The exchange closed the platform; the card went with it
If you are reading this because you were looking at the BitMart card as a way to spend crypto — or because you already hold one and the payments have started failing — then the headline is simple and unpleasant: BitMart announced a phased shutdown of the whole platform, so the card is not a product with rough edges any more. It is part of a closing business. Everything below is written for that situation: what happened, when, what a holder can realistically still do, and what to look at instead.
I scored the card 3.7 / 10, but that number needs an asterisk: it describes a product that no longer takes applications. The score is not a verdict on the card’s design at the time. It is a verdict on what a card like this amounts to today — and, honestly, what it amounted to even when it was open.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 3.7 out of 10, and the low marks are mostly about availability, not fees
The fees were not the problem. The fees were, in places, among the more reasonable in the category. The problem is that the card’s owner is shutting down, and the score has to reflect what that means for you.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 0 / 10 | The platform is winding down: phased closure announced 26 July, trading ends 26 August, platform operations end 31 January 2027. |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Issuance: virtual 0 USD, plastic 70 USD, Platinum 120 USD. Annual fee 0, transaction fee 1.3%, ATM 2% or 1.5% |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, SOL, ADA, BMX, XRP, LTC, DOGE, TON, BNB from a BitMart balance |
| Reliability and complaints | 1 / 10 | Platform closure, withdrawal delays, Trustpilot 2.3/5 across 2,915 reviews, support silent |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual, plastic and metal Visa, Google Pay for the virtual card, ATMs on the physical ones |
| Total | 3.7 / 10 |
Two of those five lines need unpacking, because they are the ones a reader is most likely to argue with.
The 8/10 for everyday use is the highest mark on the card and it deserves credit. Three card types — virtual, plastic, metal — is more choice than many rivals offer, and a virtual card that appears immediately is genuinely useful for testing a merchant before you commit. Google Pay support on the virtual card is a real convenience, and ATMs on the physical cards are a genuine difference from products that are online-only. I am not marking that down because the platform closed. I am marking it down for a different reason, given below.
The 7/10 for top-up options counts twelve assets you could fund from: USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, SOL, ADA, BMX, XRP, LTC, DOGE, TON and BNB. On the face of it that is a strong list. But the card page never names the networks, and network is the part that decides whether your money actually arrives. That omission costs the mark, and it is exactly the kind of detail that turns a generous-looking list into a guessing game.
The mark that matters most for your decision is 1/10 for reliability, and the number underneath it — Trustpilot at 2.3/5 from 2,915 reviews — is not a card complaint. It is a platform complaint. That distinction is worth holding on to, because it tells you something specific: nobody on the review sites is writing about whether the card works at a shop. They are writing about being unable to get money out of the exchange the card sat on top of.
Who this suited when it existed: people who already had a balance on BitMart and wanted to spend it at ordinary Visa merchants without converting to a bank currency first, with no annual fee and no interest. Who it does not suit now: anyone starting out. The card page said all BitMart users could apply and that it works at Visa merchants worldwide, with no country list given on the page — but as a practical matter, if you are reading this to decide whether to get a crypto card, the decision has already been made for you: this one is not being issued.
One more thing before I move on, because it is the kind of detail that gets glossed over. The card’s issuer is not named anywhere on the card page. Not the legal entity, not the licences. When you spend through a card, three parties are involved: the network routes the payment and sets the rules, a licensed issuer holds the programme, and the crypto brand is often just the front that markets it. When you cannot tell which of those is on the hook for your money, you cannot tell who to write to when a payment goes wrong — and in a wind-down, that is the question that matters most.
What happened to the programme: a dated shutdown, not a quiet discontinuation
Here is the timeline as I found it, because the dates are the single most useful thing in this review. They tell you what to do and how fast.
- 23 July 2026 — a separate notice for identified US users.
- 26 July 2026 — first-stage restrictions on new activity, and the announcement of a phased shutdown.
- 26 August 2026 — the deadline for general users: verification, closing positions, and submitting withdrawal requests.
- 31 January 2027 — the planned end of trading-platform operations.
Read that sequence again and the shape of it becomes clear. New activity stopped first. Trading stopped second. What was left after that was not a company winding down over a comfortable horizon — it was a queue for people who still wanted their money back. The trading platform itself is scheduled to cease operations at the end of January 2027.
