC before reaching the escrow. That is convenient if it works, but it is not on Avici’s public docs, and you would be relying on a third-party route for a flow Avici’s support may not help with if something goes wrong.
Things worth checking before you fund the card:
- The network. Avici’s published flow does not list supported networks for USDC deposits; the standard practice in the category is to publish a network list and a destination address per chain, and Avici has not. If you send USDC on the wrong network, on-chain transfers are irreversible and recovery is up to support.
- The wallet. The escrow is self-custodial, which means your wallet owns the contract and you can withdraw remaining funds after spends are deducted. That is the right design for a self-custody product, but it also means losing your wallet’s seed phrase means losing the funds the card is supposed to spend.
- The settlement lag. Because spent USDC is liquidated every one to two days, a burst of spending can leave the visible balance ahead of the actual settled balance, and reversing a transaction by reloading the wallet can take a cycle to clear.
Paying with it every day
For everyday spending, the card is straightforward. You get a virtual card on sign-up, a physical card on request, and both work with Apple Pay and Google Pay for tap-to-pay. The docs describe self-custody with passkeys and account abstraction, which is the language used for smart-account wallets that can recover access through mechanisms other than a seed phrase.
Reward-style perks are listed on the marketing pages: airline miles, rental car insurance, travel and restaurant perks, trip protection, and a mention of “Avenue to TradeFI rewards”. Avici does not publish a cashback rate, and the perks are closer to standard Visa tier benefits than to a crypto-style rebate. The home page links to “Download App” via a shortlink, but neither platform availability nor App Store and Google Play ratings are given on the public pages.
In practice, two everyday limits shape the experience:
- The three-transactions-per-day cap. Most people do not notice it; heavy users notice it immediately. It is a soft cap, because the per-card limits are adjustable in settings, but the default is set to three.
- The category list. Unofficial third-party summaries name gambling, illegal drugs and financial institutions as blocked categories, with financial institutions sometimes requiring additional approval. Avici’s own pages do not publish a category block list, so the safe approach is to assume anything regulated or age-restricted is likely to be declined.
The card’s public pages do not describe the dispute and chargeback process beyond a single note that if you pay for the card but do not finish verification, you can ask in-app support for a refund. That is not a chargeback policy, and it leaves the practical question of “what happens if a merchant charges me for goods I never receive” unanswered.
What can go wrong
The first thing to know is the company. Avici Inc. is listed at 300 4th St, San Francisco, CA 94107. The card’s public pages name a partner called “Third National” in the loan contract structure, and one unofficial source names Rain as the issuing partner. Avici does not publish the bank licence, BIN sponsor, or the regulatory licences under which it issues cards. In a category where the issuer and the licence are normally front and centre on the marketing site, that silence is itself a fact to weigh.
The second thing to know is the complaint record. Avici’s own pages do not publish a list of past incidents. Trustpilot shows 3.5 out of 5 from 5 reviews as of October 2026, which is a very small sample. The two reviews that matter are:
- A 31 March 2026 review from a business-account user describing a €20,000 incoming payment that was credited and then blocked, with the account restricted, support silent, and no refund issued at the time of writing.
- A January 2026 review describing repeated login errors at the email and authenticator verification stage.
Both are unverified, and a five-review sample is too small to draw a statistical line through. The combination of a high-value blocked-payment story and a published support channel limited to in-app chat, however, is the kind of combination you would want to test before you keep a serious balance on the card.
The third thing to know is the security model. The escrow contract is self-custodial: Avici, Third National and Visa do not control the loan contract, and your wallet can withdraw the funds that have not been spent. The in-app controls include a temporary freeze, a permanent cancel, per-card spending limits, a PIN, and the ability to show or hide card details. Two-factor authentication and passkeys are mentioned on the home page but the security page itself does not detail them, and there is no mention of insurance. Support channels, languages and hours are not stated on the public docs.
A summary of the risks in plain terms:
- Company opacity. Avici does not publish which bank issues the card, which licence it holds, or who the BIN sponsor is. The official docs only name “Third National” in passing.
- Thin support. The only published support channel is in-app chat, and there is no public phone line, email or status page.
- Narrow funding. USDC only, with no fiat top-up path and no official list of supported networks.
- Settlement risk. Spent USDC is liquidated every one to two days, so balance and settled balance can diverge after a burst of spending.
- Public complaints. A small but serious sample that includes a €20,000 blocked-payment case, with no published dispute process beyond the verification-refund note.
- Programme risk. The 2018 WaveCrest suspension and the 2022 FTX card shutdown show that even with a Visa network in place, a programme can be wound down quickly. Avici gives no public commitment to a transition period or a balance-return plan.
What to take instead
If the Avici profile does not quite fit, three alternatives are worth weighing. Each is described according to the provider’s own public information; check their live pages before you commit.
- MetaMask Card (7.1 / 10). A Mastercard from issuer Monovate, with a free virtual card and a $199-per-year Metal tier. Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries, including several EU member states, with proof of residency required and US/UK sign-ups temporarily closed at the time of writing. Cashback is paid in the mUSD stablecoin: 1% on the Virtual tier, headline 3% on Metal but limited to the first $10,000 spent and 1% thereafter. The card spends directly from the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, with mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC and USDT among the listed tokens.
- KAST (6.1 / 10). A Visa with three tiers (Standard, Premium at $1,000 per year, and Private at $10,000 per year) and up to 10 cards per user. Funding is from stablecoins (USDT, USDC, PYUSD and RLUSD) on Ethereum, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum and TRON, with each purchase deducted straight from your balance rather than from a credit line. Cashback in USD is 1.5% on the Standard tier (first $2,000 per month), 2% on Premium (first $10,000) and 3% on Private (first $40,000), with extra KAST Points on the higher tiers.
