Fizen card review
Fizen sells itself as a “crypto payment” card: a Visa prepaid number you load with USDT and spend anywhere Visa is taken. The pitch is simple and, for the right reader, genuinely useful. The reality behind the pitch is more uneven. I went through Fizen’s card page, Master Terms, fee schedule, complaints record and company filings, and what I found is a card that does one job well — turning USDT into everyday Visa spending in USD — while charging for almost everything else and leaving several basic questions unanswered. This review walks through who can actually get one, what it really costs, how it behaves in daily use, and the alternatives worth considering before you commit $9.99 to the virtual tier.
Conditions in this review are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Fizen scores 6.4 out of 10. That is a middle-of-the-pack mark, and it reflects two real strengths pulling against two real weaknesses. On the positive side, the card is available in a wide footprint, accepts Apple Pay and Google Pay from day one, and the basic USDT-to-USD flow is straightforward. On the negative side, the issuer is not named on the public pages, several everyday costs (FX, conversion, ATM) add up fast, and the company’s home jurisdiction and the lack of a clear banking licence leave more risk on the reader’s plate than with a card issued by a named EU EMI or US bank.

| Criterion | Mark | Why it scored that way |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | Available in 160+ countries for use, with a separate list of 43 countries where the card itself cannot be opened. |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | $9.99 to issue, $1.50/month if you spend less than $500, 1% FX, 0.5% crypto conversion, $2 + 1.5% at ATMs. |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | USDT on a Fizen-controlled wallet, QR Pay only on Solana or BNB Chain, fiat via Transak. |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Hong Kong company, not a bank or licensed payment institution, Tether invested, Trustpilot 4.1/5. |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual Visa straight away, Apple Pay and Google Pay supported, metal card still promised. |
The reader this card suits is someone who already holds USDT, lives somewhere the card is open, and wants a clean USD Visa number for online or in-store spending without converting to a local currency first. It is the wrong card if you need multi-currency balances, named EU/UK/US issuer protection, or a card that works in mainland China, Russia, India, Ukraine or any of the other 43 excluded places.
Will they give you the card
The eligibility rule is in two parts and it is easy to mix them up, so I want to walk through both.
The first part is where the card can be used. The card page says Fizen is available in 160+ countries. That figure is about where you can spend, not where you can sign up, and the public pages do not publish a list of those 160+ places. The Master Terms make the rule more precise in clauses 5.1–5.2: you cannot be a citizen, resident or physically located in a jurisdiction where the service is prohibited or under comprehensive sanctions, and the check happens at sign-up and on an ongoing basis. In plain English, Fizen reserves the right to re-screen you by IP, device or location at any time.
The second part is the card’s own list of excluded countries, which is shorter and easier to read. The Fizen Card is not available in 43 places, and the list includes the Russian Federation, Belarus, Serbia, India, Mainland China, Croatia, Slovenia, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Iran, Ukraine and Venezuela, among others. Georgia, Turkey, Kazakhstan, Armenia and the UAE are not on that list, which is worth noting for readers in the Caucasus, Central Asia and the Gulf.
A common question is what happens if you are a citizen of an excluded country but live somewhere supported. Fizen’s wording is that you “may still be eligible” in that case. I have not read the exceptions page, so I cannot tell you which exclusions are hard stops and which are case-by-case. If you are in this situation, the safest move is to contact support before paying the $9.99 issuance fee, because a refusal after payment falls under the card’s non-refundable issuance terms.
A few other basics are worth flagging up front. Fizen does not publish the minimum age on the card page, and the Master Terms do not state it. The terms confirm that KYC is “at the level each Service requires” and is verified at sign-up, with ongoing re-checks. The exact documents you will be asked for are not stated on the public pages, and the Master Terms leave Fizen room to ask for more at any time. None of this is unusual for a crypto card, but it is worth knowing that “approved today” does not mean “approved tomorrow” — the same clauses let Fizen re-check eligibility at any point.
How to get it
The sign-up path is short and almost entirely inside the Fizen Super App.
The flow runs in this order: download the Fizen Super App on iOS or Android from the Fizen website, create an account, complete the wallet step, then request a card from the sign-up link on the card page. Fizen says the application takes five minutes and the virtual card is issued instantly once KYC clears. There is no separate web form to fill in first; the app is the on-ramp.
Two practical things to know before you start. First, the issuance fee of $9.99 is taken when you request the virtual Adventure card, and the official fee table notes that it is free for pre-registered users — so the $9.99 is a list price, not a fixed charge, and the discount depends on whether you joined the waitlist before launch. Second, only the Adventure tier is open for application right now. Pioneer ($999.99) and Frontier ($9,999) are listed as “coming soon” with a “Get info” link, and the physical metal cards for those tiers are not yet shipping. If you need a physical card today, Fizen is not the right product.
