A crypto card that keeps your keys on your device, priced like a premium product

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Oppi is a payment card that spends from a crypto balance you control yourself. The wallet holds the private keys on your phone, the card is a virtual Mastercard (or optional physical card) that draws on that balance, and the same keys that guard your coins also sit behind every payment. That is the central idea, and the reason people look at Oppi when a normal bank card has been hard to get. The catch is that what looks free on the marketing page carries a real $10 activation charge and a $100 physical card fee, which is more than most self-custody alternatives. In this Oppi card review I go through who the card is for, what it actually costs day to day, how topping up works in practice, and where I think it lands against MetaMask Card, KAST and Zeal.

Oppi works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Oppi scores 7.2 out of 10. The figure comes from the card’s own published facts and the public user signals available at the time of writing, weighted across five areas: who can get one, cost, top-up options, reliability and complaints, and everyday use.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Oppi payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Criterion Score Why it scored that way
Who can get it 9/10 Stated in 210+ countries; the card checks eligibility at sign-up, so the on-paper list is wider than the on-the-day reality.
Cost 4/10 Virtual activation is $10 with $5 credited back, the physical card is $100 including shipping, and non-USD payments carry a 2%–2.5% FX charge. There is no monthly fee, but the entry price is high for what is essentially a prepaid product.
Top-up options 9/10 Nine coins across five chains (Bitcoin, BCH, BNB, Ethereum, Litecoin, Solana, Tron, USDT and USDC on Ethereum, BSC, Polygon, TRON and Solana). Real-time conversion at top-up.
Reliability and complaints 6/10 Self-custody means you hold the keys, so the card itself cannot run off with your balance. The card-issuing bank is not named anywhere on the public page, and there is essentially no public user feedback yet beyond 50 App Store ratings averaging 4.6.
Everyday use 9/10 Virtual Mastercard by default, optional physical, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and in-app support tickets. The product feels complete for daily spending.
Total 7.2/10

Who suits the Oppi card: anyone who already lives in a self-custody wallet and wants a payment card linked to the same balance, especially if a traditional bank account has been closed, restricted or never offered. The card is also useful where a virtual-only product is fine, since the physical card is optional.

Who it does not suit: people who do not already hold crypto will pay an activation fee for an empty experience, travellers who spend mainly in non-USD currencies will feel the 2%–2.5% FX charge on every coffee, and anyone uncomfortable holding their own seed phrase should look at a custodial card instead.

Will they give you the card

Oppi states availability in 210+ countries, with the same page noting that “availability varies, regulatory limits apply”. In practice this means the front of the marketing says almost everywhere, but the eligibility check that runs when you sign up is what decides your country on the day. The card’s public page mentions a restricted-country list, though the full details are not publicly viewable. Unofficial sources, such as crypto-card tracking sites, list 221 countries as available and name Cuba, Iran, North Korea and Syria as excluded, with AML policies often barring regions like Crimea, Donetsk and Luhansk as well. These exclusions are common in regulated card programmes and provide useful context for expected availability.

What that means for you is straightforward: if your country is not under a sanctions regime, you will most likely pass the eligibility screen, but you will only know for sure when you create the wallet and start KYC. The same source flags that the “210+” number describes Mastercard acceptance, which is much wider than any individual card programme, so do not read the marketing line as a guarantee that your local issuer bank will hand you a card.

How to get it

The wallet itself works without KYC; you can install the app, write down your seed phrase and receive crypto straight away. The card layer is gated behind identity verification, and the public page states the KYC step takes about 2 minutes and asks for a government ID plus a selfie. Proof of address and a minimum age are not stated on the card page. Unofficial reporting (again, not from Oppi) says proof of address is required under the AML policy, and that high-volume use above $10,000 daily or $100,000 monthly triggers proof of funds, a source-of-wealth questionnaire and a video call. I cannot confirm those thresholds, so plan for the basic KYC to be the only friction at low volumes and treat the higher tiers as unconfirmed until you hit them.

The product is a virtual Mastercard by default. The same page’s comparison table lists the physical version as Visa, and the App Store description says the physical card is also Visa, which is a small inconsistency worth flagging. Multiple virtual cards can sit on one balance, so you can issue a fresh card number for a specific subscription or merchant without changing your main card. The physical card is optional and costs $100 including shipping; the delivery time, the countries it ships to and the replacement cost are not stated. The card balance is denominated in USD, which is why every non-USD payment is converted and the FX charge is the part to watch.

