Revolut crypto card: who it's for, what it really costs, and where it falls short

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Revolut is one of the most recognisable names in the European fintech world, and its crypto card sits at the intersection of an everyday spending account and a crypto exchange. If you already have a Revolut account, the card is a few taps away: a virtual line you can fund from a crypto balance and use like any other Visa or Mastercard debit card. If you don’t, the picture gets more complicated, because Revolut’s availability is narrower than its marketing suggests, and the fees that look competitive on a price sheet can land harder than you expect in practice.

Revolut works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

This review walks through who Revolut gives the card to, how to get it, what it costs in real situations, how to fund it, how it behaves day to day, and where it tends to disappoint users. The score, the country list, the fee numbers and the complaint themes below come from Revolut’s public help pages and from third-party aggregators, and I say which is which as I go. Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Revolut earns a 6.5 out of 10. It is a convenient crypto card for people who are already Revolut customers in the European Union or the United Kingdom, who want to spend from a crypto balance without a separate app, and who don’t move enough volume each month to hit the fair-usage surcharge. For anyone outside that core audience — residents of unsupported countries, people who want a dedicated crypto-first card, or heavy spenders — Revolut is a weaker fit, because the cheapest tier is the one that adds the steepest conversion markup, and the premium tiers that waive that markup cost more per month than some standalone crypto cards charge in annual fees.

Criterion Mark Reason
Who can get it 6 / 10 Coverage is wide inside the EU and the UK but officially narrower than the marketing; a long list of countries is excluded.
Cost 6 / 10 The virtual card is free on Standard, Plus and Ultra, but the crypto-to-fiat conversion fee above a monthly threshold is where the real cost lives.
Top-up options 8 / 10 Draws from a chosen crypto or fiat account, with fallback to other accounts; hundreds of tokens and dozens of fiat currencies are said to be supported.
Reliability and complaints 7 / 10 A high overall Trustpilot score, but a recurring pattern of complaints about account closures and difficult disputes, especially around crypto.
Everyday use 6 / 10 A virtual card that works in mobile wallets and at ATMs up to a plan-based limit, with no cashback on the entry-level plans.

The short version: this is a fine second card for an existing Revolut customer who wants to round-trip small amounts of crypto into everyday spending. It is not a card most people would open a Revolut account just to get.

Who Revolut will give the card to

Revolut’s own pages don’t state a clean list of which countries the crypto card is available in, only that availability depends on country and plan. Third-party coverage (CryptoCardHub, August 2026) puts the number at 37 countries: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. A second aggregator gives a higher figure of “48+ countries”, so the precise number is unofficial and not confirmed by Revolut itself.

The same third-party source lists 12 countries where the card is restricted: Belarus, Canada, Cuba, India, Iran, Libya, Myanmar, North Korea, Russia, Sudan, Syria and the United States. If you live in one of those, the card simply isn’t part of the product, and the rules are applied at the residency level rather than the citizenship level, so a citizen of an unsupported country living in London is in a different position from a citizen of an unsupported country living in Moscow.

The practical implication is that the country you live in matters more than the country on your passport, but Revolut’s help pages don’t spell this out, and you only find out for sure by starting the sign-up and seeing whether the next step is available. If you travel between supported and unsupported countries, your card can be working one day and unusable the next, and this is true for the account itself, not just the card.

The reader this section is most useful for is someone who is not yet a Revolut customer, is choosing between Revolut and a crypto-first competitor, and wants to know whether the geography works before they go through identity verification. The answer is: probably yes if you are in the EU, the UK, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland, Australia, New Zealand, Japan, Singapore or Brazil; almost certainly no if you are in the United States, Canada, India or Russia.

How to get the Revolut card

Revolut’s public pages do not describe the KYC process in detail on the crypto-card help section, so the following comes from third-party reporting (CryptoCardHub, August 2026) and is unofficial. Expect full identity verification: a government-issued photo ID, and likely a selfie or live capture to match the document to your face. For larger crypto movements Revolut may ask for source-of-funds evidence, which is a standard anti-money-laundering step rather than a Revolut-specific quirk.

