A self-custody Visa card that spends your on-chain stablecoins, if you can get one where you live
The Avalanche Card is a Visa debit card tied to crypto collateral held in a self-custody wallet on the Avalanche blockchain. You keep control of your USDC, USDT, AVAX or WAVAX, and the card draws on a balance backed by that collateral at the moment of purchase. It is one of the few cards in this category that does not require you to hand your coins to a custodian before you can spend them.
In this review I go through who can actually get one, what it costs to run day to day, how funding works on-chain, where the product stumbles, and what the alternatives look like. The score sits at 6.9 out of 10 — solid for a self-custody model with no monthly fees, but held back by a narrow country list, a sparse official fee disclosure, and an unnamed issuing bank.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
The Avalanche Card earns 6.9 out of 10. It is a credible option for residents of supported U.S. states and Latin America who already hold USDC or USDT on the Avalanche network and want to spend that balance through a Visa without giving up custody. It is a poor fit for anyone outside its geography, anyone who needs ATM withdrawals, or anyone who wants a clear, published fee schedule.
| Criterion | Mark | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Many U.S. states, Latin America and the Caribbean are eligible; 18 countries and 16 U.S. states are excluded. One unofficial source counts 172 countries in total, but the official footprint is far smaller. |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | Virtual and physical issuance, shipping and the monthly fee are all $0; the published FX fee is 1%. Unofficial sources cite 2% to 3% depending on which disclosure you read. |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | USDC, USDT, AVAX and WAVAX as collateral on the Avalanche network; Ava Labs’ help page also lists sAVAX. Coverage beyond those four assets is not stated. |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Operates on Rain Liquidity; the issuing bank is not named. No official incidents are on record. The app scores 3.1 out of 5 on the App Store from 22 ratings, and unofficial reports mention slow support. |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Both virtual and physical Visa cards exist; Apple Wallet and Google Pay work. Unofficial sources disagree on whether ATM access is part of the product at all. |
The card’s audience, broadly, is the Latin American or U.S. resident who already keeps stablecoins on Avalanche and wants a Visa that draws on that collateral without the onboarding friction of a traditional bank.
Will They Give You the Card
Eligibility is residence-based, not citizenship-based, and the geographic footprint is the first thing to check. The card is open to legal residents of “many U.S. states, Latin America, and the Caribbean,” and the list is described as expanding. The 18 excluded countries are Belarus, Cuba, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Mainland China, Nepal, Nicaragua, Nigeria, North Korea, Russia, Sri Lanka, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. The 16 excluded U.S. states are Arizona, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Louisiana, Maryland, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia (including Washington, D.C.) and Wisconsin. You also need to be at least 18 years old.
Unofficial coverage is broader: one comparison site puts the supported count at around 172 countries as of mid-August 2026, with 18 restricted, and the same 16 U.S. states excluded. That count is not confirmed by the card’s own pages, and where the lists disagree, the official one is the one that matters when you apply.
So the practical question is whether your country of legal residence sits inside the published list. If you live in a covered Latin American or Caribbean country, or in one of the eligible U.S. states, you can apply. If you are a citizen of an excluded country but live in London or Berlin, residency still counts, because the rule is residence-based, not citizenship-based. If your country is not on the list at all, you cannot sign up.
How to Get It
The sign-up flow is a single, non-tiered KYC process. You provide your legal name, email, date of birth, an SSN or national ID number, a government-issued photo ID, a selfie and a valid phone number. Expired IDs and P.O. boxes are rejected. Most applications are decided in seconds, though the official upper bound is 72 hours. Proof of address is not stated as a requirement.
After approval you can have up to three virtual cards and one physical card on the same account, with one of each active at a time. Virtual cards are issued immediately, so you can start using them for online purchases or add them to a mobile wallet as soon as KYC clears. Physical cards are shipped free, but delivery is slow: most users report 14 to 30-plus business days, depending on location. Where the card can be shipped is the same as where you can be approved, so the country gate runs twice.
The card itself is a Visa, described on the official site as a “crypto-backed Visa card.” The card currency is not stated on the public pages.
