The SafePal Card, Read Slowly: What a 6.2 Out of 10 Means for You
I have been through the SafePal card’s own pages — the banking gateway articles, the fee tables, the KYC FAQ, the help centre, the app listing — and through what users are saying about the company on Trustpilot and Reddit. What follows is my reading of all of that, written for the person who is actually deciding whether this card is for them. If you have been turned down for an ordinary bank card, or you are in a country where getting one is awkward, the appeal of this thing is obvious before I start. The question is what you get once you are in.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
My score for it is 6.2 out of 10. That is a middling score, and I want to be precise about why, because a single number hides more than it explains. The top-up side is genuinely good. The eligibility side is frustratingly vague. The everyday-use side is thin. And the complaints side is where the mark is worst.
One thing to say up front, because it will decide whether the rest of this page is relevant to you: SafePal’s own audience note, the sort of thing the company itself points at, is owners who want a Swiss IBAN. If that is you, a lot of the awkward parts below are tolerable, because a euro IBAN would not do the job. If you simply want a cheap way to spend crypto at a supermarket, the same parts are not tolerable.
The conditions described here are current as of October 2026.
Who the card suits, and the score in full
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Limited to citizens of supported regions living in supported areas, and the list of those regions was empty when I checked |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | No account creation or management fee, 0% standard top-up, 1% Mastercard fee when settling outside USD, 1 USD/EUR/CHF refund processing |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | Crypto from 40+ blockchains, converted to USDC by default, 10 USDC on Arbitrum to activate |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Swiss IBAN via Fiat24, issuer unnamed, a 2026 data breach, Trustpilot at 3.1 out of 5 across 394 reviews |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual Mastercard, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay and PayPal; no physical card described, unofficial ATM data conflicting |
| Total | 6.2 / 10 | Strong on funding, weak on clarity and complaints |
The two highest marks are the two things you touch first: opening the account and loading it. The two lowest are the two things you touch forever: whether you can rely on it, and whether you can use it the way you use every other card.
Who it suits. Someone who already lives inside the crypto world and wants a euro-denominated payment card backed by a Swiss IBAN, who is comfortable with identity verification done by a partner company rather than by the brand they know, and who will not be destroyed by a 1% fee on non-dollar spending. Someone who plans to load in USDC from Arbitrum and spend in euros. Someone who does not need a plastic card in a postbox.
Who it does not suit. Someone who wants cash from an ATM — the pages say nothing about ATM fees or limits, and the only third-party answers contradict each other. Someone who needs a physical card for a shop that takes card terminals only. Someone who cannot supply a passport and prove an address within 2 km of where they currently are. Someone who wants to know, in advance and in writing, which bank actually issued their card. And someone for whom a provider’s published list of eligible countries is empty when they go looking — that is not a small thing, and I will come back to it.
Will they give you the card
Here is the honest answer: probably, if you are inside the region SafePal supports — but the card’s own pages will not tell you which region that is.
The stated rule is short: *“Citizens of supported regions who live in supported areas.”* That is the whole eligibility sentence. When I fetched the regions page at /en/bank/regions, the list of regions was empty. The headline on that page — “Supported regions for SafePal Fiat gateway” — likewise listed no names. Two pages that should have answered the single most important question for an applicant returned nothing.
What that page did give was limits, which tells you the shape of the eligibility even if not the geography: monthly limits of $100,000 with Mastercard and $1,000 without. That gap is enormous — a hundredfold — and it implies two very different applicant classes. If you are approved without the Mastercard, your account is a low-ceiling version.
So the practical question, “will they give me the card,” has to be answered by you and SafePal, not by me. Before you plan around this card, find out whether your country and your citizenship are both accepted. If you cannot get that confirmed, treat the card as unavailable.
A word on citizenship versus residence, because these come apart in ways that matter. The card’s sentence puts both in it: citizens of supported regions *who live in* supported areas. Being a citizen of a supported country while living somewhere else is not obviously enough. Neither is living in a supported area while holding a passport from somewhere else. Nothing on the pages explains the interaction.
How to get it
The application path runs through identity verification handled by Fiat24, a Swiss compliance and licensing partner, and SafePal says verification is required by its licence and regulator. There are no credit checks and nothing to stake. Good news first: if you are wary of crypto cards because they want you to lock up tokens to get started, this is not one of those.
Here is what the verification actually involves, as the card describes it:
- Email and phone verification, as the first two steps.
