A dollar card with XPL cashback and an unresolved question about physical delivery
The Plasma One is a Visa card that spends from a balance you feed with dollars or stablecoins, with cashback paid in the XPL token and three tiers that differ mostly in how much crypto you lock up to reach them. I came to it as someone who wants a card that behaves like an ordinary payment card without depending on a bank’s willingness to open an account. That is exactly the promise it makes, and in large part it keeps it. The fee story is unusually clean: the card itself is free at the Lite tier, the company says it charges no additional fees, and cross-border is listed at zero. What holds it back from a higher score is not the pricing — it is the parts of the practical picture that the public pages simply do not describe: how the physical card reaches you, what the identity check actually demands, what you may spend per day, and what an ATM withdrawal costs.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Residence decides everything, and the restricted list in the Terms covers Belarus, India, Israel, China, Russia, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam and more, plus Cuba, Iran, North Korea — the list is not exhaustive |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | Lite costs 0 dollars with the card and the company says it “does not charge any additional fees”; FX outside USD is up to 1%, cross-border 0%, but Core and Platinum are paid tiers or require locking XPL |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | Local currency converted to dollars, and per unofficial sources USDT, USDC and USDG on listed networks with fiat accounts in USD, EUR, GBP, MXN, BRL, COP; withdrawal to a bank or a wallet |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | The issuer is Rain, a Visa member, services run through Bridge, and Plasma is not a bank; collateral on the card can be liquidated after non-payment; Trustpilot sits at 3.4–3.5 from two reviews, one complaining that terms changed |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Virtual and physical Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay; unofficial sources say the physical card is Platinum-only and say nothing about ATMs |
Conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
So: 7.1 out of 10. If you hold dollars, want a dollar-denominated card with cashback in a token rather than in points you cannot spend anywhere, and you are comfortable locking crypto to reach the better tiers, this is a card worth understanding. If you need a physical card in the post next week, need a published ATM fee, or live somewhere the Terms restrict, the picture is less complete than you would want.
Will they give you the card
Yes, probably, if you live in a supported country and can complete identity verification — but where you live is the whole test, and the list of places you cannot is longer than the marketing suggests.
The card’s own pages do something that many crypto cards do not: they name the restricted jurisdictions. The Terms of Service Appendix I covers Afghanistan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, the Central African Republic, China (Mainland), DR Congo, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, India, Iraq, Israel, Libya, Mali, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine (outside the Crimea/Donetsk/Luhansk/Kherson/Zaporizhzhia carve-out), Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen and Zimbabwe, plus Cuba, Iran and North Korea. The Terms describe people “located in or ordinarily resident in” those places, and they say plainly that the list is not exhaustive. The International Card Terms go further in one specific way: they ask you to attest that you are not a US citizen.
That last point deserves a moment of attention, because it is unusual. Most cards screen you on where you live; this one also asks about citizenship, and that question can catch a person who lives in a supported country but holds a passport from a restricted one. If that describes you, expect a harder time than the country list alone suggests.
The second structural fact is that account services are split by residence. US residents, EEA residents and all other residents are served by different Bridge entities. What that means in practice is not something the pages explain, but it does tell you the card is not a single global product with one set of rules.
The complete country list of who *can* get the card is not stated on the public pages. Instead there is a general statement — “Geographic, regulatory, and other eligibility limits apply, and are subject to change” — and the restricted list above. Third-party sites disagree with each other and with the Terms, and they disagree with themselves: one says available in 188 countries and restricted in 7; another lists only the United States; another says 150+ countries excluding the US. Some say it is invite-only. None of that is confirmed by the card. Where the unofficial sources and the official Terms conflict, follow the Terms: they list Russia, Belarus and Turkey as restricted, which directly contradicts several of the third-party claims.
| What varies | What the card’s own pages say | What unofficial sources add |
|---|---|---|
| Who may apply | Residence-based, with the restricted list in Appendix I; not a US citizen per the International Card Terms | 188 countries / 150+ / US only — the sources conflict; invite-only is mentioned |
| Restricted places | The Appendix I list plus Cuba, Iran, North Korea; not exhaustive | Belarus, China, India, Turkey, Vietnam, Nigeria “may qualify with proof of residence elsewhere” — not confirmed by the card |
| Which entity serves you | Different Bridge entities for US, EEA and other residents | 31 US states are mentioned by one source only |
So if you are outside the US and EEA, the practical test is whether your country of residence appears in the app’s flow, and the honest answer to “will they give me this card” is that the card’s own documents will not tell you in advance. Read the Appendix I list first. It is the one place the boundaries are actually written down.