Fees and What It Really Costs
The headline cost numbers are simple. There is no monthly account fee. There is no issuance fee for either the virtual or the physical card. Shipping is free. The published foreign-exchange fee is 1%. The official site also says Avalanche Card charges no gas fees and no conversion fees of its own; any on-chain gas you pay is paid directly to the Avalanche network, not to Rain or the card.

The detail is messier. Unofficial sources describe a more complicated picture: a 2% FX fee in one U.S. disclosure, up to 3% in an international agreement, with the 1% figure in the public FAQ. Late-payment fees of up to 2% of the outstanding balance and a $10 statement copy fee in the U.S. are also reported. These figures are not stated on the public site and contradict the 1% line; they should be treated as unofficial and unconfirmed.
ATM withdrawals are not stated at all. One unofficial source says ATM is not part of the product; another says ATM is unlimited with a $0 fee; a third says the terms are not disclosed. I would not plan around any of those.
Daily and monthly spending limits are not stated in public. Unofficial reporting says Rain may set, reduce or zero out limits at its discretion, and that under the U.S. framework up to 100% of value can be used for stablecoin collateral (USDC, USDT) and up to 50% for AVAX and WAVAX. Dollar amounts are not published.
| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Virtual card issuance | $0 |
| Physical card issuance | $0 |
| Shipping | $0 |
| Monthly account fee | $0 |
| FX fee (official) | 1% |
| FX fee (unofficial, U.S. disclosure) | 2% |
| FX fee (unofficial, international) | up to 3% |
| ATM withdrawal fee | not stated |
| Late payment (unofficial) | up to 2% of balance |
| Statement copy (unofficial, U.S.) | $10 |
| Daily / monthly spending limits | not stated |
In practice, if you spend in the same currency as your collateral and never need cash, the cost is just the on-chain Avalanche network gas for any top-up and the 1% FX line if you ever cross currencies. If you live in the U.S. and rely on the U.S. disclosure rather than the FAQ, you should expect 2% instead.
Top Up
Top-up is the part of the product that looks the most like a self-custody wallet and the least like a bank account. You add and withdraw funds inside the Avalanche Card app, and the underlying collateral stays in your own wallet rather than moving to a custodian. There is no minimum top-up stated.

The official list of accepted collateral is USDC, USDT, AVAX and WAVAX. The FAQ on the card site mentions only USDC and AVAX, which is inconsistent with the homepage. The Ava Labs help page adds sAVAX to that list, and it names the Avalanche blockchain as the only supported network. Other networks are not stated as supported. This is important: a USDC transfer on Ethereum or Polygon will not fund this card. A USDC transfer on Avalanche C-Chain will.
The “no gas or conversion fees charged by Avalanche Card” line is repeated on the funding page, but the Avalanche network still charges gas for any on-chain movement. You pay that gas in AVAX, so even a USDC-only strategy needs a small AVAX balance in the same wallet to move anything. If you are topping up from a centralised exchange, make sure the withdrawal network is Avalanche and that the receiving wallet is the one linked to your card.
A card can be locked, additional cards can be added (up to the per-account cap), and cards can be closed in the app. Withdrawal fees are not stated.
Paying With It Every Day
For online and contactless use, the setup is straightforward. A virtual card can be added to Apple Wallet or Google Pay, so tap-to-pay on a phone works in any shop that takes Visa contactless. The physical card works the same way, once it arrives. Blocked merchant categories are not stated on the public site, so I would not assume any particular category is or is not supported; if a charge declines, that is the practical answer.
The app, “Avalanche Card – Pay Anywhere” by Rain Liquidity LLC, is on the iOS App Store. It holds 3.1 out of 5 from 22 ratings as of the check date. The Google Play listing was not read. There is no cashback or rewards programme on the official site; unofficial reporting describes an “Avax Points” scheme whose earn rate is shown only inside the app, redeemable at one cent per point for travel or 0.7 cents as a statement credit. That is unofficial and not confirmed.
Chargeback and dispute terms are not stated on the public site. Unofficial reporting on the U.S. cardholder agreement caps liability for unauthorised use at $50 before the issuer is notified and zero after prompt notice, and says disputed transactions do not earn points. None of this is confirmed by the card’s own pages, so I would treat dispute rights as a question to ask the support team before relying on them.