The card itself is virtual and links to your Revolut account. The card network and the settlement currency aren’t stated on the public pages I read; third-party reporting says it is a Visa or Mastercard prepaid debit, with the network depending on the region. The older 2023–2024 fee schedules list virtual cards as free on the Standard, Plus and Ultra plans, which matters because some competitors charge $10 just to issue a virtual line.

On delivery for the physical card, Revolut’s own pages don’t state the cost in the materials I had. Third-party reporting says Standard and Plus pay a small fee (around £4.99 / €5.50 in the figures given), Premium gets free express, and Metal and Ultra get free priority; replacements run around £5 / €6 on the lower tiers and more on the higher ones. Those are not Revolut’s own published numbers, so treat them as ballpark figures, not promises.

The activation flow itself is standard: the app issues a virtual card immediately, you can add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay straight away, and a physical card, if you order one, is activated by an in-app action once it arrives. If you are on Pro or Business account tiers, the third-party source flags that you cannot link this card, which is a useful thing to know if you have a Revolut business account and assumed the same card would work there.

Two things are worth doing before you sign up. First, check that crypto is actually enabled on the account you are about to open; Revolut offers it only to verified customers in supported regions, and the toggle may not appear in countries where the product is technically listed but not yet rolled out. Second, decide which plan you want before you sign up, because the cheapest plan is also the one with the steepest crypto-to-fiat markup, and downgrading later is a chore.

Revolut fees: what it really costs

The headline that “Revolut has no crypto exchange fee on card spending” is technically true on the help page, but it is also incomplete. Revolut’s own materials say no exchange fee applies to card transactions, but fair-usage fees may apply depending on the plan, and the older fee schedules I read show a tiered structure: on Standard you can exchange up to £1,000 a month, then pay 1% on anything above that; on Plus the threshold is £3,000 a month with a 0.5% fee above; on Premium, Metal and Ultra there is no monthly cap. An older 2023 terms document (unofficial and not confirmed by the card) also lists a 1.99% or £0.99 (whichever is greater) crypto fee on Standard and Plus, but I have not read the current fee schedule end to end, so the most recent numbers may differ.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Revolut payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

For context, here is what third-party reporting (CryptoCardHub, August 2026) puts on the per-tier fees. These are unofficial and not confirmed by Revolut’s current page:

Fee or limit Standard Plus Premium Metal Ultra
Monthly plan fee £0 £3.99 / €2.99 £7.99 / €7.99 £14.99 / €13.99 £55 / €60
Weekend FX markup 1% 0.5% 0% 0% 0%
Fair-usage exchange fee 1% above £1,000/month 0.5% above £3,000/month None None None
Free ATM allowance £200 / month £200 / month £400 / month £800 / month £2,000 / month
ATM fee above allowance 2% 2% 2% 2% 2%
Daily ATM limit £3,000 £3,000 £3,000 £3,000 £3,000
Single transaction limit ~£100,000 ~£100,000 ~£100,000 ~£100,000 ~£100,000
Exchange count per 24 hours 100 (official) / 200 (third party) — — — —

The weekend FX markup is the one that catches people out. Revolut has long advertised interbank rates, but the rate used on Friday evening through Sunday is a marked-up rate on the lower plans, and the difference between the marked-up rate and the mid-market rate is large enough to matter on anything beyond a coffee.

A few concrete situations make this concrete. If you are on Standard and you spend £200 of crypto (an unofficial figure, not confirmed by the card) at a London restaurant on a Saturday night, the conversion from your crypto balance to sterling will carry the 1% weekend markup on top of the spread Revolut takes on the crypto-to-fiat leg. If you spend the same £200 on a weekday, the markup is gone but the spread remains, and the spread is what makes the 1.99% / £0.99 fee in the older terms document show up as a real number in your statement. If you spend £2,000 of crypto in a month on Standard, you are over the £1,000 fair-usage limit and the additional £1,000 carries the 1% exchange fee, which is £10 of pure cost on top of the spread and any network fees the asset carried.

On the ATM side, the free allowance is generous on Metal and Ultra but tight on Standard. If you withdraw £250 from an ATM in Berlin on a Standard plan, you are £50 over the allowance, and 2% of £50 is £1, which is more than the ATM operator’s own fee in many countries. The free allowance also resets monthly, not per withdrawal, so a single big withdrawal can burn most of it.