What is *not* stated anywhere on the official pages matters as much as what is. The card page says nothing about how card balances are handled during a wind-down. It does not say whether card spending stops on 26 August, whether card balances can be withdrawn, or whether card services outlive the trading platform at all. A separate OneKey guide from 7 August 2026 — not an official BitMart document, so treat it as context rather than instruction — notes that withdrawals may be held for review for reasons including KYC, source of funds, proof of address ownership, Travel Rule checks and sanctions screening, repeats the 26 August deadline and the 31 January 2027 end date, and does not mention the BitMart Card at all.
That silence is the fact. A phased shutdown with a stated deadline, and no card-specific guidance published on the card page. If you are holding one, the reasonable assumption is that the card is not what is being prioritised here — your balance on the exchange is.
There is one more point of context that I want to be careful with. Forklog reported that the founder denied misappropriating user funds. No official regulatory action was found in what I looked at. That matters for calibration: a shutdown with no regulatory finding and no allegation of theft is a different situation from one where funds are contested. But it is not the same as confirmation that everything is fine, and this is not the place to speculate about anyone’s intentions. What I can say is what is documented: withdrawal delays, an announced closure, and a founder’s denial.
If you already hold the card: what is actually left to do
I am going to be blunt, because vagueness here costs money. The card’s terms that people ask me about are largely not stated on the card’s public pages, and I would rather tell you that than dress up a gap as guidance.
- Withdrawing money from the card balance: not stated. There is no withdrawal procedure published for the card itself.
- Top-up costs: not stated. No deposit fee, no minimum top-up, and no fiat top-up route appear on the card page. The card was paid from a crypto balance in your BitMart account, with the instruction to keep enough crypto there.
- Disputes and chargebacks: not stated. The card page has no dispute section at all.
- Delivery, replacement, lost cards: not stated. The page says only that physical cards ship and can be tracked in the account — no countries, no time, no cost, no replacement charge.
- Two-factor authentication, in-app freeze, spending controls, insurance: not stated on the card page.
- Customer support: not stated on the card page, though a help centre exists at bitmart.zendesk.com (support.bitmart.com redirects there).
So what does that leave as practical advice, given the shutdown dates? Four things, none of which are official guidance and all of which are things any holder of a closing exchange’s assets would reasonably consider:
- Treat the exchange balance as the priority, not the card. The card is a thin layer on top of a platform that has already stopped new activity. The deadlines that were published — verification, closing positions, withdrawal requests by 26 August, platform operations ending 31 January 2027 — are the ones with force behind them.
- Complete verification before you need it. A OneKey guide from 7 August 2026, again unofficial, points out that withdrawals may be held for KYC, source of funds, proof of address ownership, Travel Rule and sanctions reasons. Anyone who has meant to do identity verification and kept putting it off is now trading against a deadline instead of a queue.
- Keep your own records. Note transaction IDs, dates, amounts and addresses. Disputed withdrawals are resolved with documentation, and documentation you do not have is documentation you cannot use. Given that the card page has no dispute or chargeback section, and support has been reported silent, your own record is your main asset.
- Expect card services to degrade before they stop. A Visa that works depends on the issuer’s systems staying up while the platform around them is being dismantled. I have not found card-specific complaints, which cuts both ways — it may simply mean that the card failed silently rather than that it worked.
One point of reassurance that is real, even if narrow: the card was custodial, meaning the assets sit in the BitMart exchange account and the card is tied to that balance rather than to keys you hold. That structure means there is no seed phrase to lose, no private key to leak, and no on-chain transfer for someone to intercept. It also means you have no claim on anything except a balance held by the platform — which, in a wind-down, is the whole ballgame.
For completeness, the terms that *were* published, so you know the shape of what you had: daily limits of 10,000 USD for the virtual card, 50,000 USD for the plastic BitMart Card, and unlimited for the Platinum metal card, with monthly limits not stated. ATM fees of 2% on the plastic card and 1.5% on Platinum, with the virtual card having no ATM access at all, Visa-logo ATMs only. Cashback of 4.0% on online shopping in the first month for new users and 3.5% from month two, and 5.5% on grocery and dining in the first month falling to 5.0% — with the payout asset not stated. A 1.3% transaction fee on all three types, settlement in USD, and your balance converted to USD in real time at the moment of purchase. Whether a fee applies for paying in another currency is not stated beyond that 1.3%.