- An address check requiring a residential address within 2 km of your current location, with location access granted to the app. If you have just moved, or you travel, or you are between homes, this is the step most likely to stall you.
- A passport scan in the ReadID Ready app. The passport is the only document named anywhere in the process.
- SafePal app version 4.5.0 or newer, and 0.0001 ETH on Arbitrum in the wallet to pay for the transaction.
What is not stated, and I want to be plain about it: the processing time, the minimum age, and the reasons a rejection might occur. The public pages do not say. You will not find a “how long does it take” number or a “why was I declined” list on them.
There is one more thing you should know before you start, and it is a small line with a large consequence. The card is a virtual Mastercard debit card. No physical card is described. The banking gateway help section has no article about physical card delivery — the card’s public pages do not say whether a plastic card exists at all. Two third-party sources (Cryptocardhub on 11 August 2026 and Defillama) also describe it as virtual-only, but that is unofficial and not confirmed by the card.
Spending limits are given in euros, because the balance sits with the Swiss Fiat24 account.
Fees: what it really costs
This is the section where SafePal scores well, and the score is deserved — with one asterisk about how the numbers are presented.

There is no account creation fee and no account management fee. The card issuance fee is not stated. Standard top-up fee is 0%. When the Mastercard settles a payment in a currency other than USD, there is a 1% FX fee. Refund processing costs 1 USD/EUR/CHF, or 7 CNH. Swaps include a spread, but the spread is not quantified anywhere. The bank page separately says crypto top-up can be “as low as 0.4%” on the top tier.
| Fee or limit | What the card says |
|---|---|
| Account creation | No fee |
| Account management / monthly fee | No fee |
| Card issuance | Not stated |
| Standard crypto top-up | 0% |
| Crypto top-up, top tier (bank page) | From 0.4% |
| Deposit rate cited in the tier article | Standard 1% |
| Mastercard settlement outside USD | 1% FX fee |
| Swaps | Include a spread, not quantified |
| Refund processing | 1 USD/EUR/CHF, 7 CNH |
| ATM withdrawal | Not stated |
| Contactless limit | 1,600 EUR/day |
| Other payment methods | 5,000 EUR/day |
| Monthly limit | Equal to the transaction limit; regions page also cites $100,000/month with Mastercard and $1,000/month without |
Now the asterisk. The same product is described with 0%, 0.4% and 1% top-up figures across three different articles. The reading I can defend: the 0% standard rate is the baseline, the 0.4% figure is the top-tier rate advertised on the bank page, and the 1% figure is the standard deposit rate cited in the tier article. Tiers change monthly and rebates apply — for example, Silver pays a standard 1% deposit and gets 0.1% back. So the number you pay depends on the tier you are in when you pay it.
Unofficial third-party pages (cryptocardhub.com, 11 August 2026; defillama.com card page, verified 28 September 2026) describe no opening, management or virtual-card fee, with the main cost being the 1% FX. Treat that as unofficial, not confirmed by the card.
What a few everyday payments actually cost. Take a person in Berlin with a EUR account and a card balance in euros.
- *Groceries, 40 EUR, paid in euros.* No account fee, no top-up fee on the 0% standard rate, no FX fee because the payment settles in an enabled currency. This is the cheapest shape the card has.
- *A coffee in Lisbon, 5 EUR, same card.* The same: nothing at the card level. The 1% only appears when settlement is in a currency other than USD.
- *A subscription billed in USD, 10 USD.* Here the 1% Mastercard fee on non-USD settlement lands, plus whatever the network of the merchant charges on top of that.
- *Anything where you swap first.* If the balance has to be converted before it can be spent, a spread applies on top of the top-up fee, and the card does not quantify it.
The currency rules are the part worth memorising. Swiss IBAN accounts hold fiat, and you enable the currencies you actually use. Payments in an enabled currency carry no exchange fee; otherwise the default currency is used. Zero FX fees for EUR, CHF, USD and CNY. That is a genuinely good structure — it just means you have to do the enabling, and remember that the Mastercard 1% still applies on non-USD settlement even where the account-level FX fee is zero.
How to Top up the card
This is the best part of the product, and the reason the top-up criterion scored 9 out of 10.

You can fund from crypto on 40+ blockchains. The funds are converted to USDC by default, or to fiat, and the transactions run on Arbitrum. That means the practical flow is: crypto in, USDC in the middle, fiat out — with the default conversion path being the one designed to be cheapest and fastest.