The wallet is on iPhone (iOS 15.6 and up, also listed for Apple M-series Mac and Apple Vision), English only, with a 4.6 out of 5 average across 50 App Store ratings as of the date on this page.

What it really costs

The headline numbers and the everyday numbers tell different stories, so it is worth seeing both side by side.

Fee or limit What Oppi publishes
Virtual activation $10 one-time, with $5 credited back to the card balance
Physical card $100 including shipping
Monthly fee None
Annual fee None
Non-USD purchase FX charge 2%–2.5%
Crypto top-up conversion Real-time rate, “low” swap fees (amount not stated)
ATM withdrawal Supported, fee and allowance not stated
Daily limit Not stated on the card page
Monthly limit Not stated on the card page

A few things on that table are worth reading carefully. The virtual activation is a $10 fee with $5 returned, so the net cost to start using a virtual card is $5; the comparison table on the card page describes that as “$5 issuance”, which is the net figure rather than the gross charge. The physical card is $100 including shipping, and there is no monthly or annual subscription, so the cost is paid up front when you decide you want plastic. Non-USD purchases carry a 2%–2.5% FX charge on top of the Mastercard wholesale rate, and that is the number that tends to surprise people on a first statement. Crypto top-up converts at the real-time rate with “low” swap fees; the swap fee is not quantified, so factor in a small extra percentage if you top up with anything other than USDT or USDC. The App Store listing for the same product claims travel bookings have “no currency exchange fees”, which is in tension with the 2%–2.5% on the main page; I would budget for the FX charge on travel spending until Oppi clarifies the difference. Unofficial pages suggest Google Play and a February comparison table describe the virtual card as free and the physical card as $10, which contradicts the $10/$5 and $100 figures above; I have stuck with the figures on the card’s own page.

To make this concrete, three everyday payments:

Coffee in a non-USD currency, say €4.50. Mastercard converts euros to dollars at the wholesale rate, then Oppi charges 2%–2.5% on top, so you lose roughly $0.10–$0.12 of the $5 you started with. That is in line with most travel cards, and a non-issue for occasional spending; it is a real issue if your salary is in euros or pounds and you pay it all through Oppi.

Online subscription in USD, say $9.99. No FX charge applies because the merchant is billed in dollars. If you top up with USDT on TRON, the on-chain fee on TRON is a fraction of a cent and the swap fee is described as “low”, so the running cost is essentially the spread on the conversion at top-up.

ATM withdrawal in local currency. The card page confirms ATM withdrawals are supported worldwide, but does not publish a fee or an allowance. Plan to discover both on your first withdrawal statement, not in the marketing page.

Top up

Oppi accepts BTC, BCH, BNB, ETH, LTC, SOL, USDT, TRX and USDC, on Ethereum, BSC, Polygon, TRON and Solana. The App Store description widens the list to 40+ assets, which is a different number and worth keeping in mind if a coin matters to you. Funding the card means sending crypto to your Oppi wallet address on one of those networks; the wallet then converts the deposit at the real-time rate when you top up the card balance, and the virtual and physical cards share that single balance. Fiat top-up, minimum top-up amount and the precise swap fee are not stated on the card page. Unofficial guides put card loading at 1%–2% on top of the network fee, but the figure is not itemized by Oppi itself.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Oppi starts with a transfer to the right network

What that means for you: pick the network that matches the coin and the fee you want to pay, and send to the address the app shows you for that network. Sending USDT on TRON is the cheapest on-chain option, because TRON fees are paid in bandwidth and energy and only burn TRX in small amounts, but a USDC transfer on TRON is not natively supported after Circle stopped supporting USDC on TRON in February 2024, so do not route USDC over TRC-20 thinking it is a free option. Sending the right coin on the right network is also irreversible, and a deposit sent on a network the card does not support, or to an address of another network, can be lost or stuck in manual recovery. If you only hold Ethereum-based tokens, factor in paying gas in ETH (ERC-20 transfers need ETH for gas), which is a reason to keep a small ETH balance alongside your USDT.