Two of those deserve a flag. Cashback of 4–5.5% is very high for a card with a 1.3% transaction fee — the rates were better than the costs, which is unusual — and the payout asset is not stated, so it was never clear whether you were being paid in a stablecoin, a token or a fiat balance. Third-party sources have put the cashback figure in a different place entirely: “up to 5.5%” per U.Today, “1–10% by tier and merchant” per ChainCatcher, and “1–3.5% standard, up to 10% in promotions” per CryptoCardHub. Those are unofficial and they disagree with the card’s own page, so I would weight the official ranges above and treat the rest as marketing noise from an earlier launch push.
What can go wrong: the failure modes here are mostly upstream of the card
The complaints pattern here is worth separating carefully into two piles, because they behave differently.
Platform pile. Trustpilot sits at 2.3/5 from 2,915 reviews, of which 66 fall in the last 12 months, as read on 20 October 2026. An older third-party report cited roughly 3.1/5 across 2,953 reviews. The recurring themes are: withdrawals blocked or failing after the wind-down announcement, with reviews dated 3 September, 18 September, 9 October and 11 October 2026; support silent from a week to a month across August and September 2026; deposits not credited, or still accepted after suspension, in August and October 2026; no direct notice of closure in September and October 2026; and fraud allegations, which I am recording as unverified allegations and nothing more. One Trustpilot user reported 280,000 USD blocked, and a Hungarian company roughly 80,000 USD unreleased since 26 July.
Card pile: nothing. No card-specific complaints were found. Which is not the comfort it sounds like. When the platform underneath a card is closing, the card rarely generates its own complaint thread — it just stops working, or it keeps working while the balance behind it becomes unreachable.
The mechanism worth understanding, because it explains why so much of this happened: the card was a front end on someone else’s balance. A crypto card is usually a prepaid instrument. Money goes in, it converts to a fiat balance, and the card spends that balance and cannot overdraw it. That design is genuinely protective in a small way — the card itself cannot take you below zero — but it means the card has no independent existence. The value lives wherever the balance lives, and when that platform is being dismantled, the card has nothing to draw on.
Add to that the identity and screening layer. Nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are often applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to country of address. That is not a BitMart quirk; it is the shape of the category. Under EU rules, if due diligence cannot be completed, the institution is required to refrain from the transaction or relationship and, where necessary, end existing relationships — which is exactly why accounts get frozen pending documents. In the US, the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number, and electronic systems also validate proof-of-address documents against records. So a card that needed KYC Level 2 with possible extra documents and proof of address can also be a card whose balances get frozen if a document never arrives.
And then there are the merchant-side frictions that have nothing to do with the issuer being solvent. Merchants can look up the BIN — the 6- or 8-digit issuer identification number at the front of the card — to see which institution and which country issued it, and may apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from the billing address. That is why a card issued in one country looks “foreign” to a shop in another. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs precisely because the lookup reveals the card type and issuer country. Address Verification Service compares the numeric parts of the billing address the buyer typed against issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. A merchant category code of 7995 covers gambling, and many issuers block it on specific cards by policy rather than by law — though whether this card blocked anything is not stated on the page. And a declined authorisation may leave a hold on funds that can remain for several days, typically up to seven.
None of those are complaints against BitMart. They are the ordinary friction of spending a prepaid, foreign-issued, virtual or crypto-funded card anywhere in the world, and they are worth knowing about so that when a payment fails at a shop you have a second explanation beyond “the card is broken”.
What can also go wrong, structurally, without anyone doing anything wrong:
- The funding token. The card was funded from a crypto balance listing twelve assets, networks unnamed. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee, because blockchain transfers are irreversible.
- The gas coin. On Ethereum, fees are paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT and no ETH cannot send it. Tron prices fees through bandwidth and energy, often burning TRX. This is a network fee charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider — but it comes out of the same balance you were trying to move.
- The stablecoin itself. A stablecoin aims to hold a stable value against a fiat currency, and despite the name, stablecoins are not necessarily stable: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022 and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. The BIS put about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation in USDT and USDC in July 2025 — and note that Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option even though it is a common instruction online.
- The reversal question. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the issuer, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received. US debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E, credit card rights from Regulation Z, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. Since this card has no published dispute section, assume nothing.
One genuinely important structural point, and it is a reason to distrust any “anonymous” framing you find around crypto cards: 3-D Secure can shift liability away from you, and it can also shift it onto you. It adds an identity check to online payments, with the issuer assessing risk and either approving frictionlessly or challenging the cardholder with a one-time code or biometric. Visa’s brand is Visa Secure, Mastercard’s is Identity Check, and EMV 3-D Secure 2 supports one-time passcodes and app-based authentication aligned with EU strong customer authentication. Under 3-D Secure, critics argue liability for fraudulent online payments can shift from the merchant to the cardholder’s bank, or to the cardholder.