A side note on the network and the card itself. Fizen is a Visa programme (the card terms are titled “USD Visa Prepaid Card”). The card currency is USD. The issuer is named only in the Issuer Cardholder Agreement, which I have not read; the public pages refer to the issuer as “a regulated institution under licence from Visa”. For a reader comparing this to a card issued by a named EU EMI or UK bank, that opacity is itself a data point.
What it really costs: fees and everyday payments
The headline is that Fizen’s fee structure rewards heavy spenders in USD and penalises light users, anyone paying in another currency, and anyone needing cash. The table below copies the published figures exactly.

| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Virtual card issuance (Adventure) | $9.99 (free for pre-registered users) |
| Monthly maintenance | $0 if spending ≥ $500, otherwise $1.50 (first month free) |
| Card closure fee | $2.00 |
| FX fee on non-USD payments | 1% |
| Crypto-to-fiat conversion | 0.5% (the Adventure tier card page says “0”, the docs table says 0.5%) |
| Small transaction fee (under $50) | $0.50 |
| ATM withdrawal | $2 + 1.5% (first withdrawal up to $200/month free on physical card) |
| Per-transaction spending limit | $150,000 |
| Daily spending limit | $1,000,000 |
| Monthly spending limit | $1,000,000 |
| ATM daily / monthly / count | $100,000 / $200,000 / 3 per day, 30 per month |
A small inconsistency is worth pointing out. The Adventure landing page advertises “0 crypto-to-fiat conversion fees” and “0 top-up fees within plan limits”, while the official fee schedule lists 0.5% on conversion. The landing page copy is the marketing line for the tier; the fee schedule is the binding number. When in doubt, the fee schedule wins.
To make the table less abstract, here are three everyday payments and the way the fees stack up.
A $40 coffee paid in USD with USDT already loaded. The $0.50 small-transaction fee applies, because the payment is under $50. There is no FX fee because the payment is in USD. Crypto-to-fiat conversion at 0.5% is roughly $0.20. Net: you pay about $0.70 on a $40 charge, before any blockchain gas to load the card.
A $300 hotel booked online in EUR. Fizen converts USDT to USD, then Visa converts USD to EUR at the wholesale rate, and Fizen adds 1% on the FX leg. There is no small-transaction fee. Crypto-to-fiat conversion adds another $1.50. Net: roughly 1.5% on a $300 charge, or about $4.50.
A $150 ATM withdrawal abroad in a non-USD currency. The ATM fee of $2 + 1.5% is roughly $4.25, plus the 1% FX fee of $1.50, plus 0.5% conversion of $0.75. Net: about $6.50. Note that this example assumes you have already used your free monthly withdrawal; the first ATM withdrawal up to $200 in a month is free on the physical card.
The pattern is clear: stay in USD, keep transactions over $50, avoid cash, and the card is competitive. The moment you cross currencies or pay small amounts, the small-transaction fee and FX charge erode the value quickly.
How to top it up
The funding path is the single most important part of this product, because the card is a USD Visa prepaid card and the only way to put money on it is through the Fizen system. The mechanism is on-chain, and the chains that count are narrow.
The default flow is to transfer USDT to a Fizen-controlled wallet. The Master Terms (clause 3.2) say the card is funded by USDT arriving at that wallet. The card page says there are “0 top-up fees within plan limits”; the fee schedule has no top-up fee line, but it does carry the 0.5% crypto-to-fiat conversion fee. There is no stated minimum top-up. Network fees are paid to the blockchain validators, not to Fizen, so the cost of moving USDT to Fizen depends on which network you choose.
QR Pay, Fizen’s separate in-app scan-to-pay feature, is a different story. QR Pay is funded only with USDT, and only on Solana or BNB Chain. Tokens other than USDT and networks other than those two are explicitly not supported, and the official page warns that sending anything else to a QR Pay address can permanently lose the funds. This is the kind of warning that is easy to scroll past and expensive to ignore.
Fiat on- and off-ramps go through third parties. The Master Terms name Transak as one of those providers (clauses 2.2 and 3.1). The fee for that path is set by Transak, not by Fizen, and will depend on the payment method, region and asset.