Fees, as published:
- Standard top-up: 0%.
- Fiat deposits: from 0.6%.
- Crypto top-up: from 0.4% on the top tier.
- The tier article separately cites a standard 1% deposit rate.
- There is a zero-fee waiver on the on-ramp and on deposits while SafePal’s programme runs — and the card is explicit that the terms can change.
The activation step is specific and easy to trip over: enabling the Mastercard needs a deposit of 10 USDC on Arbitrum, plus ETH for gas, according to an article dated 25 July 2026. The sender pays the blockchain gas for any transfer you send in. This is a network fee charged by the blockchain, not by SafePal.
Getting money back out is where the description thins. Transfers between accounts within the IBAN are free. Transfers to external banks carry no SafePal or Fiat24 fee, though other banks may charge their own. There are help articles on payout transfers. What is not stated: the steps for converting back to crypto, and what happens to any balance left in the account when you close it. If the card is going to be your main money home, ask those questions before you commit anything.
Paying with it every day
Here the score drops to 5 out of 10, and the reason is mostly that there is not much there.
Where it works. Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay and PayPal are supported. A virtual Mastercard works online and in wallets that accept virtual cards. What is not stated is which merchants are blocked. This matters more than it sounds: many issuers block whole merchant categories, and gambling is the classic example — merchant category code 7995 covers casinos, betting and lotteries, and issuers block it by policy rather than by law, with the blocked list differing from one issuer to the next. SafePal does not publish such a list. You will find out by trying.
The physical-card question. No physical card is described on the card’s own pages. Two unofficial third-party sources say virtual only. That means no card in a postbox, no card for a terminal that insists on chip-and-PIN, no card to hand over at a restaurant.
ATM access. The card’s public pages do not say. Unofficial, and conflicting: defillama.com (28 September 2026) lists “ATM withdrawals: Yes” with no fee or limit given, while cryptocardhub.com says there is no physical card at all, which would make ATM withdrawal impossible. Two third-party sources, two different answers, neither confirmed by the card. If cash withdrawal matters to you, this is an open question, not a settled one.
Rewards. There is no cashback. What exists is a referral structure: commissions of up to 40% of referred top-up fees, plus tier privileges tied to your deposits, your referrals, and staking $SFP.
The app. On iPhone and iPad, iOS 15.0 or newer, version 4.11.12 as of 12 October, rated 4.7 out of 5 from 17K ratings on the App Store — a wallet-level rating, not specific to the card, so read it as a rating of the wallet you are already using. The Google Play rating was not read. The app interface includes Russian alongside English and 13 other languages, which matters if you would rather read your banking in it.
If a payment goes wrong. Refunds carry a processing fee of 1 USD/EUR/CHF, or 7 CNH. Failed registrations or banned accounts go to Fiat24 support. What is not stated is the chargeback position — whether you can dispute a payment through the card issuer and on what terms. For an ordinary bank card in most countries, dispute rights are a matter of law: in the US, debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. Here there is nothing published, and no issuer is even named.
A note on why cards like this get declined, since it may save you a confusing afternoon. The first six or eight digits of a card number identify the issuing institution, and merchants can look them up to see which institution and country issued it — and may apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from the billing address. This is why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another. Some merchants also decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards for exactly that reason, and address verification, which compares the numeric parts of the billing address against issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards. You may meet declines that have nothing to do with you or your balance.
What can go wrong
I have grouped these by how likely they seem to hurt you, not by how alarming they sound.
1. Nobody will tell you the issuer. The card’s public pages do not say which institution issues the Mastercard. The IBAN and the fiat gateway come through Fiat24, which handles compliance and licensing and runs the KYC. That arrangement is not unusual in this category — Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers and can suspend a programme — but it does mean the entity you would complain to is named on your statement, not on the card’s website.
2. A data breach, and phishing that used it. SafePal disclosed a data breach exposing order information of about 39,798 customers in 2026. Per SafePal, no seed phrases, keys, card numbers or identification documents were exposed. Users reported phishing with accurate personal data in early July 2026, weeks before the official statement, as reported by news coverage via Blockonomi. This is the part that should concern you: the exposed information was order data, and within weeks people were being phished with accurate personal details. That is not a hypothetical harm chain; it happened.
