A prepaid Visa with a euro balance and a crypto feed — useful, but the support and complaint record is the weak point

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Bitsa is a prepaid Visa card that spends from a euro balance, and the app will let you feed that balance from crypto. If your problem is that an ordinary bank card is hard to get where you live, that combination is genuinely attractive: there is a card number, there is a European IBAN, and there are three plans where the cheapest one has no monthly fee at all. My score for it is 5.0 out of 10. That is not a dismissal. It is a card that works well for daily payments and is genuinely shaky in the areas around support, complaints and the small print you cannot see.

Bitsa works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 5.0 out of 10, good for spending, uneasy about the support

Here is how the score breaks down, and I want to be specific about why each part landed where it did rather than just announcing a number.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 The card’s own pages do not publish the list of countries. Third-party listings describe residents of 27 EEA states, with Bulgaria, Croatia, Latvia, the United Kingdom, the United States and Canada restricted
Cost 4 / 10 Physical card EUR 20, virtual EUR 2.50; plans Free at EUR 0, Move at EUR 0.99 a month, Pro at EUR 9.99 a month. Topping up by card costs 1.5%, payments outside the euro zone 1.75% and 2% elsewhere, an overseas cash machine EUR 0.55 plus 1%
Top-up options 5 / 10 Bitcoin, Ethereum and USD Coin are listed, plus card, SEPA, wallet and voucher. The networks are not named
Reliability and complaints 3 / 10 The issuer is not named on the card’s pages; third-party material names Pecunia Cards EDE. Trustpilot shows 1.3 out of 5 across 363 reviews, 68% of them one-star, with accounts frozen
Everyday use 9 / 10 Physical and virtual Visa with a European IBAN. Apple Pay and Google Pay per third-party help material; an overseas cash machine costs EUR 0.55 plus 1%
Total 5.0 / 10 Strong on the mechanics of paying, weak on the margin around them

The audience this suits is narrow and specific: residents of the European Economic Area who want a prepaid Visa with an IBAN and would rather hold a euro balance than argue with a bank. If that is you, the card does its job — a virtual card for online spending in minutes, a physical card for everything else, spending limits you control, and no monthly fee on the entry plan.

If you are not that person, several things here will not work for you. The card’s own pages do not say which countries are eligible, so if you are outside Europe you are reading third-party summaries. The issuer is not named on the pages I could read. And the complaint record, detailed further down, is the single heaviest item against it: a 1.3 out of 5 Trustpilot score with frozen accounts and money held is not a rounding error, it is the shape of the experience some customers have had.

The trap I would flag for anyone comparing this with other crypto cards: this is a prepaid card, so it spends a balance rather than a credit line, and the free plan’s purchase limit is EUR 1,500. That is plenty for a week of groceries and nothing like enough for a month. The limits are the plan, not a quirk.

Who will they give the card to

The card’s public pages do not state who is eligible. That is the honest answer, and I am not going to paper over it with a guess. What circulates on third-party sites — unofficial, and not confirmed by the card — is a list of 27 EEA countries whose residents are said to be able to apply: Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden.

The same unofficial sources list six countries as restricted: Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Latvia, the United Kingdom and the United States. Two of those, Croatia and Latvia, are the more recent additions to the restricted list. Note what this list does and does not say: it is a list of *residents*, of where you live, not of citizenship. That distinction matters more than it looks, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are frequently applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to your address. Someone with a European address and a citizenship that appears on a screening list may still be refused, and that is not something a country list will warn you about.

If you are reading this hoping for a specific country, the practical test is the one I would use: your country of residence is on the unofficial available list, and your citizenship is not on any restricted list, and you have documents proving both. Anything less and the odds drop.

There is one more group that is worth knowing about because it is not on any of these lists: teenagers. Third-party material describes a “Bitsa Young” route for 16 and 17 year olds with guardian authorisation inside the app. Unofficial, and the card itself does not describe it.

How to get it

The card describes itself as “a prepaid Visa crypto card”, available as a physical card and as a virtual card. Crypto is converted to euros, the account carries a European IBAN, and everything is managed from an iOS or Android app. That is the whole product in one sentence, and it is worth sitting with before you apply: what you are applying for is a euro-denominated prepaid Visa account, with crypto as one of the ways to fill it.