Pulling money back out works in a few different ways depending on where the balance lives. Closing a card costs $2.00. QR Pay balances can be “discharged through withdrawal where available”, and Fizen says it will provide a “reasonable method” for that, possibly requiring identity verification, source-of-funds checks or a verified destination address (clauses 3.3 and 16). The same clauses also say a QR Pay balance will not be forfeited just because access is suspended or terminated, and that wallet assets stay on-chain after you stop using the platform. Card balance withdrawal terms live in the Card Terms and Issuer agreement, which I have not read.
Paying with it every day
Once a balance is loaded, the card behaves like a standard Visa prepaid card. You can spend online, in store, at any merchant that accepts Visa, with a few wrinkles worth knowing.
The first is mobile wallets. Fizen shows the Apple Pay and Google Pay logos, and tokenisation is supported from day one. In practice that means you can add the virtual card to your phone wallet immediately and tap to pay anywhere contactless Visa is taken, which is the main way most people use a virtual-only card.
The second is QR Pay. Fizen runs a Scan-to-Pay feature in countries that include Brazil, Argentina, Peru, Vietnam and the Philippines. QR Pay is not the same as the card: it draws on a USDT balance funded only on Solana or BNB Chain, and ownership of the accepted assets passes to Fizen, with the funds not segregated. For someone in the listed countries who pays in cash-light environments, QR Pay is the more useful surface than the card.
The third is rewards and cashback. Adventure offers discounts and cashback on eSIMs, hotels and flights, plus “FiPoint” cashback (rate not stated) and a 5% APR bonus on USDT held in the Fizen Vault. Pioneer raises that to 10% APR bonus, and Frontier to 20%, with higher FiPoint cashback. None of these are card-level cashback in the way a Wirex or a RedotPay offers; they are ecosystem perks inside Fizen. A blog promo running on the site advertises “up to 10% cashback + FiPoints on every spend” with terms applying, and a separate $10 eSIM credit offer was active on 19 August 2026.
Merchant category blocks are not stated on the public pages. The Master Terms prohibit use for illegal gambling and other illegal activity, but the published materials do not say which merchant category codes are blocked beyond that. For comparison, many crypto cards block a long list of MCCs (gambling, crypto purchases, cash advances, certain gaming merchants), and the Fizen list is not transparent.
Finally, the app itself. Fizen Super App is on iOS and Android, available through the official Fizen website. App Store and Google Play ratings are available in the stores themselves. There is a card management page in the app — freeze and controls are included — allowing you to manage card security and settings.
A quick note on disputes. The Master Terms set the procedure: written notice to [email protected], a 60-day good-faith resolution period, then SIAC arbitration in Singapore, with class actions waived and a one-year limit on claims. Blockchain transactions are generally irreversible, and Fizen may reverse them “where technically possible”. QR Pay refunds sit under the QR Pay Terms. Chargebacks are not addressed in the Master Terms, so the practical path is the one in the card-specific terms and the help centre, neither of which I read. For a card built on top of an irreversible rail, that opacity is a real gap to be aware of.
What can go wrong
A product review is more useful when it spells out the downside, and Fizen has several things to watch for.
The first is the company structure. Fizen Limited is registered in Hong Kong (company number 77059696, Unit 1411, 14/F, Cosco Tower, Queen’s Road Central). The Master Terms state that Fizen is not a bank, an e-money institution or a licensed payment institution. The card issuer is named only in the Issuer Cardholder Agreement, which I have not read. This is a different structure from a card issued by a named EU EMI (where funds are typically safeguarded and there is a national supervisor) or a US bank (where funds may sit in a deposit account). It is also different from a card issued by a UK or EEA bank under the Temporary Permissions Regime. The trade-off is that Fizen is more willing to onboard readers in countries where regulated issuers will not, and the cost is that the usual regulatory backstops are thinner.
The second is custody. Fizen’s products split custody in a way that matters. Fizen Wallet and Swap are non-custodial: the private key is generated on your device, encrypted locally, and Fizen cannot recover it. Fizen Card is a custodial balance, with assets pooled on Fizen’s internal ledger. QR Pay is also custodial and explicitly not segregated, with ownership of accepted assets passing to Fizen. Two-factor authentication is required where offered, and you must report unauthorised access to [email protected] within 72 hours. There is no published insurance on customer balances.
The third is complaints. Trustpilot shows Fizen at 4.1 out of 5, with the five visible reviews all five-star and dated between 21 April and 3 June 2026. Fizen replied to each one. One reviewer notes the app is “a bit buggy” sometimes. No Reddit threads or card-specific complaints surfaced in the search. Trustpilot does flag that the company “may be associated with high-risk investments”, which is a Trustpilot-driven warning, not a Fizen one. The sample is small, so I would treat the 4.1 figure as a floor, not a ceiling.