Paying with it every day

Day to day, the Oppi card behaves like a prepaid Mastercard. You spend what is in the balance; the card cannot overdraw. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, so the card can be added to a phone wallet and used at contactless terminals. The card is also usable online wherever Mastercard is accepted, and 3-D Secure applies for online authentication, which means a one-time code or biometric confirmation on higher-risk checkouts. Eligible card spending earns Oppi Points that are redeemable for top-ups; the earn rate and any caps are not stated, so treat points as a small upside rather than a meaningful rebate.

What the page does not say is also worth knowing. Blocked merchant categories (gambling is the common one for crypto-linked cards) are not stated. The blocked-MCC policy on the card itself is not published, so the safest assumption is that gambling and similar MCCs will be declined at the terminal. Card freeze, spending controls and any insurance on the balance are not stated, and chargeback rights are not described in the help center answers I could read. Address Verification Service, which is mainly a US, Canada and UK tool, may not work with a foreign-issued BIN, which can cause online declines in those countries even when the card is in good standing. If you travel, that is the failure mode to expect rather than a reason to call support: the merchant’s fraud system is the one rejecting the BIN, not Oppi.

What can go wrong

The risk picture for Oppi is unusual because the wallet is self-custody. Your private keys sit on your device, and the card’s published security claim is that “Oppi does not hold your funds at any point”. That means the platform itself cannot lose your balance the way a custodial exchange can, but it also means a stolen seed phrase is unrecoverable, and a clipboard-hijacker that swaps your pasted address is a real risk on every top-up. If you are not comfortable owning that, this is not the card to choose.

A second risk is opacity. The card-issuing bank or BIN sponsor is not named on the public page, the licence number and jurisdiction are not stated, and the company behind the app is Encoin Limited, trading as Oppiwallet, with a “VASP-certified” claim on the site. The card is functional, but the regulatory chain is harder to verify than for cards whose issuer is published in plain text. Programme suspensions do happen in this category: WaveCrest was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, FTX had its global Visa agreements terminated in November 2022, and the pattern is that a programme stops spending, then asks users to withdraw remaining balances within a notice window. If Oppi’s issuer relationship changes, the same sequence could apply to you, so do not park a balance larger than you can move quickly.

A third risk is the user-signal gap. There is very little public feedback on Oppi, with the App Store’s 4.6 out of 5 across 50 ratings being the main source of user signals. Some reports mention a single anecdotal review of a physical card delivery issue, which serves as a reminder to monitor delivery status for the $100 physical card. The help center lists FAQ questions without answers in the public read, and support is reachable by email and through in-app support tickets, but hours and response times are not stated.

Finally, sanctions and KYC. Oppi applies KYC at the card layer and reserves the right to ask for more documents at higher volumes. Nationality is screened alongside residence, and dual citizens with an ID from a restricted region may be refused regardless of where they live. There is no way around an identity check, and any instruction in this review to bypass one would be both bad advice and outside what I am willing to say here.

What to take instead

If the Oppi card’s price or FX charge puts you off, three self-custody or near-self-custody alternatives are worth a closer look.

Card Score Cost FX Top-up Rewards
Oppi 7.2/10 Virtual $10 (with $5 back), physical $100, no monthly 2%–2.5% on non-USD 9 coins, 5 chains, real-time conversion Oppi Points (rate not stated)
MetaMask Card 7.1/10 Virtual free; Metal $199/year No MetaMask fee; Mastercard rate Spends directly from wallet (Linea, Base, Monad, Solana) 1% Virtual; 3% Metal on first $10,000 then 1%, paid in mUSD
KAST 6.1/10 Standard $0/year; Premium $1,000/year; Private $10,000/year 0.5%–1.75% non-USD USDT, USDC, PYUSD, RLUSD on Ethereum, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum, TRON 1.5%–3% USD cashback by tier, plus KAST Points on Premium and Private
Zeal 6.1/10 Fee schedule not published No additional FX fee; Visa wholesale rate Balances in EUR/USD/GBP stablecoin accounts on Gnosis Chain, Celo Up to 4% in GNO; up to 5% variable APY on balances

MetaMask Card is the closest in spirit to Oppi because it spends directly from a self-custody wallet on Linea, Base, Monad or Solana. The virtual card is free, the Metal card is $199 a year, and the headline 3% cashback drops to 1% above $10,000 of monthly spend. Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries with proof of residency, the rest join a waitlist, and US/UK sign-ups have been temporarily closed per the FAQ. If the lower entry price and direct-wallet spending matter more than Oppi’s wider country list, MetaMask Card is the natural first alternative.