A note on what is not stated. Revolut’s public materials do not give a single, current, consolidated fee schedule in the form I could quote, and several of the figures above are from older PDFs or third-party summaries. Before you move meaningful money, open the in-app fee screen for your specific plan, because that is the number that will actually be charged to you.

How to top up the Revolut card

Revolut’s public pages do not list the coins or networks the crypto card accepts, and the materials I had did not include a current asset list, so the specifics are unofficial. The general model, per CryptoCardHub (August 2026), is that the card draws from a chosen crypto or fiat account, with a fallback to your other Revolut accounts if the chosen one is empty. The third-party source claims 250-plus tokens are available for spending and 30-plus fiat currencies are supported, but Revolut itself does not publish a definitive list, and the in-app availability depends on the region.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Revolut starts with a transfer to the right network

A few operational points matter more than the headline numbers. First, the choice of “spend from crypto” or “spend from fiat” is a setting on the card, not a per-transaction toggle, so if you set the card to draw from USDC and your USDC balance runs out mid-week, the next purchase will fall through to your next funded account rather than declining. That is convenient, but it also means a transaction you thought was funded by euros can be funded by a stablecoin conversion if your euro balance is empty, with the conversion cost landing on you.

Second, Pro and Business account holders cannot link the card, per the same third-party source. If you are signing up for Revolut because you want a crypto card for business spending, this is a hard blocker.

Third, on-chain deposits (sending crypto from an external wallet to Revolut) require the right network. Revolut’s deposit screen tells you which network to use for each asset, and sending USDT on the wrong network, or USDC on a network Revolut doesn’t support, is the kind of mistake that is hard to recover. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, and a deposit on a network the card provider does not support, or to an address of another network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. If you are topping up from a self-custody wallet, double-check the network twice.

Withdrawing back out (sending the balance to a bank account or external wallet) is not detailed in the materials I had, and Revolut’s terms for crypto withdrawals would be worth reading before you assume a clean round-trip is possible at low cost.

Paying with the Revolut card every day

The card behaves like a prepaid debit card in most situations, which is to say the merchant sees a Visa or Mastercard, the authorisation goes through, and the balance is reduced in your chosen account. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported according to third-party reporting, and adding the card to a phone wallet is a standard in-app flow.

On the rewards side, Revolut’s help pages don’t state a card-specific cashback rate in the materials I had. Third-party reporting (CryptoCardHub, August 2026) says Metal and Ultra offer 0.1% cashback in eligible European countries and 1% elsewhere, capped at roughly one month’s fee, with no cashback on Standard, Plus or Premium. That is unofficial and worth checking in-app, because the headline figure of “1% cashback” can sound attractive until you notice the cap is roughly the cost of the plan itself, and on Standard, the plan that costs nothing, there is no cashback at all.

The app experience is reported as polished: App Store 4.8 out of 5 across 140,618 ratings, Google Play 4.5 out of 5, Trustpilot 4.6 out of 5 (the third-party figure; the complaints section below uses a different Trustpilot figure of 4.5 across about 425,000 reviews, which is the number more commonly seen in press coverage). The score you see depends on which snapshot you read.

On disputes, the materials I had do not include Revolut’s published dispute or chargeback process, and this is the area where the user reports are most negative, so it is worth setting expectations: if a transaction goes wrong, the resolution path is the in-app chat, and the experience of reaching a resolution is uneven, especially where crypto is involved.

A practical note for international use. A card issued in one country can look “foreign” to a shop in another, because merchants can look up the BIN to see which institution and country issued a card, and may apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from the customer’s billing address. This is more of an issue for a Revolut card used in a country outside the EEA, where the issuer country (say, Lithuania, where Revolut Bank UAB is based) won’t match the local address. It rarely stops a payment, but it can trigger an Address Verification Service (AVS) check, which compares numeric parts of the billing address the buyer typed (street number, ZIP) with issuer records; AVS is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. In other words, a Revolut card from Lithuania is more likely to be declined by a US merchant than by a French one.

What can go wrong

The official incident record for the crypto card specifically is not stated. Trustpilot sits at around 4.5 out of 5 across roughly 425,000 reviews, which is high for a financial product at that scale, but the negative reviews cluster around consistent themes.