3. Money that shows as finished and does not arrive. This is the single most damaging complaint pattern in what I read. Users report, for February to September 2026, swaps and withdrawals shown as completed but never arriving. A May 2026 Fiat24 refund arrived with roughly 20% missing, with users told to contact Fiat24. Support was reported as email-only with copy-paste replies in June–July 2026. On Trustpilot, SafePal scores 3.1 out of 5 from 394 reviews (read 20 October 2026), with 57% five-star and 37% one-star; the company answers 93% of negative reviews. Another reading of the same profile gave 3.5 out of 374, so treat the exact figure as a moving number. No review mentions the card or the IBAN directly — the complaints are about the wallet and the fiat side, which is exactly why you should read them as warnings about the account the card sits on rather than about the card itself. Reddit discussions point to delayed transactions and slow support.
4. The fiat on-ramp was already switched off once. In March 2026, SafePal’s own blog carried a note saying the fiat on-ramp is disabled until further notice. Crypto on-ramp through third parties such as MoonPay still worked. So the card’s funding path has been interrupted before, and the published remedy was to route around the partner.
5. Being a plausible phishing target, permanently. Support runs through email and a request form via a Zendesk help centre, and Fiat24 account problems run through a Telegram bot at t.me/fiat24bot. Hours are not stated. Users report phishing and scam calls in July–September 2026 that used order details. SafePal says support runs through a dedicated channel as a protection against impersonation — sensible, but the burden of not complying lands on you.
6. On the regulatory side, the ground is moving. MiCA, the EU’s crypto-asset regulation, took legal effect in June 2023; its rules on stablecoins applied from 30 June 2024 and the rest, including crypto-asset service provider rules, from 30 December 2024. Under MiCA, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. The transitional period lets providers operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused authorisation, whichever comes first — and ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised providers that you can check. Note the structure: a card is a payment service regulated separately under e-money and payment-services law, while MiCA covers the crypto side, so a product like this often rests on two licences. EMIs must safeguard customer funds in dedicated accounts or by insurance, and such funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. That is the general frame for this category, not a claim about SafePal specifically — I found no published statement that this card is or is not covered.
7. The switch being pulled, as a category risk. Programmes end. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer; WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. When that happens the sequence is usually a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. A 2026 closure reported by a secondary source had new loads ending 8 July 2026 and spending stopping 8 August 2026 — single source, unconfirmed.
8. Irreversible transfers and depegged coins. Blockchain transfers cannot be reversed. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address on a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Stablecoins can lose their peg: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023. And stablecoins are not censorship-proof — Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity.
9. Custody, and what it means for your key. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key. The SafePal wallet is described as non-custodial in SafePal’s own replies on Trustpilot, while the KYC and the fiat account are run by Fiat24 — so the wallet side and the money-account side have different risk profiles, which is a genuinely better arrangement than the custodial model. But the alternative has its own cost: with a self-custody-linked setup, you bear sole responsibility for key loss and for phishing. And if you hold USDT on Ethereum you need ETH to move it, because ERC-20 gas is paid only in ETH — a wallet with USDT and no ETH cannot send.
10. Nobody says what happens to your balance at the end. Withdrawal-back-to-crypto steps and the balance on account closure are not stated. Insurance is not stated. There is no dispute or chargeback policy stated. Three “not stated”s in a row on the exits is worth noticing.
I should also say plainly what I did not find. Nothing card-specific in the complaint record about lost money through the card itself. The complaints cluster around the wallet, the gateway and support.
What to take instead
Three alternatives came up in my reading, and I include them because a comparison is more useful than a verdict in the abstract.