How to get it
The card’s promise is speed: “Get a card you can add to your wallet in minutes.” The steps it describes are identity verification, being 18 or over, one Card Account per person, and not being under US, UK or EU sanctions. Beyond that the public pages are quiet — and the quiet is where the interesting questions live.
What is not stated: the identity check’s own requirements, its tiers, how long processing takes, and the reasons a check might fail. Unofficial descriptions give a plausible shape — legal name, date of birth, government ID, residence and address, a liveness video, sometimes proof of address, with automated checks usually completing and human review on request — but none of that comes from the card, and I would not treat any of it as a promise.
The card itself comes in two forms, virtual and physical, on Visa, “issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member,” accepted in 180+ countries. The balance is a dollar account: “Add local currency. Get dollars.” Terms say cards are activated through the Plasma One app, and that a replacement card may carry a new number.
Physical delivery is the gap. The public pages do not say where the card ships, how long it takes, what it costs, or what a replacement costs. Unofficial sources say the physical card is a Platinum-tier feature and that the Core physical card is not confirmed live; they also say delivery regions, ordering and replacement fees are not published. If a physical card in your hand is the point, you are relying on an unconfirmed report and you should plan for a wait rather than a week.
Fees: what it really costs
The headline is the best part: the card says “Plasma One does not charge any additional fees.” That claim sits on top of a tier system where Lite costs 0 dollars for the card itself.

What the tiers actually are, and what you give up to reach them:
- Lite — 0 dollars card cost, 2% base cashback, one free virtual card, standard support.
- Core — 3% base and 5% AI cashback, ChatGPT Go, reduced fees, priority support, up to two free virtual cards. Unlocked by an annual USD subscription or a 12-month XPL lock.
- Platinum — 4% base and 10% AI cashback, Claude Pro and ChatGPT Plus, up to $600/year flight cashback, no added fees with the FX fee covered, VIP support, up to three free virtual cards. XPL lock only.
The prices of Core and Platinum are not stated on the public pages. Unofficial sources put Core at $199/year or a lock of 20,000 XPL for twelve months, and Platinum at a lock of 100,000 XPL for twelve months, with the help centre calling that a launch rate rising to 150,000 XPL. Bleap, another unofficial source, says an annual fee of $0–$120/year or an XPL lock. The sources disagree on the Core price, which tells you the number is still moving.
One consequence of the tier design is worth stating plainly: locked XPL cannot be unlocked early, and the account cannot be closed while a lock is active. That is not a fee, but it is a cost, and it is the one most people miss.
Now the fees you will actually meet, and the ones nobody will tell you about:
| Fee or limit | What the card states | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Issuance, Lite | 0 dollars card cost, 1 free virtual card | Tier prices for Core and Platinum not stated on public pages |
| Monthly fee | Not stated | “Plasma One does not charge any additional fees”; unofficial sources mention an inactivity-style fee on comparable cards, not on this one |
| Conversion, USD | Partner fees shown in the app before you confirm | Zero-fee USDT transfers stated; third-party fees may apply |
| Foreign exchange | Up to 1% on non-USD; Platinum covers the FX fee | 0% APR on purchases is listed in the International Card Terms |
| Cross-border | 0% | Unofficial sources put the Plasma FX markup at 1% Lite, 0.5% Core, 0% Platinum, with a possible ~1% Visa network FX on top |
| ATM | Fee and allowance not stated | ATM withdrawals earn no Rewards, and Spending Credit cannot be applied to them |
| Daily and monthly limits | Not stated | Spending limits are set by Plasma based on collateral and can be changed or reduced to $0 at any time; cash-like transactions may be restricted |
Three everyday payments, so this is not abstract. A USD purchase inside the dollar account pays no conversion at all. A purchase in a non-USD currency pays up to 1% foreign exchange, or nothing on Platinum, plus whatever the Visa network adds — unofficial sources put that network fee at around 1%, and one other source says the total FX fee on non-USD spend is roughly 2%, which is not the same number and may reflect a different tier or a different reading. A USDT transfer in is described as zero-fee, but the network you send it on charges you, and the card says third-party fees may apply.
The honest summary: the card is cheap by the standards of this category, and the cost you cannot price from the pages is the cost of not knowing your ATM fee or your limit. Both are blank. That is unusual, and it is worth asking about in support before you rely on the card for anything.