The first is account closures without clear reasons. Users report having accounts frozen or closed with limited explanation, sometimes after a large crypto deposit or a transfer that triggered the platform’s monitoring. From Revolut’s side this is the standard anti-money-laundering response: regulated businesses are required to verify customers and assess risk as part of anti-money-laundering and counter-terrorism-financing law, including ongoing transaction monitoring and suspicious-activity reporting, and if due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to refrain from the transaction or relationship and, where necessary, end existing relationships. From the user’s side it can feel like the money is held indefinitely while the paperwork churns.

The second is the difficulty of fraud and chargeback cases, especially where the disputed transaction was a crypto purchase or a payment to a crypto platform. A user on r/Revolut reports a crypto deposit held for more than two and a half months; another reports a denied chargeback on a transaction they describe as fraud. A UK Financial Ombudsman decision (DRN-5705456) found no chargeback grounds on card payments to a crypto platform where the user had been the victim of a scam, which is consistent with the card network’s view that payments to a crypto exchange are payments to a merchant, and the merchant isn’t responsible for losses the user suffers on the exchange side. The lesson is to treat Revolut as a payment method, not as a buyer-protection scheme.

The third is uneven support for crypto-specific issues. Third-party reporting says Revolut offers 24/7 in-app chat in 100-plus languages, but the quality of crypto support is reported as patchy. This isn’t unique to Revolut — crypto support across the industry is uneven — but it shows up in reviews because users who hit a crypto issue tend to be users with the most money on the line.

A few structural risks are worth naming, even if Revolut isn’t unique in facing them. A card issuer can lose its network licence: in 2018, WaveCrest, a Visa card issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. In November 2022, Visa said it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX” and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer. The card programmes themselves depend on multiple licences: in Revolut’s case, the issuer is Revolut Ltd in the UK, Revolut Bank UAB in the EU, and regional partner banks elsewhere, with EU crypto activity routed through Revolut Digital Assets Europe Ltd in Cyprus under a MiCA CASP authorisation. A crypto card often depends on two licences — payment-services law for the card and crypto regulation for the assets — and the failure of either is a risk to the product.

Stablecoins are the other structural risk. Tether’s USDT and Circle’s USDC are US-dollar-pegged, but the BIS (July 2025) put about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation in these two, and the rest is much smaller and less liquid. Stablecoins can depeg: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. If your Revolut card balance is held in a stablecoin and that stablecoin loses its peg, the card balance loses value before you can spend it.

On the news side, the PRA granted Revolut a UK banking licence with restrictions in July 2024, reported in September 2024 by third-party sources. The detail of the restrictions wasn’t in the materials I had, but a UK banking licence is a meaningful upgrade from a UK e-money licence, because it changes which protections the underlying funds enjoy and which regulator oversees the firm.

What to take instead

Revolut is one of several cards that convert a crypto balance into everyday spending. The cards below are all live and in the same general category, with different trade-offs.

Card Score Where it works What it does well Where it falls short
RedotPay 6.9 / 10 Long restricted-country list; the card-issuance list (August 2026) names 47 places, plus a separate KYC list that excludes another 40+ jurisdictions. USD and HKD card bins, on-chain deposit with USDC and USDT, optional Pro tier. $10 virtual / $100 physical issuance fee, 1% transaction fee, 1.20% on non-default currency, restricted-country list is long.
Bitpanda 6.5 / 10 Euro-area residence only, verified Bitpanda account required; users verified via Bankident cannot order. Physical Visa debit, EUR only, first card shipment free, spends from a chosen asset including crypto and metals. Non-EUR FX fee is “0 but VISA mark-up fees apply”; cashback rate is 1% or “up to 2%” depending on which page you read.
Wirex 6.7 / 10 “130+ countries” on the homepage, but card availability and the published fee schedules are region-specific (UK, EEA, APAC, SG, AU, “Other”). Free issuance in most regions, Cryptoback in WXT up to 8% on Elite, supports both Visa and Mastercard. FX fee not specified on the fee page; metal card £45 order fee in the UK; some users hit support-quality complaints.