| Alternative | Score | Card | Cost | Key upside | Key catch |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SafePal | 6.2 / 10 | Virtual Mastercard, Swiss IBAN | No account fee; 0% standard top-up; 1% non-USD Mastercard fee | 40+ blockchains, default USDC, no cashback clutter | Empty region list, 1% non-USD fee, poor complaints |
| MetaMask | 7.1 / 10 | Mastercard, virtual instantly, metal $199/year | Virtual free, no annual or maintenance fee | Cashback 1% virtual, 3% metal capped at first $10,000 spent | Sign-up open in 45 listed countries/territories; US/UK temporarily closed |
| KAST | 6.1 / 10 | Visa virtual and physical, up to 10 cards | Standard $0, Premium $1,000/year, Private $10,000/year | 0% top-up, 0% USD spend, cashback 1.5%–3% in USD | Tier cost, and a strict residence/ID eligibility test |
| Zeal | 6.1 / 10 | Visa virtual, Apple Pay | No fee schedule published | No additional FX fee, Visa wholesale rate, up to 4% cashback in GNO | Physical card not stated; must hold GNO to qualify for cashback |
MetaMask, 7.1 out of 10. Open in 45 listed countries and territories, with other regions on a waitlist; proof of residency is required, and the company’s own line is that ineligible regions limit sign-ups but not spending. Citizenship rules are not stated, and US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed. The card is a Mastercard from Monovate with Crypto Life as card provider; the virtual card is issued instantly and one card per user is allowed, with a metal version pre-orderable after virtual approval. The virtual card is free with no annual or maintenance fee; metal is $199 a year. Fees are described as a minimal per-transaction amount with no additional MetaMask fees and no foreign transaction fee — but the amount itself is not stated on the pages I read. It spends directly from a connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, and the tokens named include mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC and USDT. Cashback is paid in mUSD into the Money Account: 1% on virtual, and on metal a 3% headline that the footnote caps at 3% on the first $10,000 spent and 1% after.
KAST, 6.1 out of 10. Its eligibility test is the strictest of the three: residence-based, with an explicit rule that living in a supported country while holding an ID from a restricted region may still make you ineligible, that dual citizens with a supported-country ID may pass, that only your own ID is accepted, and that a VPN does not bypass any of it. You can create an account in an unsupported country but KYC stays locked. The cards are Visa, virtual and physical, up to ten per user, with tiers Standard, Premium and Private; balances are in USD with stablecoin deposits converted 1:1 at 0% spread. Cost is where it bites: Standard $0, Premium $1,000 a year, Private $10,000 a year, billed annually upfront with no monthly option, an extra virtual card at $2, a Standard physical card at $0 plus $40 delivery, and an inactivity fee of $1 a month after 12 months. Fees are the best of the group in the places that matter — stablecoin top-up 0%, USD spend 0%, transaction fee 0%, Apple and Google Pay 0% — with a non-USD FX fee of 0.5% to 1.75% depending on your residence country, transaction country and card programme, a fixed $0.10 fee on non-USD transactions under $25, and $0.50 for a declined transaction on insufficient balance. Cashback is in USD: 1.5% on the first $2,000 a month (Standard), 2% on the first $10,000 (Premium), 3% on the first $40,000 (Private).
Zeal, 6.1 out of 10. Spending is said to work in 150+ countries, with issuance dependent on eligibility and regional availability, and the underlying card programme live in the EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, the Philippines, Indonesia and Thailand. The card is a Visa, virtual for online use and addable to Apple Pay, on Gnosis Pay accounts in EUR, USD and GBP; a physical card is not stated. Fees are not stated at all — no schedule is published on the app site or the App Store — but Zeal charges no additional FX fee and converts at the Visa wholesale rate, while Gnosis Pay fees may still apply. Rewards are up to 4% cashback paid in GNO on Gnosis Chain, which you must hold in the card Safe to qualify, and the rates can change.
If you are choosing on numbers alone, KAST’s zero-fee spending is hard to beat and MetaMask’s free virtual card with 1% cashback is hard to argue with. Both ask more of you at the eligibility stage than SafePal does — SafePal asks less, which is either a convenience or the reason its region page is blank.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the SafePal card to someone in this specific shape: you already use SafePal as your self-custodial wallet, you have or want a Swiss IBAN, you live and hold citizenship in a region SafePal confirms it supports, you are comfortable having KYC run by a Swiss partner rather than by the brand, you will load in USDC over Arbitrum, and your spending is mostly online or through a mobile wallet in a currency you have enabled.
To everyone else I would say something more specific. If you need cash, do not start here — the ATM position is not stated and the unofficial sources contradict each other. If you need a physical card, this is a virtual card and the card’s own pages do not promise otherwise. If you cannot produce a passport and an address within 2 km of where you are standing, the verification will stop you. If you spend mostly in dollars, the 1% Mastercard fee is real. If you were hoping to withdraw your balance back into crypto and then stop using the service, that procedure is not stated anywhere and you should ask before you commit funds.
And if you are choosing because an ordinary bank turned you down — which is the reason I started reading — I want to be honest that this card does solve a real problem, but it solves it by putting a licensed Swiss partner between you and the money, and the published information about who issues the card and who answers when funds do not arrive is thinner than the marketing implies. That is why the total is 6.2 and not higher, and why the reliability mark is 4.