What to take instead
Three alternatives came through with meaningfully better scores than 3.7, and each is a different answer to a different situation. What they share is a named, live programme — which is the single criterion that separates them from BitMart right now.
| Option | Score | Who it is for | Main constraint |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bybit Card | 6.0 / 10 | The broad multi-region option with virtual and physical cards and a real cashback ladder | Not for European Economic Area customers; region list is specific |
| Coinbase Card | 6.4 / 10 | US users who want a plain Visa debit with no spending or annual fees | US only, all states except Hawaii |
| OKX | 6.2 / 10 | EEA users who want a euro Mastercard linked to OKX Pay | EEA plus Norway, launched 28 January 2026 |
Bybit Card — the broadest reach, and the one that says its limits out loud
Bybit Card scores 6.0. It is the most interesting of the three because it publishes a genuinely detailed regional breakdown, and because it is candid about who it excludes.
On access: the official help centre lists Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and Asia Pacific. The application asks for your country of residence, and if the country is unsupported, Bybit says it will “register your interest” — which is a more honest answer than silence. The cards page states plainly: “This product is not meant for European Economic Area customers. All European Economic Area customer participation is strictly prohibited.” Bybit’s separate restricted list for fiat services — deposits, withdrawals and One-Click Buy, not the card itself — includes Belarus, the Russian Federation, Serbia, China and the United States, and it says Russian users can only make RUB transactions in fiat. I found no card-specific statement about Russian or Belarusian citizens, and no rule distinguishing citizenship from residence; the card currency depends on the country of your Advanced Identity Verification. On who owns BitMart, by contrast, the honest answer I can give is that it is not stated on the card page.
On the card itself: virtual and physical, with a virtual card obtained first, physical not available in Peru, rolled out in phases. Networks vary by region — Argentina Mastercard prepaid; AIFC, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia and Mexico listed as “Mastercard credit card” as written in the table; Brazil and Peru Visa prepaid; Asia Pacific Visa credit. Card fiat currency is USD for AIFC, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia and Asia Pacific; ARS in Argentina; MXN in Mexico; BRL in Brazil; PEN or USD in Peru. Validity runs 3 years for AIFC, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Asia Pacific and Australia, 6 years for Argentina, and 5 years for Brazil, Mexico and Peru. That level of specificity — network, currency, validity, by region — is the sort of thing BitMart’s card page never offered.
On cost and fees: virtual card issuance is free in all regions “until further notice”, and the cards page says “Auto interest, no annual fees”. Physical issuance or replacement is 29.99 USD in Australia, 5 USD/USDT in Argentina, 29.99 USDT in Georgia, 29.99 USDT in Kazakhstan (AIFC), 5 USDT in Asia Pacific, and none in Brazil and Mexico — with VIPs holding a physical card in Australia, Kazakhstan (AIFC), Georgia or Asia Pacific paying no issuance or replacement fee. The conversion fee is 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate in Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Brazil and Mexico, and 0.5% in Argentina; Peru is not supported. FX fees are 2% on top of the network rate in Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia and Mexico; 2% as an “International Fee” in Kazakhstan (AIFC) on purchases outside Kazakhstan even in USD; 7% in Argentina; 1.5% in Brazil; 1% in Peru. FX padding is 0% in the Australia group and Mexico, 5% in Argentina, 1% in Brazil, with the excess refunded. Argentina adds VAT of 21% on foreign digital services, 30% tax on foreign transactions, and provincial gross-income tax of 1%–13.2%.
How it is funded, and this is a real structural difference: the Bybit card has no balance of its own. It draws on the Funding Account and the Flexible Easy Earn balance, fiat first; if fiat is insufficient, crypto is sold at the Bybit One-Click Sell rate plus the card’s crypto conversion fee. Supported assets are BTC, ETH, XRP, USDT, USDC and GRAM, with the default priority USDT over USDC over GRAM over BTC over ETH over XRP, reorderable in the Card Dashboard. The Funding Account itself is topped up with Buy Crypto or by depositing crypto from other wallets.