RedotPay is the closest to Revolut in spirit but with a different geographic centre of gravity. It offers a USD card and an HKD card, an on-chain deposit path that supports USDC and USDT (the only coins explicitly named in the materials), and an optional Pro tier at $12.90 a month or $129 a year. The transaction fee is 1% on the crypto conversion leg, with non-default currency at 1.20%, which is steeper than Revolut’s headline but applied to a narrower set of assets. RedotPay’s restricted list is long and the rules are stated in two different ways on the official pages, so residents of countries like India, Indonesia, Morocco, Nepal, Singapore and Turkey are ineligible for both virtual and physical cards even where their country is not on the broader KYC exclusion list. If you are in a country Revolut doesn’t cover, RedotPay is worth a close look; if you are in the EU, the comparison is closer to a wash.

Bitpanda is the most restrictive of the three geographically: a euro-area residence is required, and users verified through Austria’s Bankident system cannot order the card. The card is a physical Visa debit in EUR only, with the first shipment free and reissues at €5.90. The card draws from a chosen main asset with an optional fallback, including crypto, precious metals or euros, and assets are auto-converted to EUR on spending, so you don’t see the conversion in real time. The 1% cashback on crypto spending is real, and the unreconciled “up to 2%” on a different page is the kind of inconsistency that should make you read the terms before you move volume. Bitpanda suits someone who already keeps funds on Bitpanda and wants a card to spend them, less so someone choosing a card first and an exchange second.

Wirex sits between Revolut and the crypto-first challengers. It operates in 130-plus countries, issues both Visa and Mastercard (region-dependent), and offers a free card in most regions. The cashback is paid in WXT, Wirex’s own token, at rates that scale with the plan: Standard 0.5%, Premium 3%, Elite up to 8% (the metal card sits in the Elite tier). The exchange fees have no fixed amount; the rate varies by pair and liquidity and is shown in the app before you confirm, which is more transparent than a hidden spread but also means you cannot predict the cost without looking. Some merchants, including gambling and crypto purchases, are excluded from cashback, and Singapore residents can’t withdraw cash from ATMs at all. Wirex is a reasonable Revolut alternative if you are outside Revolut’s geography, but the WXT-denominated cashback is a real exposure to the Wirex token’s price.

If you are choosing between these four, the question is which trade-off you want to make: Revolut for app polish and EU/UK coverage, RedotPay for a different geographic footprint and explicit stablecoin support, Bitpanda for a euro-area-only, exchange-integrated experience, and Wirex for a wide geographic reach and a token-denominated rewards programme.

Who I would recommend the Revolut card to

The honest answer is that the Revolut crypto card is at its best for a specific reader, and a worse fit for almost everyone else.

If you are an existing Revolut customer in the European Union, the United Kingdom, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland, Australia, New Zealand, Japan, Singapore or Brazil, and you keep a small balance in crypto on Revolut that you want to spend directly, the card does what it says on the tin. The conversion is automatic, the card works in mobile wallets, and on the paid tiers the fair-usage surcharge is gone. You pay a plan fee for that, but the convenience is real, and the alternative (transferring to an exchange, withdrawing to a bank, then spending) is more friction than this card adds.

If you are a Standard-plan customer, the cost of spending crypto above £1,000 a month is the issue. The 1% fair-usage fee above £1,000 plus the weekend markup on Friday to Sunday plus the spread on the crypto-to-fiat leg is meaningful on volume. If you spend £1,000 a month of crypto on Standard, you are paying roughly £10 a month in fair-usage fees on the over-threshold portion, plus the spreads. Upgrading to Plus (unofficial and not confirmed: £3.99 / €2.99 a month) raises the threshold to £3,000 with a 0.5% over-threshold fee, and Premium, Metal or Ultra removes the threshold entirely, so the right plan depends on how much you actually spend.

If you are outside the supported countries, Revolut is not a serious option. The 12-country restricted list includes the United States, Canada and India, which are three of the largest markets for crypto cards, and a long list of other jurisdictions where the card simply doesn’t exist. The unofficial “48+ countries” figure is higher than the 37-country list, but the gap between the two is itself a sign that the geographic coverage is not pinned down, and the third-party source that gives the higher number is the same kind of aggregator that can be wrong about details.