On identity verification, the card’s public pages do not say what is required. Unofficial sources describe proof of residence in an eligible country plus identity verification, and describe the issuer as able to suspend accounts for failed KYC, for fraud or anti-money-laundering risk, or for missing source-of-funds documents. That last one deserves emphasis. Source-of-funds checks mean being asked to show where the money came from — a payslip, a sale, a wallet statement. They are routine in this industry and not a sign that you have done anything wrong, but they can mean a delay at exactly the moment you needed the card.

On delivery: not stated. Unofficial material likewise does not give delivery times or shipping details. What it does give is the price — EUR 20 for the physical card, EUR 2.50 for an additional virtual card.

The general category context is worth knowing, because it explains why a card from a brand you have never heard of asks you for this much. In the EU, customer due diligence covers your name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documents, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are politically exposed. And if due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to hold off — which is why accounts close or freeze while documents are chased. Prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults, with some issuers setting higher age limits.

My advice on the practical side: have a document showing your address and a photo ID ready before you start, and do it when you can actually answer a support message if one arrives.

Fees: what it really costs

This is where a prepaid crypto card earns or loses your trust, so here is the whole picture in one place. The figures are the card’s own.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Bitsa payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Free Move Pro
Physical card EUR 20 EUR 20 EUR 20
Virtual card EUR 2.50 EUR 2.50 EUR 2.50
Monthly plan fee EUR 0 EUR 0.99/month or 8.99/year EUR 9.99/month or 69.99/year
Purchase limit EUR 1,500 EUR 5,000 EUR 15,000
Maximum balance 2,500 15,000 unlimited
Top-up limits 500/day, 1,000/month, 2,500/year 1,200/day, 5,000/month, 15,000/year unlimited
Transfer commission EUR 1 EUR 1 free
Crypto reload ceiling max EUR 20,000/day max EUR 20,000/day max EUR 20,000/day

Beyond the plans, the fees that actually bite in daily use:

Now let me run three ordinary payments through that, because a fee list on its own tells you nothing.

Coffee and a sandwich, EUR 8.50, in Spain, paying by card. Nothing on this list applies. No top-up fee, because you are not topping up at the moment of payment. No foreign-exchange fee, because you are inside the euro zone and the balance is already euros. The card simply spends its balance. This is the case the card is built for and it is clean.

A EUR 40 online subscription in a currency other than euros. The 1.75% outside the euro zone, or 2% elsewhere, applies. On EUR 40 that is 70 cents to 80 cents. Small, but note that this is a percentage with no stated floor, so on a EUR 4 purchase it is roughly 8 cents and your merchant may not even accept the card. This is also where a prepaid card can be declined outright for reasons that have nothing to do with you, which is a category-wide problem I come back to below.

Withdrawing EUR 200 at a cash machine in Portugal. EUR 0.55 plus 1%, so EUR 2.55 in fees on EUR 200. And here is the detail that matters: withdrawals outside Spain are capped at EUR 450 a day, so this works, but two withdrawals of EUR 300 on the same day do not. Unofficial material adds a per-plan daily allowance — one withdrawal a day up to EUR 350 on Free, two on Move, four up to EUR 900 on Pro — while also noting a conflict in the Eurozone terms between an issuer document showing EUR 2.50 and a newer guide saying only the operator’s own fee applies. Both versions are unofficial and they do not agree, so take the figure shown in your app as the one that counts.

One thing the card does not charge you for, and readers often assume it does: blockchain network fees. Gas or bandwidth on your deposit is paid to the blockchain, not to the card provider — but you still pay it, from your own crypto wallet, on top of whatever the provider charges.

The headline number is the physical card at EUR 20. Anyone comparing plans should also weigh that the paid tiers do more than raise your ceiling: unofficial figures put the crypto sell fee at 2.39%, 2.14% and 1.89% across Free, Move and Pro, and free SEPA Instant as none on Free, one then EUR 1 on Move, two then EUR 1 on Pro. None of that is on the card’s own pages, so treat it as a reason to check in the app rather than as a fact to budget on.

Top up: crypto, card, SEPA, wallet, voucher

The card lists Bitcoin, Ethereum and USD Coin as crypto options, alongside top-ups by card, SEPA transfer, wallet and voucher. The networks are not named on the official pages — and that omission is the one detail here I would not skip, for the reason explained below.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Bitsa starts with a transfer to the right network

What unofficial sources add: buying crypto through the app is 0% on all plans; an external-card top-up after your allowance is 1.5%; voucher reloads run 0% to 6%; crypto top-ups can go as high as EUR 20,000 a day; and external-wallet transfers list BTC, ETH and USDC explicitly, with a fresh address generated for every deposit. On the wallet side, one important limitation: the in-app crypto function is buy and sell only, and holdings cannot be sent to or received from external wallets. So if you were hoping to use the app as a wallet that talks to your own, that is not what it does.