Rewards, and note the condition, because it changes the whole calculation: from 5 October 2026 at 10:00 UTC, only crypto-funded transactions earn points or cashback; fiat-funded spending does not. The tiers run Base 2.00% with a 5 USD monthly cap, Beta 2% / 50 USD / 500 USD spend to unlock, Alpha 4% / 150 USD / 3,500 USD, Apex 6% / 250 USD / 9,500 USD, Omega 8% / 400 USD / 12,500 USD, and Infinite 10% / 600 USD / 25,500 USD. Points pend for four calendar days; cashback in USDT equals points × 0.002; Auto Cashback must be on. Pay Later instalment bonus adds 1%. There is a welcome offer of 10% cashback up to 110 USDT in the first 30 days, “100% cashback on must-have subscriptions” for VIPs and Alpha and above, and referrals of 20 USDT / 10 USDT.
Coinbase Card — the plainest option, for the US only
Coinbase Card scores 6.4, the highest of the three. Available in all US states except Hawaii, with account opening following the USA PATRIOT Act identity rules — name, address, date of birth, ID. No other countries.
It is a Visa prepaid debit card, virtual or physical, spending cash or crypto, with all crypto converted to US dollars for purchases and ATM withdrawals. On cost, the language is unambiguous: “Zero spending fees and no annual fees”, with all fees disclosed in the Cardholder Agreement and User Agreement. There are no Coinbase transaction fees, but a spread applies when Coinbase buys, sells or trades crypto, so the cost of a crypto-funded purchase is the spread rather than a stated percentage.
Funding is by linking a bank account or depositing part of a paycheck into Coinbase at zero fees, and a crypto balance on Coinbase can be spent and is converted to USD. Rewards are optional crypto rewards on every purchase, US card users only, at a variable rate shown in the app, with the user picking from rotating crypto rewards. I am including this one because if you are in the US and want something structurally boring, this is it — and boring is the right property for a card.
OKX — the euro option for EEA users
OKX scores 6.2 and is the newest of the three: EU plus Norway, launched 28 January 2026, with Iceland and Liechtenstein excluded. The explainer’s conclusion says “entire EEA”, which is inconsistent with the rest of the material — so treat the geography as narrower than that phrasing suggests. The rule is by EEA user of OKX Europe Ltd., the MiCAR-licensed entity.
The card is a Mastercard, euro-denominated virtual debit card linked to OKX Pay, issued via an unnamed European licensed payment provider. No physical card is mentioned. The card fee is none, per the explainer as of May 2026. There is no transaction fee and no OKX FX fee; the conversion spread is given as 0.1% in the explainer as of May 2026 against 0.4% market spread in the launch press release — a conflict, with the explainer being the newer figure. Conversion to euro happens at purchase.
Funding is USDC or USDG held in OKX Pay, via Convert or external deposit; other coins must be converted first. There is no auto top-up, and a payment is declined if the balance is insufficient — a design choice that keeps the prepaid structure honest. Cashback applies only to USDG purchases, with USDC earning none, under monthly caps in EUR: Regular 2% capped at 10, VIP1 4% capped at 300, VIP2 4.5% capped at 450, VIP3 5% capped at 1,000, and VIP4+ 10% capped at 1,000 — where the text says 2–5% and the table says 10%, which is inconsistent. Promotions vary; the launch release advertised a 30-day promo of up to 20% for VIP and 15% for regular users.
One structural caveat worth holding onto for all three: a card is regulated separately from the crypto side. MiCA — the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, which ESMA states took legal effect in June 2023 — covers custody, exchange and transfer, with rules on asset-referenced tokens and e-money tokens applying from 30 June 2024 and the remaining provisions including crypto-asset service provider rules from 30 December 2024. A card is a payment service under e-money and payment-services law, and a crypto card often depends on two separate licences. MiCA also limits who may issue e-money tokens to a credit institution or an electronic money institution, requires e-money institutions to safeguard customer funds by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them, and provides a transitional period letting providers already operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they are authorised or refused authorisation under MiCA, whichever comes first. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised CASPs, white papers and non-compliant entities that you can check a provider against, and a CASP authorised in one member state can serve the whole EU. In the US, FinCEN guidance treats administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency as money transmitters, while people merely buying goods or services with crypto are not.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the BitMart card to nobody right now, and if a friend asked me today what to do with the balance they hold on the platform, I would point them at the published deadlines and the verification requirement, not at the card. The card is downstream of a closing business; the deadline is upstream of it.
If you are starting fresh, pick by geography and pick something with a named programme. In the US, Coinbase Card is the simplest thing that works. In the EEA, OKX is the natural fit if you are already using the exchange, with the euro Mastercard and the no-card-fee structure; just read the reward caps, which are inconsistent between text and table. Across the listed Bybit regions outside the EEA, Bybit Card is the broadest option, and the one that publishes its network, currency and validity terms by region instead of leaving you to infer them.