If you are moving large amounts of crypto and want a dedicated crypto card, Revolut is a second card at best. The Trustpilot score is high, the app ratings are high, but the user reports on disputes, account closures and crypto-specific support issues are real, and the issuer is an e-money institution and bank rather than a crypto-native firm. Custodial platforms have a record of failures: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen 2011-2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Holding funds with a custodian carries counterparty and hack risk, and Revolut is a custodian in the relevant sense — your crypto is held inside the Revolut platform, not in your own wallet. For larger balances, a self-custody-linked card, where the funds stay in the user’s own wallet until the moment of payment, has the opposite trade-off: the user bears sole responsibility for key loss, phishing and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps copied addresses, but the platform’s counterparty risk is removed.

The shortest recommendation I can give: if Revolut is already your main account, turn the crypto card on, set it to draw from a stablecoin, keep the balance small, and treat it as a spending rail. If Revolut is not your main account, this card is unlikely to be the reason you open one.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Revolut card?

The Revolut card is a debit card linked to a Revolut account. The crypto version is a virtual prepaid card that draws from a chosen crypto or fiat balance inside the Revolut app, with a fallback to other accounts if the chosen one is empty. It works in mobile wallets and at most card-accepting merchants like a standard Visa or Mastercard.

How does the Revolut crypto card work?

You set the card to spend from a chosen account (for example, a USDC or euro balance). At the point of sale, Revolut converts the chosen balance to the merchant’s currency, and the merchant sees a normal card authorisation. If your chosen balance is empty, the card falls back to your next funded Revolut account. The conversion is what the fees are charged on.

Is Revolut a bank?

In the UK, Revolut holds a banking licence granted by the PRA in July 2024 with restrictions. In the EU, Revolut Bank UAB in Lithuania is a licensed bank, and the broader group operates under e-money and crypto licences. Not all Revolut customers are automatically customers of the licensed bank, so the protections that apply depend on which entity holds the funds.

Who owns Revolut?

Revolut is a private company, and the materials I had don’t include its current ownership structure beyond the issuer entities named above (Revolut Ltd, Revolut Bank UAB, Revolut Digital Assets Europe Ltd). For an exact shareholder breakdown, Revolut’s company filings are the right source.

Is the Revolut card available in my country?

Revolut’s own pages don’t publish a definitive list, but third-party reporting names 37 supported and 12 restricted countries. The EU, the UK, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland, Australia, New Zealand, Japan, Singapore and Brazil are typically supported; the United States, Canada, India and Russia are typically restricted. The list is unofficial and Revolut’s own pages don’t confirm it, so the in-app check is the only definitive answer.

Does the Revolut card require KYC?

Yes. Revolut is a regulated financial institution, and full identity verification (a government photo ID and a selfie or live capture) is required before you can use the account. For larger crypto movements Revolut may ask for source-of-funds evidence, which is a standard anti-money-laundering step and not a Revolut-specific requirement.

How do I add the Revolut card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

In the Revolut app, open the card view, choose the virtual card, and select “Add to Apple Wallet” or “Add to Google Pay”. The card is added as a tokenised number in the phone’s Secure Element rather than the actual card number, and each mobile payment uses a one-time dynamic security code, which is the standard mobile-wallet security model.

How do I top up the Revolut crypto card?

The card draws from a chosen Revolut account, so topping up means funding that account. For fiat, you can transfer from a bank or another card; for crypto, you can either buy inside the app or deposit from an external wallet. When depositing crypto, check the network shown on the deposit screen, because sending on the wrong network can mean the funds are lost or unrecoverable.

Is the Revolut card free?

The virtual card is listed as free on Standard, Plus and Ultra in the older fee schedules I read. The Standard plan itself is free monthly, but it carries a 1% fair-usage exchange fee above £1,000 a month and a 1% weekend FX markup. Plus, Premium, Metal and Ultra have monthly fees, and the higher plans waive the fair-usage fee and the weekend markup.

Is the Revolut card worth it?

It depends on what you compare it to. If you already have a Revolut account and want a low-friction way to spend a small crypto balance, the card is convenient. If you are choosing a card first and an account second, the geographic limits, the weekend markup on the cheaper plans, and the dispute-resolution complaints from other users mean it is a middle-of-the-pack option rather than a clear winner.

Content created by the «cryptocardbasics» team