What Can Go Wrong
Several things are worth weighing before you commit.
The issuing bank is not named. The card is powered by Rain Liquidity, which describes itself as “a financial technology company and not a bank,” and the cards are “issued by partners licensed in their respective jurisdictions.” Ava Labs’ help page clarifies that Rain is the card-issuing partner, and Rain’s own footer says its debit cards are issued by Cross River Bank (Member FDIC) with Rain Products, Inc. as programme manager, but that wording is not tied to the Avalanche Card explicitly. You are spending against a Visa from an unnamed, partner-supplied issuer; the regulatory protections that follow depend on who that partner is in your country.
There is no FDIC or equivalent deposit insurance. The Ava Labs help page is explicit: neither Avalanche, the card nor any cryptocurrency is FDIC insured. A 1% FX line or a 2% U.S. line does not help you if the underlying programme ends or the partner bank changes terms.
Customer support is light. The official contact path is the channels on the Avalanche Card website, with no published hours, languages or escalation process. Ava Labs does not support the card; Rain handles issues. Unofficial reports describe slow or generic responses on withdrawal and access problems, which is a real concern when the product’s distinguishing feature is self-custody plus a card rail.
Self-custody cuts both ways. The card’s own pages stress that users own and custody their assets and that Rain is not a custodian, which is the upside. The downside is that you carry the full key-management risk: lost seed phrase, clipboard-hijack malware that swaps an address, a phishing page that mimics the wallet. Recovery is via iCloud backup or a PIN; two-factor authentication is not mentioned on the official site.
No public incident history, but the public footprint is small. I did not find a Trustpilot or Reddit thread for the Avalanche Card specifically; third-party comparison sites disagree on ATM and FX figures, and the app’s 22-rating average is too small a sample to be meaningful either way. Programme closures in the broader category are not hypothetical: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer.
Stablecoin collateral carries its own risk. The card accepts USDT and USDC. Both have depegged in the past, and any transfer on the wrong network or to the wrong address is irreversible. Sending USDC on Tron to an Avalanche-network card is the most common variant of that mistake.
What to Take Instead
If the geography does not fit, the fees do not add up, or you simply want a different model, there are a few reasonable alternatives to compare.
MetaMask Card (7.1 / 10) is a Mastercard that spends directly from a connected self-custody wallet on Linea, Base, Monad or Solana. Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories; other regions join a waitlist. A virtual card is free, and a Metal tier costs $199 a year. There is no foreign transaction fee; the Mastercard rate is used. Cashback is paid in mUSD into a Money Account: 1% on Virtual, headline 3% on Metal but capped at the first $10,000 of spend. This is the closest analogue to the Avalanche Card in the “self-custody in, card out” model, and it is a better fit if you hold assets on Linea or Solana rather than Avalanche.
KAST (6.1 / 10) is a multi-tier Visa programme with Standard, Premium and Private. Annual membership is $0, $1,000 and $10,000 respectively, billed annually upfront. Stablecoin top-ups are 0%, card spend in USD is 0%, and FX runs 0.5% to 1.75% depending on country, transaction country and tier. Cashback is paid in USD: 1.5% on the first $2,000 a month for Standard, 2% on $10,000 for Premium, 3% on $40,000 for Private. KAST is more of a traditional membership product than a self-custody product, and is worth a look if you want a published tier ladder and predictable cashback rather than a wallet hookup.
Zeal (6.1 / 10) is a Visa with accounts in EUR, USD and GBP, live in the EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, the Philippines, Indonesia and Thailand. There is no published fee schedule on the Zeal site or in the App Store. Zeal charges no additional FX fee, conversion happens at the Visa wholesale rate, and Gnosis Pay ATM fees may still apply. Up to 4% cashback is paid in GNO on Gnosis Chain, which has to be held in the card Safe to qualify. Zeal is the alternative to look at if you are in Europe or Southeast Asia and want multicurrency accounts rather than a USDC-only model.
Each of these alternatives has its own gap. MetaMask’s headline cashback is high but capped; KAST’s top tier is expensive and billed annually; Zeal’s fee schedule is not on the page. None of them are wrong, but none of them replace the Avalanche Card’s specific “self-custody on Avalanche C-Chain” feature.