The unnamed networks deserve a proper warning, and it is not Bitsa-specific. USD Coin, for example, exists natively on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar — while Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024. A stablecoin transferred over the wrong network can arrive as nothing at all. Blockchain transfers are irreversible: send to a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, and the funds can be gone or need manual recovery with no guarantee attached. This is why “which network do I select” is a question to answer in the app at the moment you transfer, every time, rather than a detail to assume from a list.

Two more limits to know before your first transfer. Third-party external transfers are listed at EUR 1.50, which is separate from the EUR 1 transfer commission in the plan table. And at expiry, card cancellation and balance management are listed at EUR 0 — but the card’s pages do not set out the withdrawal terms themselves, so if you hold a balance when you close the account, ask before you close it rather than after.

Paying with it every day

This is the card’s strongest section, and it earned 9 out of 10 for a reason: there is very little that can trip you up in the mechanics of paying.

The physical and virtual cards are Visa, the account has a European IBAN, and both are handled in the iOS or Android app. Unofficial help material confirms Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, with Samsung Pay announced earlier but no current setup guide — so if you are on a Samsung phone, do not plan around it. App ratings are not stated on the official pages; unofficial figures put Google Play at around 2.8 or 2.9 out of 5, with the number differing within the same page and no count of ratings given.

Rewards are thin and worth reading carefully. “Cashback up to 15%” appears among the plan services, and the Move plan mentions cashback at favourite brands. The payout asset and the conditions are not stated. Treat that headline as marketing until you have seen a payout.

Some day-to-day realities that are not the card’s fault but will feel like it:

None of that makes the card bad. It makes it a card for online and everyday spending rather than one you want to be the only route to a big purchase abroad.

What can go wrong

Here I have to be blunt, because this is where the score is decided.

The complaints. The card’s own pages record no incidents — which tells you little, since an official page is not where customers post. A secondary aggregator, unverified and undated, reports Trustpilot scores of roughly 1.3 to 1.5 out of 5, with accounts frozen after deposits and support unresponsive. The detailed reading, taken 20 October 2026, is: Bitsa’s page on Trustpilot at 1.3 out of 5 from 363 reviews, 68% of them one-star. The themes are accounts frozen or blocked with funds withheld, in reviews running from September 2020 to September 2026, with examples from May, July and September 2026; support unresponsive for weeks or months, in July 2026; repeated document and KYC demands in 2025; crypto top-ups partly or not credited in May and November 2025; login and app failures in September 2026; and unexplained closure in January 2025. The company has not replied to negative reviews. Two reviewers claim regulator warnings — unverified, from 2025.

Read that list again and notice what connects it: money in, access gone. Deposited and frozen, topped up and not credited, logged out and unable to reach support. If the failure mode of this card is that your balance can become unreachable, that is a worse failure mode than a fee you did not expect, because a fee costs you money and a freeze costs you your money and your time and your recourse at once.

Who is actually behind it. The company is described as “BITSA is a simplified joint stock company (SAS) registered in the Nice Trade and Companies Register” — a French company. The card issuer and BIN sponsor are not named on the pages I could read; the footer links to “Card issuer conditions” and “Payment service provider” lead to documents I did not open. Licences are not stated. Unofficial material names the issuer as Pecunia Cards EDE S.L.U. under the PecunPay programme, on Banco de Espana register 6707, with Bitsa SAS as programme operator. That is unofficial, and the structure it describes is the norm rather than the exception: a card network routes the messages, a licensed issuer holds the programme, and the crypto brand is often only a manager and a front end. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves — they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. A closure typically means a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left.

Where your money sits. Unofficial material describes the setup as custodial after funding, with the euro card balance held inside the PecunPay programme. That distinction deserves to be understood rather than skimmed, because it changes who bears the risk. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key; with a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials and you must trust them completely. A seed phrase is 12 to 24 words in an unencrypted form of the key, and anyone who gets it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. Transfers are typically irreversible and a stolen key has no recovery, because the network cannot freeze or return anything. Custodial platforms have a record of it: Mt. Gox, about US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014; Coincheck, about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network, US$625 million in 2022. And funds held by an e-money institution must be safeguarded, by segregation in dedicated accounts or insurance — but that is not the same as a bank deposit and it may not sit inside a deposit guarantee scheme.