The fourth is news flow. The Master Terms became effective on 5 June 2026, with material changes taking effect 30 days after notice. On 30 July 2026 Tether announced a strategic investment in Fizen, with the amount undisclosed; the home page links to that news. On 19 August 2026 a $10 eSIM credit promo was running. Fizen’s partnership with Ondo Finance for tokenised US stocks is mentioned on the site. As of June 2026, a $FIZEN token had not been launched, despite some online chatter about one.
A category-level risk worth naming, because it sits behind several of the above. A crypto card programme can be wound down by the network or the issuer. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme. Fizen is not in that situation today, but the structure — an issuer named only in the issuer agreement, on a Visa licence, run by a Hong Kong programme manager — is the same kind of structure that has been wound down in the past.
What to take instead
Fizen is one of several USD-pegged Visa and Mastercard products aimed at crypto users in regions where ordinary banking is patchy. The three below are the most useful comparators.
| Card | Score | Where it works | Cost to issue | Main crypto fee | FX | Cashback |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fizen | 6.4 | 160+ countries of use, 43 country exclusions for the card | $9.99 | 0.5% (Adventure marketing says 0) | 1% | FiPoints, USDT vault bonus |
| RedotPay | 6.9 | Two-tier country rule; residents of 47 places cannot get a card | $10 virtual, $100 physical | 1% (default-currency waived) | 1.20% on non-default | $5 welcome, separate Points & Rewards programme |
| Bitpanda | 6.5 | Euro-area residents only (verified via Bankident excluded) | First shipment free, reissue €5.90 | Spread not stated | “VISA mark-up fees apply” | Body says 1%, summary says up to 2% |
| Wirex | 6.7 | 130+ countries, regional fee schedules, Singapore cash withdrawals not permitted | Free in UK/EEA/APAC/SG/AU, £45 metal card | Rate shown in app | “No foreign exchange fees” (card page) | Cryptoback in WXT, 0.5% to 8% |
RedotPay is the closest competitor. Its published rules are clearer: it maintains two lists (a KYC list of unsupported countries and a card-issuance list dated 28 August 2026) and applies them by residence, with Russia, Belarus, Ukraine and Serbia on both. RedotPay issues both virtual and physical cards in USD and HKD, and its card-issuance fee is steeper at $10 for virtual and $100 for physical. Where it beats Fizen is on transparency: the fee schedule is dated (effective 1 December 2025) and lists which merchants carry a 1.5% surcharge. The score is 6.9 because of the same Fizen-style country risk, slightly more so given the Singapore terms I read.
Bitpanda is the right answer if you live in the euro area and want a card tied to a regulated Austrian platform. The rule is by residence, and users verified via “Bankident” cannot order a card. There is no virtual card, no multi-currency, and only EUR balances; the card is a physical Visa debit card. The fee structure is generous on the basics (free first shipment, no monthly fee) and a 1% cashback on crypto spending is the headline reward, although the page summary says “up to 2%” and the two figures are not reconciled in the materials I read. FX is the weak spot: non-EUR transactions carry a “VISA mark-up” with no published number. Score 6.5.
Wirex is the most established name on this list and the one with the largest published fee schedule by region. Card issuance is free in the UK, EEA, APAC, Singapore, Australia and “Other”, the metal card costs £45 with free DHL Express in the UK, and a Cryptoback programme pays in WXT (Standard 0.5%, Premium 3%, Elite up to 8%) with a long list of ineligible MCCs. Cash withdrawals are not permitted in Singapore under that entity’s terms, which is a real limitation for users there. The card page advertises “no foreign exchange fees”, but the fee page uses vaguer language (“market-leading exchange rates, fees viewable in the app”), and the published materials do not give a single FX number. Score 6.7.
The short version of the comparison: choose Fizen if you already hold USDT and want a low-friction USD Visa number with Apple Pay from day one. Choose RedotPay if you want a clearer fee schedule and are willing to pay more at issue. Choose Bitpanda if you live in the euro area and want a regulated Austrian platform behind the card. Choose Wirex if you want the most developed rewards programme and a track record.
Who I would recommend it to
Three reader profiles, in plain words.
The first is the person who already keeps the bulk of their money in USDT on a self-custodial wallet, lives somewhere outside the 43 excluded countries, and wants to turn that USDT into everyday spending without first going through a bank. For that reader, Fizen does the job: USDT goes in, USD comes out at the till, and Apple Pay or Google Pay works from minute one. The trade-offs (1% FX, $0.50 small-txn fee, no cash) are acceptable because the alternative is an extra conversion through a local bank.