Top up: how the money gets in
The official mechanism is simple to describe: add local currency, receive dollars. Withdrawals go to a bank or a wallet through in-app off-ramps where available, and USDT is mentioned for transfers. The networks are not stated.

On fees, the card repeats that it “does not charge any additional fees,” says partner fees for some foreign-exchange and bank-withdrawal transactions are shown in the app before you confirm, and says Cash Out “may carry processing fees and minimums” without specifying either. Top-up fees and minimums are not published.
What unofficial sources add, none of it confirmed by the card: deposits in USDT, USDC and USDG on listed networks usually arriving within minutes; fiat virtual accounts in USD, EUR, GBP, MXN, BRL and COP that convert to USDT; and, notably, that New York residents cannot use the fiat rails. On costs, USDT and USDG deposits are described as free and USDC free up to $30,000 per transaction; the USD ACH onramp as $1.00 / $0.50 / $0.50 by tier, wire as $15 / $15 / $10, and the USD ACH offramp as 0.75% / 0.35% / 0.10% plus an ACH fee. A separate source says USDC deposits are free and mentions the same token set.
Two practical warnings, both of them general to the category rather than specific to this card. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. And ERC-20 tokens need ETH for gas: a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send it. On Tron, fees are paid through bandwidth and energy, often burning TRX. One more thing worth knowing: Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option.
Paying with it every day
Everyday use is where this card is strongest. It works as a virtual and physical Visa, Apple Pay on iPhone and Google Pay on Android are supported subject to region, and it takes a dollar balance. That is the ordinary payment-card experience, and it is what the card is for.
The rewards are the differentiator, and they are denominated in a token rather than in points. Cashback in XPL runs 2% base on Lite, 3% base and 5% AI on Core, and 4% base, 10% AI and up to $600/year of flight cashback on Platinum. Rates vary by tier and may change.
The app is on iOS and Android. Store ratings and the number of ratings are not stated on the site and were not found.
Two operational details that matter more than they sound. ATM withdrawals earn no Rewards and Spending Credit cannot be applied to them — so the cashback maths does not extend to cash. And if something goes wrong, the team says it will help dispute an unauthorized charge and issue a replacement, but a disputed charge must be reported within 60 days after it posts to the statement. Sixty days is short. If you see a charge you do not recognise, report it in weeks, not in the last week of the window.
On blocked categories: not stated. Some issuers block gambling and similar merchant categories by policy rather than by law, and the list varies by issuer, so I cannot tell you what Plasma does here.
What can go wrong
Nothing has gone publicly wrong that I could find — no official incidents, and no Reddit threads. But the structure of this card has several load-bearing parts, and a couple of them are sharp.
The company itself says Plasma is a “financial technology company” and “not a regulated financial institution, bank.” The card is issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member, and account services are powered by Bridge. That is a normal arrangement for this category, not a red flag in itself, but it means you are holding a claim against a programme structure, not a bank relationship.
The sharpest edge is collateral. The card is a collateral-backed account: your crypto backing the card can be liquidated after non-payment. So the card is not a place to park value you cannot afford to have sold under pressure, and the Terms allow spending limits to be reduced to $0 at any time based on collateral.
On custody, the FAQ says you hold your own assets and Plasma does not custody them, which removes counterparty risk from the balance. It also puts the whole burden on you. A seed phrase is typically 12 to 24 words in an unencrypted form; anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds, and crypto transfers are typically irreversible with no built-in recovery. Custodial platforms have a real record of failure — Mt. Gox at about $350 million reported stolen in 2011–2014, Coincheck at about $400 million in 2018, Ronin Network at $625 million in 2022 — but self-custody is not a free answer, just a different set of risks.
The protections that do exist are real: instant card freeze in the app, account lock, app-based 2FA and spending limits, “PCI DSS v4.0.1 Level 1 Service Provider – SAQ D.” What those protections do not cover is the balance itself — stablecoin holdings are not bank deposits and are not covered by FSCS or FDIC. And stablecoins are not guaranteed stable: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022 and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023. Tether also says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof either.
Then the complaints. Trustpilot for Plasma One reads about 3.4–3.5 out of 5, and that figure comes from only two reviews, with the company not having invited reviews — so treat it as two people’s experience, not a score. The critical one says the terms and the arbitration body changed after the reviewer raised issues, and that advertised Platinum benefits are not in the current published tier. The positive one, from July 2026, praises the cashback, low fees and virtual card but notes there was no physical card yet and that access was a private beta with a key. Both point at the same thing I keep coming back to: this is a young product whose published details are still catching up with its promises.