Who I Would Recommend It To
The Avalanche Card is worth applying for if you live in a covered U.S. state, Latin American country or Caribbean country; you already keep USDC, USDT, AVAX or WAVAX on the Avalanche network; you want to spend that balance through a Visa without moving it to a custodian; and you are comfortable that the FX line may be 1%, 2% or 3% depending on which document governs your account. It is also worth a look if you simply cannot get an ordinary bank card where you live, since the residency list is broader than some traditional issuers.
I would not recommend it if you need cash from ATMs, if you are in an excluded U.S. state or one of the 18 excluded countries, if you want a published fee schedule you can rely on before you spend, or if the card is your only payment method. The self-custody angle is a real benefit, but it is also a real responsibility, and the product’s thin public documentation means you will be the one working out what the rules are in practice.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the Avalanche Card?
The Avalanche Card is a Visa debit card that draws on a balance backed by crypto collateral held in a self-custody wallet on the Avalanche blockchain. It is run by Rain Liquidity in partnership with Ava Labs, and lets you spend USDC, USDT, AVAX or WAVAX at any merchant that takes Visa, without handing the coins to a custodian first.
How does the Avalanche Card work?
You complete KYC, link your own Avalanche-network wallet as collateral, and use the app to load a balance. At the moment of purchase the card converts the collateralised value into the merchant’s currency, deducts it from your available balance, and routes the payment over Visa. The crypto itself stays in your wallet until it is spent; the card is a rail on top.
Is Avalanche a bank?
No. Avalanche is a blockchain network, and the Avalanche Card is a Visa debit programme run by Rain Liquidity. Rain is “a financial technology company and not a bank,” and cards are issued by licensed partners in each jurisdiction. Neither Avalanche, the card nor any cryptocurrency is FDIC insured.
Who owns Avalanche?
Avalanche is an open-source blockchain project developed by Ava Labs. The Avalanche Card itself is a product of Rain Liquidity in partnership with Ava Labs, not a bank-owned product.
Is the Avalanche Card available in my country?
It is open in “many U.S. states, Latin America, and the Caribbean,” with the list described as expanding. The 18 excluded countries include Belarus, Cuba, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Mainland China, Nepal, Nicaragua, Nigeria, North Korea, Russia, Sri Lanka, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. The 16 excluded U.S. states include Arizona, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Louisiana, Maryland, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Vermont, Washington, D.C. and Wisconsin. Unofficial sources put the supported count higher, but the official list is the one that applies at sign-up.
How do I apply for the Avalanche Card?
You sign up through the Avalanche Card app, provide your legal name, email, date of birth, an SSN or national ID, a government photo ID, a selfie and a valid phone number, and wait for approval. Most applications are decided in seconds, with 72 hours as the upper bound. After approval you can issue up to three virtual cards and one physical card on the same account.
Does the Avalanche Card require KYC?
Yes. KYC is required, with one process and no tiers. Expired IDs and P.O. boxes are rejected. Proof of address is not listed as required.
How do I top up the Avalanche Card?
You add funds in the app, and the app pulls collateral from a wallet on the Avalanche blockchain. The accepted collateral is USDC, USDT, AVAX and WAVAX; the Ava Labs help page also lists sAVAX. Make sure any transfer uses the Avalanche network; sending USDC on Ethereum, Polygon or Tron will not credit the card, and the transaction is irreversible.
Is the Avalanche Card free?
Issuance of the virtual and physical card is free, shipping is free, and the monthly account fee is $0. The published foreign-exchange fee is 1%. Unofficial sources cite higher figures of 2% or 3% in the U.S. and international agreements. There is no cashback or rewards programme on the official site.
Is the Avalanche Card safe to use?
The card is a Visa, and tokenised mobile-wallet support reduces the risk of card-data theft. The underlying collateral sits in your own wallet rather than with a custodian, which removes some counterparty risk but puts the full weight of key management on you. The issuing bank is not named, the product is not FDIC insured, and unofficial reports describe slow support. Treat dispute rights as unconfirmed until you have asked the support team directly.
Wallet cards – cryptocardbasics
Content created by the «cryptocardbasics» team