The second is someone in a country the Fizen list does not exclude — Georgia, Turkey, Kazakhstan, Armenia, the UAE and many others — who has tried and failed to open a normal bank account or a card with one of the larger crypto card brands, and who is comfortable with the Hong Kong company structure and the unnamed issuer. Fizen’s willingness to onboard in those places is exactly the gap the card is built for, and the cost structure is bearable if you stay in USD and over $50 per transaction.
The third is a heavier user who would otherwise look at Pioneer or Frontier, which offer a physical metal card, 10% or 20% APR bonus on USDT held in the vault, and higher FiPoint cashback. The numbers only work at $999.99 or $9,999, and the tiers are “coming soon” as of the date on this review, so this is a “watch the page” recommendation rather than an action.
Who I would not recommend it to: a reader in any of the 43 excluded countries, a reader who needs a physical card tomorrow, a reader who needs a named EU EMI or UK bank on the back of the card for compliance reasons, a reader who plans to pay in EUR or another non-USD currency most of the time (the 1% FX adds up), and a reader who needs cash from ATMs more than occasionally (the $2 + 1.5% plus FX plus conversion adds significant cost to withdrawals).
Frequently asked questions
What is the Fizen card?
Fizen is a USD Visa prepaid card sold by Fizen Limited, a Hong Kong company. You load it with USDT and spend the resulting USD balance anywhere Visa is taken, in store, online or through Apple Pay and Google Pay. It is one of a growing set of crypto-funded prepaid cards aimed at users who cannot or do not want to use a traditional bank card.
Is Fizen a bank?
No. Fizen’s Master Terms state explicitly that the company is not a bank, an e-money institution or a licensed payment institution. The Visa card itself is issued by a regulated institution under licence from Visa, named only in the Issuer Cardholder Agreement, which is a separate document. Fizen is a programme manager and software provider on top of that issuer.
Who owns Fizen?
Fizen Limited is the operating company, registered in Hong Kong (company number 77059696). On 30 July 2026 Tether announced a strategic investment in Fizen; the amount was not disclosed. The $FIZEN token mentioned in some online discussion had not been launched as of June 2026.
Is the Fizen card available in my country?
The card is unavailable in 43 countries, including the Russian Federation, Belarus, Serbia, India, Mainland China, Croatia, Slovenia, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Iran, Ukraine and Venezuela. The card page separately claims “160+ countries” of use, but does not publish the list. The terms reserve the right to re-check your location, IP and device, and a citizen of a restricted country living in a supported country “may still be eligible” — though the exceptions page is not public.
How do I apply for the Fizen card?
Download the Fizen Super App on iOS or Android, create an account, complete wallet setup, and request a card from the in-app link. Fizen says the application takes five minutes and the virtual card is issued instantly. KYC is required, and the documents the team will ask for are not published; the company may re-check your eligibility later.
Does the Fizen card require KYC?
Yes. The Master Terms say KYC is required “at the level each Service requires”, and that verification happens at sign-up and on an ongoing basis. The exact documents are not stated on the public pages. Fizen may also ask for source-of-funds or a verified destination address when you try to withdraw.
How do I top up the Fizen card?
The default path is to transfer USDT to a Fizen-controlled wallet. QR Pay accepts USDT only on Solana or BNB Chain; tokens other than USDT, or networks other than those two, can be permanently lost. Fiat on-ramps go through Transak. Network fees are paid to the blockchain, not to Fizen.
How do I add the Fizen card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
The card page shows the Apple Pay and Google Pay logos, and tokenisation is supported from day one on the virtual card. The flow is the standard one inside the Fizen Super App: open the card, choose “Add to wallet”, and follow the prompts on your phone. The card is then available for contactless and in-app payments.
Is the Fizen card safe?
Safer than leaving USDT on an exchange, less safe than holding it yourself. Fizen Wallet and Swap are non-custodial (Fizen cannot recover the key); Fizen Card is a custodial balance pooled on Fizen’s internal ledger, and QR Pay is explicitly not segregated. 2FA is required where offered, and unauthorised access must be reported within 72 hours. There is no published insurance on customer balances, and the issuer’s name sits in a separate agreement.
How do I delete my Fizen account or close the card?
Closing a card costs $2.00. QR Pay balances can be “discharged through withdrawal where available”, with Fizen saying it will provide a “reasonable method” — possibly including identity verification, source-of-funds and a verified destination address. The Master Terms do not forfeit QR Pay balances on suspension, and wallet assets remain on-chain after you stop using the platform. Card balance withdrawal terms are in the Card Terms and Issuer agreement, which is a separate document.
App and neobank cards – cryptocardbasics
Content created by the «cryptocardbasics» team