The unanswered questions. Security details and support channels are not stated on the official pages, and unofficial material confirms no response times are published. Account deletion terms are not set out. For a card whose main failure mode is an unreachable balance, an unpublished support commitment is not a small omission.

The one genuinely good piece of news in this section is from the regulatory side, and it is worth knowing even though it does not protect you directly. Under MiCA — the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, which ESMA says took legal effect in June 2023 — e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. Rules on asset-referenced tokens and stablecoins applied from 30 June 2024, with the remaining provisions including crypto-asset service provider rules from 30 December 2024. Providers already operating under national law had a transitional period running until 1 July 2026 or until they received or were refused authorisation, whichever came first, and ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised providers that you can check. Note the last piece: a crypto card often depends on two licences, since the card is a payment service regulated separately from the crypto side.

What to take instead

Three alternatives come up constantly in this category, and each solves a different part of the problem. None of them is obviously better than Bitsa for the person who cannot get a bank card; they are better at specific things.

Alternative Score Card and cost Fees that matter Who it suits
RedotPay 6.9 / 10 Virtual and physical; USD and HKD card currencies. Virtual application 10.00 USD, physical 100.00 USD non-refundable once paid; no monthly or annual fee; Pro tier 12.90 USD monthly or 129.00 USD annual Transaction fee 1.00% for crypto conversion; 1.20% on a non-default currency; small payments 1.00 USD or less: first 5 a month free, then 0.2 USD; declined payments: first 3 a month free, then 0.5 USD A much wider country reach, including places where a European card is impossible, at the price of a far higher entry cost
Wirex 6.7 / 10 Virtual and physical, one of each at a time; card page says no annual or foreign exchange fees; metal Visa Signature at 45 GBP in the UK, “only 45 EUR” delivery elsewhere Exchange fee not fixed — rate varies by pair and liquidity and is shown in the app before you confirm; a one-off 30 GBP administrative fee applies to accounts breaching the general terms; cash withdrawals are not permitted in Singapore Someone who wants a multi-currency account rather than a euro wallet, and who will hold a balance in several currencies
Bitpanda 6.5 / 10 Physical Visa debit, euro only, one active card at a time; account opening and monthly cost free, first shipment free; reissue EUR 5.90 (EUR 9.90 for lost or stolen); additional card EUR 10 Non-euro FX fee EUR 0 but Visa mark-up fees apply; crypto conversion spread not stated; minimum payment EUR 1 Euro-area residents who want a regulated exchange behind the card, and who can complete verification

Three observations from that table. RedotPay’s physical card at 100.00 USD is more than five times Bitsa’s EUR 20 and is explicitly non-refundable once paid, so Bitsa is the cheaper way into this category by a wide margin. Wirex is the only one of the four that markets itself as a multi-currency account rather than a euro wallet, and it is also the only one with a metal card option. Bitpanda is the most conventional choice — a real exchange, a real regulated structure, a physical debit card — but it requires a verified account and residence in a euro-area country, which is precisely the wall some readers hit.

On eligibility, RedotPay publishes the most detailed country rules of the three: a KYC list of countries whose citizens cannot complete verification or use the service, on grounds of local regulation and sanctions policy rather than anything personal, and a card-issuance list dated 28 August 2026 covering 47 places. Both Bitpanda and Wirex decide by region and residence rather than publishing long lists. If your country is not obviously covered, that published list is the only card in this comparison that lets you check yourself before applying.

Rewards, briefly: Wirex pays cryptoback in its own token at 0.5%, 3% and up to 8% by tier, with a long exclusion list including cash machines, crypto purchases and gambling; RedotPay offers a 5 USD welcome reward usable only on spending and valid 30 days; Bitpanda’s own pages conflict, saying 1% cashback in the body and “up to 2%” in the summary, with fiat, stocks, metals and stablecoins excluded. Compare those against Bitsa’s “up to 15%” with no stated payout asset or conditions.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Bitsa to a resident of one of the supported EEA countries who needs a Visa number and a European IBAN this month, who is comfortable with a prepaid balance rather than a credit line, and who keeps a working payment method as a second route. For that person it is a good card: nine euros of monthly cost avoided on the free plan, a 1.5% top-up fee rather than a spread you cannot see, spending limits you set yourself, and the ability to hold the balance in euros instead of watching a crypto position swing while you buy groceries.

I would not recommend it as your only card, and I would be careful with it if you intend to hold more than a modest balance — because the failure mode reported by users is not a bad fee, it is a frozen balance and an unreachable support desk, and the more you leave there, the more that costs you.