KAST is a different category: a custodial stablecoin account that issues Visa cards in three tiers. Standard is free with a $0 standard virtual card plus $40 delivery for the physical, Premium is $1,000 a year and Private is $10,000 a year. The non-USD FX charge runs 0.5%–1.75% depending on residence, transaction country and card programme, which is below Oppi’s 2%–2.5% in most cases. Rewards are the most generous of the four cards at the higher tiers, but the cost of the Premium and Private annual fees is the part to weigh against that cashback.

Zeal sits between the two: a Visa card that spends from EUR, USD or GBP stablecoin balances in the card Safe, with no extra FX fee on top of Visa’s wholesale rate. Cashback is paid in GNO on Gnosis Chain, and the rate is variable. The fee schedule is not published on zeal.app or in the App Store, so I cannot tell you what the all-in cost is, and the live card programme is in the EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, the Philippines, Indonesia and Thailand.

Who I would recommend it to

I would point someone at Oppi if they already run a self-custody wallet, want a card linked to the same balance without a custodial exchange in the middle, and spend mostly in USD. The activation fee is bearable if you only ever need a virtual card, and the broader coin and chain list is a real plus for anyone holding ETH, SOL, BNB, BCH, LTC, TRX or the two big stablecoins.

I would steer them away if they are spending in a non-USD currency on a regular basis, because the 2%–2.5% FX charge compounds fast and the App Store’s claim of no FX on travel bookings is not the same number as the card page. I would also steer them away if the $100 physical card is the main reason they want Oppi: at that price, MetaMask’s Metal tier or KAST’s Premium tier are competitive on cashback once you use the card enough. And if self-custody is more responsibility than you want, KAST is the custodial alternative with the clearer fee structure.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Oppi card?

The Oppi card is a payment card that spends from a crypto balance held in the Oppi self-custody wallet. It is a virtual Mastercard by default, with an optional physical card, and the same private keys that secure your coins also sit behind every payment you make.

How does the Oppi card work?

You install the Oppi wallet, hold your own seed phrase, send crypto in, convert it to a USD balance at the real-time rate, and spend the balance with the card. Top-ups convert at the live rate when they arrive, and the virtual and physical cards draw on the same single balance.

Is Oppi a bank?

No. Oppi is a self-custody wallet operated by Encoin Limited, which describes itself as VASP-certified, and the card layer sits on top of a payment card programme whose issuing bank is not named on the public page. The wallet holds your keys; the card issuer handles the network side.

How do I get the Oppi card?

Install the Oppi wallet, create a new wallet or import an existing seed phrase, complete KYC with a government ID and a selfie, and the virtual card is available in the app. The physical card is a separate $100 order including shipping.

Does the Oppi card require KYC?

Yes, for the card layer. The wallet itself works without KYC and can receive crypto straight away, but enabling the card requires identity verification. Proof of address and minimum age are not stated on the card page; unofficial reporting says proof of address is required under the AML policy.

How do I top up the Oppi card?

Send BTC, BCH, BNB, ETH, LTC, SOL, USDT, TRX or USDC to your Oppi wallet address on Ethereum, BSC, Polygon, TRON or Solana. The wallet converts the deposit at the real-time rate when you top up the card balance. Fiat top-up and minimums are not stated.

Is the Oppi card free?

Not exactly. The virtual card has a $10 activation fee with $5 credited back, the physical card is $100 including shipping, and there is no monthly or annual fee. Non-USD payments carry a 2%–2.5% FX charge on top of Mastercard’s wholesale rate.

Is the Oppi card safe?

The wallet is self-custody, so Oppi does not hold your funds, which removes custodial counterparty risk. The trade-off is that you bear full responsibility for your seed phrase, your device security and any clipboard or address-swap attacks on the way in. The card issuer is not named, which makes the regulatory chain harder to verify.

Where can I use the Oppi card?

Anywhere Mastercard is accepted: online, in store, in Apple Pay and Google Pay, and at ATMs worldwide. Non-USD transactions are converted by Mastercard and carry the 2%–2.5% Oppi FX charge on top.

How do I add the Oppi card to Apple Wallet?

Open the Oppi app, complete KYC, generate or select your virtual card, and choose Add to Apple Wallet. The card number is tokenised and stored on the device rather than on Apple’s servers, and each contactless payment uses a one-time dynamic security code.

Content created by the «cryptocardbasics» team