Two things worth keeping in mind as background, because they apply to any card in this category rather than this one. Payments involve several parties: the network routes messages and sets rules, a licensed issuer holds the programme, and the crypto brand is often just a programme manager in front. And on taxes: in the US the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local currency at fair market value on the transaction date — which means each card payment funded from crypto may be a separate disposal. I am not giving you tax advice; I am telling you the question exists and that nobody on these pages asks it for you.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the SafePal card?
It is a virtual Mastercard debit card tied to a Swiss IBAN and fiat account operated by Fiat24, SafePal’s compliance and licensing partner. You load it from crypto — 40+ blockchains, converted to USDC by default over Arbitrum — and spend the resulting fiat balance through Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay or PayPal. The card’s own pages do not say which institution issues the Mastercard, and do not describe a physical card.
Is SafePal a bank?
No, not as far as its published material goes. The IBAN and the fiat gateway run through Fiat24, a Swiss company handling compliance, licensing and KYC, while SafePal itself markets the wallet and the programme. A card is a payment service regulated separately from crypto-asset regulation, so a product like this commonly rests on two licences. You are not getting deposit-guaranteed bank savings.
Does the SafePal card require KYC, and what does it involve?
Yes, and SafePal says its licence and regulator require it. Verification is handled by Fiat24: email and phone verification, an address check requiring a residential address within 2 km of your current location with location access granted, and a passport scan through the ReadID Ready app. The passport is the only named document. Processing time, minimum age and rejection reasons are not stated on the public pages.
Is the SafePal card free?
Mostly, yes: there is no account creation fee and no account management fee, and the standard top-up fee is 0%. The card issuance fee is not stated. You do pay a 1% FX fee when the Mastercard settles outside USD, a spread on swaps of unquantified size, and 1 USD/EUR/CHF — or 7 CNH — to process a refund. Some pages cite 0.4% and others 1% for top-up and deposit, depending on tier.
How do I top up the SafePal card?
You send crypto from one of 40+ blockchains, and SafePal converts it to USDC by default or to fiat, with transactions running on Arbitrum. Activating the Mastercard specifically needs a deposit of 10 USDC on Arbitrum plus ETH for gas. The sender pays the network fee. Fiat deposits are listed from 0.6% and crypto top-up from 0.4% on the top tier, with a zero-fee waiver in place while the current programme runs.
Can I use the SafePal card in my country?
Possibly, but the card will not confirm it for you. Eligibility is stated as “citizens of supported regions who live in supported areas”, and when I fetched the supported-regions page it listed no names. The only figures on that page were monthly limits of $100,000 with Mastercard and $1,000 without. Confirm your country and your citizenship with SafePal directly before planning anything around this card.
Does the SafePal card have a physical version?
Not according to the card’s own pages, which describe only a virtual Mastercard and contain no physical-card article in the banking gateway help section. Two third-party sites also describe it as virtual-only, but that is unofficial. Unofficial sources also disagree about ATM withdrawals — one lists them as available with no fee or limit given, the other points out that no physical card exists — so treat cash withdrawal as unconfirmed.
Is the SafePal card safe?
That depends on what you mean. The card itself can be frozen and unfrozen in the app, transactions can be viewed there, and you can set your own spending limit. Against that, SafePal disclosed a 2026 data breach affecting about 39,798 customers’ order information, phishing using accurate personal data was reported weeks later, and Trustpilot showed the company at 3.1 out of 5 across 394 reviews with complaints about completed-but-unarrived withdrawals and slow support.
Where can I use the SafePal virtual card?
Anywhere a virtual Mastercard is accepted online, plus Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay and PayPal. Contactless is limited to 1,600 EUR a day and other payment methods to 5,000 EUR a day, with the monthly limit equal to the transaction limit. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards after looking up the issuer country in the card’s first six or eight digits, and the card does not publish a blocked-merchant list.
Is the SafePal card worth it?
For its core audience, plausibly yes: a free account, 0% standard top-up, funding from 40+ blockchains and a Swiss IBAN is a real combination, and no card in my comparison beat it on funding flexibility. For everyone else the score of 6.2 tells the story — an empty region list, an unnamed issuer, a 1% fee on non-USD spending, no physical card, no ATM detail, no cashback, and unstated dispute and balance-on-closure policies.
Wallet cards – cryptocardbasics
Content created by the «cryptocardbasics» team