A related worry, specific to your funds, is the card programme itself. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers — they license issuers and can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer; WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Closures typically mean a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026 — single source, unconfirmed, but it is the shape of what can happen.
One more practical note on decline: merchants can look up the BIN to see which institution and country issued a card and may apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from the billing address. This is why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another, and why prepaid cards get declined. A declined authorisation can also leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven.
What to take instead
The honest comparison here is not card against card on price — Plasma is cheaper than most of this field — it is card against card on how much is actually written down. Three alternatives, all of them also young, all also with gaps.
| Card | Score | Card and cost | Cashback |
|---|---|---|---|
| MetaMask | 7.1 / 10 | Mastercard, virtual card free with no annual or maintenance fee; Metal $199/year. Issuer Monovate. Only a “minimal fee for each transaction”, amount not stated; no FX fee of its own, Mastercard rate used | 1% Virtual; Metal 3% to the first $10,000 spent then 1%, paid in mUSD; $FLY bonus 5X / 7X |
| KAST | 6.1 / 10 | Virtual and physical, Visa; Standard 0 USD/year, Premium 1,000 USD/year, Private 10,000 USD/year; Standard physical card 0 card fee plus 40 delivery | USD cashback 1.5% / 2% / 3% with monthly caps, plus KAST Points on Premium and Private |
| Zeal | 6.1 / 10 | Visa, virtual card, no published fee schedule; no additional FX fee, conversion at Visa wholesale rate | Up to 4% in GNO, which must be held in the card Safe; up to 5% variable APY advertised on EUR/USD balances |
On eligibility, the contrast is instructive. MetaMask opens sign-up in 45 listed countries and territories, with other regions on a waitlist, and says ineligible regions limit sign-ups but not spending. KAST shows a residence list at KYC and warns that living in a supported country while holding an ID from a restricted region may still block you. Zeal says it spends in 150+ countries but that issuance “depends on eligibility and regional availability.” Plasma’s own documents are the most explicit about restrictions and the vaguest about who is allowed in — which is the inverse of comfortable.
Where KAST is the most transparent competitor, it is on fees: stablecoin top-up 0%, USD spend 0%, transaction fee 0%, Apple and Google Pay 0%, non-USD FX between 0.5% and 1.75% depending on residence and programme, 0.10 USD on non-USD transactions under 25 USD, and 0.50 USD for a declined transaction. It publishes figures Plasma does not. Where MetaMask is most interesting, it is on funding: it spends directly from a connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, naming mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC and USDT. Where Zeal wins is on currency: accounts in EUR, USD and GBP.
Who I would recommend it to
Recommend it if you are holding dollars or dollar-pegged stablecoins, you want a dollar card that spends like an ordinary Visa with Apple Pay or Google Pay, you are comfortable with cashback arriving in a token rather than in spendable credit, and you live in a country that is neither on the Appendix I restricted list nor entangled with one by citizenship. Add Core or Platinum only if you will genuinely lock XPL for twelve months and can accept that the lock cannot be broken early and that the account cannot be closed while it runs.
Do not recommend it if you need a physical card immediately, if you plan to live on ATM cash, if you are in the US and want to know whether you qualify — the citizenship attestation is a real complication — or if you are in a restricted or unclear jurisdiction and cannot afford the risk of an account frozen while questions are asked. The card says the issuer may suspend or cancel at any time, and that withdrawing your collateral does not end outstanding obligations.
And keep the blanks in view. Spending limits can be reduced to $0 at any time. Your collateral can be liquidated after non-payment. Off-ramps “may carry processing fees and minimums” that are not published. The arbitration body in the Terms changed after a reviewer complained. None of that means the card is unsafe — it means it is young, and you should size your balance accordingly.
A final word that has nothing to do with the card: if you are in the US, the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in your local currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction — which can make each card payment funded from crypto a separate taxable disposal. That is a matter for a professional in your own jurisdiction, not for a card review.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Plasma One card?
Plasma One is a Visa payment card that spends from a balance you load yourself, rather than drawing on a bank account. You add local currency and receive dollars, or transfer stablecoins, and the card spends that stored balance — much like a prepaid card, except the funding is crypto-linked. It comes as a virtual and a physical card, is issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member, and is accepted in 180+ countries. Cashback is paid in the XPL token. Plasma describes itself as a financial technology company, not a bank.