Before you apply, do three things. Check the app for the current country eligibility and the fee actually applied to your transaction, since neither is fully published. Read the withdrawal and account-closure terms, which the card does not state. And keep an eye on the Trustpilot score over time rather than taking today’s number as final — the reviews run from 2020 to 2026, which means whatever is improving or not will show up there before it shows up in a press release.

One last thing, and it applies whatever card you pick: the tax treatment of spending from crypto is not something a card provider will explain to you, and in the US the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss measured in local currency at the fair market value on the date. Each payment funded from crypto may be a separate disposal. That is a matter for a qualified adviser in your own jurisdiction, not for me and not for any card’s terms and conditions.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Bitsa card?

Bitsa describes itself as a prepaid Visa crypto card, offered as a physical card and as a virtual one, with a European IBAN and euro balance, managed from an iOS or Android app. Crypto is converted into euros and loaded onto the account, and the card then spends that stored balance like any other Visa. It is prepaid rather than credit, so it cannot go below zero and draws on no credit line.

Is Bitsa a bank?

No — the card’s pages describe BITSA as a simplified joint stock company registered in the Nice Trade and Companies Register in France, and that is where the public information stops. The issuing institution is not named on the pages I could read, though unofficial material names Pecunia Cards EDE S.L.U. under the PecunPay programme. A crypto card typically sits on two licences, with the card regulated as a payment service and the crypto side separately.

Who owns Bitsa?

The public pages point to the French company described above as the operator, and to a payment service provider and card issuer conditions in the footer that I did not read. Because the issuer is not named there, I cannot tell you from official material which institution actually holds your balance. That is worth resolving yourself in the app or in the issuer’s own terms before you leave money on it.

Which countries can use the Bitsa card?

The card’s public pages do not publish an eligibility list. Unofficial sources describe residents of 27 EEA countries as eligible — Austria through Sweden, including Iceland, Malta and Liechtenstein — with Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Latvia, the United Kingdom and the United States restricted. These are residence rules, and citizenship is screened separately, so an eligible address may not be enough on its own.

Does the Bitsa card require KYC?

The card’s own pages do not say what identity verification it requires. Unofficial material describes proof of residence in an eligible country plus identity verification, and describes the issuer as able to suspend accounts for failed checks, fraud or anti-money-laundering risk, or missing source-of-funds documents. Expect to be asked where the money came from, and expect that to be routine rather than accusatory.

What does a Bitsa card cost?

The physical card is EUR 20 and an additional virtual card EUR 2.50. Plans are Free at EUR 0, Move at EUR 0.99 a month or 8.99 a year, and Pro at EUR 9.99 a month or 69.99 a year. On top of that, top-ups by external card cost 1.5% on paid plans, payments outside the euro zone cost 1.75% and 2% elsewhere, and an overseas cash machine costs EUR 0.55 plus 1% with a minimum of EUR 0.75.

How do I top up the Bitsa card?

The card lists Bitcoin, Ethereum and USD Coin, plus top-ups by card, SEPA transfer, wallet and voucher. Unofficial material adds that buying crypto in the app is free on all plans, voucher reloads run 0% to 6%, and crypto top-ups can reach EUR 20,000 a day. Critically, the official pages do not name the networks, so check which one to select before every transfer — sending on the wrong network can lose the funds outright.

Can I add the Bitsa card to Apple Wallet?

Unofficial help material confirms Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, and that Samsung Pay was announced earlier without a current setup guide. The card is tokenised when you add it, so the card number itself is not stored on the phone’s payment service, and each payment uses a one-time code. If you are on a Samsung handset, do not plan around it.

Is the Bitsa card safe?

Safety is not one question but three. Your money sits with a provider rather than in your own wallet, so you carry counterparty and hack risk — and custody failures in this industry have run into hundreds of millions of dollars. Official safeguards described unofficially include an SMS code plus a personal SCA secret for online payments, and instant card freezing in the app. And the card has no published support commitment, which is what makes frozen balances so serious.

Is the Bitsa card worth it?

For its intended reader — an EEA resident who needs a Visa and an IBAN now — yes, at EUR 20 and no monthly fee on the free plan. Weigh three things first: the free plan’s EUR 1,500 purchase limit, the fee you will pay converting crypto, which is not stated, and the complaint record, where Trustpilot shows 1.3 out of 5 from 363 reviews with 68% one-star. That last point is the reason my score is 5.0 out of 10 rather than higher.

Content created by the «cryptocardbasics» team