If you were a BitMart cardholder reading this hoping to keep spending, my honest read is that the card is not the thing to plan around. What to plan around is the exchange balance, the identity checks, and the 26 August and 31 January 2027 dates.
And if your reason for wanting a crypto card in the first place was that ordinary bank cards have been hard to get — because of your country, your documentation, your immigration status, or a banking record — then that problem is real and none of these cards solves it. What these cards do is change *who* you ask and *under which licence*, and that is a different thing from changing whether you are eligible. A card whose issuer is not named cannot fix that; a card whose issuer, entity and licences are published can at least tell you who to complain to. That is worth more than the cashback rate, and it is the thing BitMart’s card page never gave you.
I would also add the one piece of background that should shape any expectation you have of this category, because it explains the pattern behind the BitMart story. Crypto card programmes end. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa card issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. The typical sequence is a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. BitMart’s card is not the first company to walk that road, and the practical lesson is structural rather than personal: the card is the thin part, and the balance is the thick part. Judge the balance.
Frequently asked questions
What is the BitMart card?
It was a Visa payment card issued through the BitMart exchange, offered in three forms: a virtual card issued immediately, a plastic BitMart Card, and a metal Platinum card. It drew on crypto held in your BitMart account, converted to USD in real time at the moment of purchase, and carried a 1.3% transaction fee with no annual fee on any of the three. It no longer accepts applications.
How did the BitMart card work?
You kept crypto in your BitMart account — USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, SOL, ADA, BMX, XRP, LTC, DOGE, TON or BNB, networks unspecified — and the card spent that balance as fiat. It behaved like a prepaid card rather than a bank debit card: the balance converted to USD in real time at purchase, and the card could not overdraw it. Daily limits were 10,000 USD virtual, 50,000 USD plastic, unlimited on Platinum.
Is BitMart a bank?
Not as far as anything I found states. The card page never names the issuing bank, the legal entity or any licence. That matters more than it sounds: when a payment goes wrong, the issuer is the party that has to put it right, and the page does not tell you who that is.
Who owns BitMart?
I could not establish the ownership or corporate structure from the card’s own pages, and the card page says nothing on the point. What is documented is that BitMart announced a phased shutdown on 26 July 2026, with trading ending 26 August and platform operations planned to end 31 January 2027.
Is the BitMart card available in my country?
No — it is closed to new applications. The card page never listed countries and said only that all BitMart users can apply and that it works at Visa merchants worldwide. Third-party sources claimed coverage of 115+ or 183 countries, with conflicting restricted lists, and none of that is confirmed by the card.
Does the BitMart card require KYC?
Yes, it required Identity Verification Level 2, with additional documents possible and proof of address required. The age requirement was not stated, and neither were the processing time or the grounds for rejection. Levels 0 and 1 and what each unlocks were also not stated on the card page.
How do I withdraw money from BitMart?
The card balance withdrawal procedure is not stated on the card’s public pages, and the card is not mentioned in the platform wind-down guidance. What is documented: withdrawals may be held for review on KYC, source-of-funds, address ownership, Travel Rule or sanctions grounds; general users had until 26 August 2026 to submit withdrawal requests; platform operations were planned to end 31 January 2027.
How do I add the BitMart card to Apple Wallet?
I cannot tell you, because the card page never mentioned Apple Pay. It did state that the virtual card can be added to Google Pay. On how tokenisation works in general: Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific Device Account Number held in the Secure Element rather than on Apple’s servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code.
Is the BitMart card safe?
The card itself carried the ordinary risks of any crypto card: custodial balance, irreversible transfers, network fees charged by the blockchain, and stablecoins that can lose their peg. But the real risk proved to be the platform. Trustpilot stood at 2.3/5 from 2,915 reviews, with withdrawal delays, silent support and blocked funds dominating.
Was the BitMart card worth it?
When it existed, on paper, the economics were unusually good: 1.3% per transaction, no annual fee, and cashback of 4.0% falling to 3.5% online and 5.5% falling to 5.0% on groceries and dining. But the issuer was never named, there was no dispute or chargeback section, and 2FA, card freeze and insurance were all unstated. The fee comparison was never the thing that should have decided it.
Exchange cards – cryptocardbasics
Content created by the «cryptocardbasics» team