Is Plasma One a bank, and who runs it?
No. Plasma describes itself as a “financial technology company” and states plainly that it is “not a regulated financial institution, bank.” The card itself is issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member, and account services are powered by Bridge, with different Bridge entities serving US residents, EEA residents and everyone else. The card’s own FAQ says you hold your own assets and Plasma does not custody them. Stablecoin balances are not bank deposits and are not covered by FSCS or FDIC, so the deposit-protection schemes you may know from ordinary banking do not apply here.
Does the Plasma One card require KYC?
Yes — the card’s flow includes “Complete identity verification,” an age minimum of 18+, one Card Account per person, and a requirement not to be under US, UK or EU sanctions. The card’s public pages do not state which documents are needed, what the verification tiers are, how long processing takes, or why a check might fail. Unofficial sources describe name, date of birth, government ID, address, a liveness video and sometimes proof of address, but that is not confirmed by the card. If you live in a supported country but hold an ID from a restricted one, expect extra difficulty.
How much does the Plasma One card cost?
The Lite tier costs 0 dollars for the card and includes one free virtual card, 2% base cashback and standard support. The card states “Plasma One does not charge any additional fees.” Foreign exchange on non-USD spending is up to 1%, or covered on Platinum, and cross-border is listed at 0%, with 0% APR on purchases. Core and Platinum prices are not published; unofficial sources put Core at $199/year or a 20,000 XPL lock, and Platinum at a 100,000 XPL lock for twelve months.
How do I top up the Plasma One card?
Officially: add local currency and receive dollars, with withdrawals to a bank or a wallet through in-app off-ramps where available. USDT is mentioned for transfers, though the supported networks are not stated, and top-up fees and minimums are not published. Unofficial sources add deposits in USDT, USDC and USDG on listed networks, usually arriving within minutes, plus fiat virtual accounts in USD, EUR, GBP, MXN, BRL and COP. Transfers are irreversible, so a wrong network can mean lost funds.
Is the Plasma One card free?
The card itself is free at Lite. Beyond that, the answer depends on what you mean by free. Core and Platinum are paid tiers or require a twelve-month XPL lock, and locked XPL cannot be unlocked early while the account also cannot be closed with a lock active. ATM fees and allowances are not stated anywhere in the terms, ATM withdrawals earn no Rewards, and spending limits can be reduced to $0 at any time based on your collateral. So: free to start, and the running costs are the ones the pages leave blank.
Can I add the Plasma One card to Apple Wallet?
Yes, Apple Pay on iPhone and Google Pay on Android are both supported, with availability depending on region. When a card goes into a mobile wallet the number is replaced by a device-specific token stored in the phone’s secure element, not on Apple’s servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic code — which is a genuine safety benefit over typing card numbers into sites. The issuer can still restrict a tokenised number, for example limiting it to phone use only, and blocked merchant categories for this card are not stated.
Is the Plasma One card safe?
The safeguards are standard and adequate for the category: instant card freeze and account lock in the app, spending limits, PCI DSS v4.0.1 Level 1 Service Provider – SAQ D certification, and self-custody so the provider does not hold your assets. The genuine risks sit elsewhere. Your crypto backing the card can be liquidated after non-payment. Self-custody puts key loss and phishing on you entirely. Stablecoins can depeg — TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023 — and stablecoin balances are not covered by deposit guarantee schemes.
Which countries can use the Plasma One card?
Restricted jurisdictions named in the Terms of Service Appendix I include Afghanistan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, the Central African Republic, China (Mainland), DR Congo, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, India, Iraq, Israel, Libya, Mali, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine outside the named carve-out, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen and Zimbabwe, plus Cuba, Iran and North Korea — and the list is not exhaustive. The International Card Terms also ask you to attest you are not a US citizen. The full list of who may apply is not stated publicly.
Is the Plasma One card worth it?
For someone with a dollar balance who wants a dollar Visa with cashback in a token and who lives in a clearly supported country, the price is genuinely good and the features are unusual — 2% to 10% back by tier, up to $600/year in flight cashback on Platinum, no added fees. What makes me hesitate is not the offer but the disclosure: no published ATM fee, no stated spending limits, no stated delivery terms for the physical card, and a card whose arbitration body changed after a reviewer objected. Size it small until you have asked support directly.
Wallet cards – cryptocardbasics
Content created by the «cryptocardbasics» team