- Zeal (6.1 / 10). A Visa that lives inside the Gnosis Pay ecosystem, with a virtual card addable to Apple Pay, balances in EUR, USD and GBP stablecoin accounts, and cashback paid in GNO on Gnosis Chain (up to 4%, rates changeable). Zeal itself does not publish a fee schedule and the card programme is live in a smaller set of countries (EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, Philippines, Indonesia and Thailand, with Zeal updates also naming Mexico, Colombia and Bolivia).
The trade-off that runs through all three is the same one Avici raises: cashback and multi-coin flexibility tend to come with a more conventional custodial wallet model, while Avici’s self-custody story is closer to the ethos of holding your own keys.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Avici card to a specific kind of reader. If you live in one of the 49 supported regions, hold USDC as your main spending token, and prefer to keep the keys in your own wallet, Avici’s self-custodial escrow and zero per-transaction fee are a clean fit. If you are in Latin America or the UAE, where the supported list runs thick, the card is a particularly natural option. The Signature tier is the right pick for heavy daily use, because the $0 ATM fee and the $0 declined-transaction fee remove the two everyday friction points of the Platinum tier.
I would not recommend it if you want cashback, if you want to spend BTC or ETH without going through an unofficial auto-swap, if you want a published issuer and a published licence, or if you intend to keep a high balance on the card. The combination of a €20,000 blocked-payment story and an in-app-only support channel is a reason to test the card with a small balance first, no matter which tier you pick.
For the broader picture, a few things are worth keeping in mind as you compare Avici with the alternatives:
- Crypto cards are payment products, and the payment side is the part Avici does well. The card network routes the payment, the issuer holds the programme, and the crypto brand is most often a programme manager on top. When the marketing is thin on the issuer, that is information, not an oversight.
- Self-custody cuts both ways. With Avici the escrow is in your wallet’s name, which is the right design if you want to hold your own keys, but it also means a lost seed phrase is a lost card balance, and an irreversible on-chain transfer to the wrong address is unrecoverable.
- USDC is the only on-ramp on the official flow. USDC is a well-backed US-dollar stablecoin with monthly reserve attestations, but stablecoins can depeg, and the support networks for USDC are not the same as the support networks for USDT. If you normally hold USDT, the Relay-based third-party route adds a layer that Avici’s support is unlikely to help with.
- Sanctions and category screening are policy, not law. Avici’s prohibited countries and its (unofficial) blocked-category list are choices Avici has made on top of its legal obligations, and the same applies to its spending-prohibited list. The card you take with you on a trip to one of the spending-prohibited countries simply will not work.
In short: a 6.1 is a card that is honest about its strengths and quiet about its weak spots. If your situation matches the strengths, it is worth a serious look. If it does not, the alternatives above are better matched.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Avici card?
The Avici card is a Visa debit-style card whose balance is created by depositing USDC into a self-custodial smart contract called the Loan Escrow. It comes as a virtual card on sign-up and as a physical card on request, and it works with Apple Pay and Google Pay.
How does the Avici card work?
You sign up, pass a Sumsub identity check, deposit USDC into the Loan Escrow contract from your own wallet, and the deposit is shown as a USD credit balance on the card. When you spend, the merchant is paid in fiat, and the spent USDC is liquidated from the escrow every one to two days.
Is Avici a bank?
Avici is not described as a bank on its public pages. Avici Inc. is a San Francisco company, the docs name a partner called “Third National” in the loan contract structure, and one unofficial source names Rain as the issuing partner. Avici does not publish a banking or e-money licence.
Who owns Avici?
Avici Inc. is the company behind the card, with a San Francisco address at 300 4th St, CA 94107. The ownership of Avici Inc. is not described on the public pages.
Is the Avici card available in my country?
The card is open to residents of 49 listed regions, which include Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Japan, the UAE and the USA, but no EU countries, Georgia, Serbia, Armenia or Kazakhstan. Seventeen countries are barred entirely, and another six are off-limits for spending even if you are a resident elsewhere.
How do I apply for the Avici card?
You sign up with an email, pass a single Sumsub verification step (personal details, ID documents and a liveness check), and the marketing line is that the card is ready in 2 minutes. Business accounts have a separate verification.
Does the Avici card require KYC?
Yes. Sumsub is the verification provider, and Avici shares KYC data with its card partners. Proof of address is not mentioned in the published flow.
How do I add the Avici card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
The card is set up to work with Apple Pay and Google Pay, so you add it from the Avici app in the same way you would add any other Visa. Avici’s public pages do not give step-by-step instructions for the wallet-side add, so the app’s prompts are the most reliable guide.
How do I top up the Avici card?
The official flow is to send USDC to the Loan Escrow contract address shown in the app. There is no fiat top-up, and the supported USDC network is not listed on the public pages, so the app’s deposit screen is the place to confirm the network before you send.
Is the Avici card safe?
The escrow is self-custodial, which means your wallet owns the contract and Avici, Third National and Visa cannot withdraw funds that are not tied to spend charges. The card’s pages do not publish a dispute process, an insurance policy, or a regulatory licence, so the safest read is that the security model is sound by design but light on the corporate disclosure that usually sits behind a Visa debit product.
Wallet cards – cryptocardbasics
Content created by the «cryptocardbasics» team
