The CoinZoom Visa card, weighed against the fees, the limits and the complaint threads
You might be here because ordinary bank cards have been hard to come by, or because you keep some of your balance in crypto and want a way to spend it without selling first. The CoinZoom Visa card sits in that second camp: it is a payment card tied to a CoinZoom exchange account, and at the till it converts whatever crypto is in your wallet into dollars and pays the merchant. The promise is simple, and the gap between the promise and what people actually report is what this review is about. I went through the card’s own pages, the help centre, third-party summaries and the public complaint threads, and I will walk you through what is there, what is missing, and what it means for someone in your position.
The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
CoinZoom is a real, functioning card, but it is a niche product rather than a daily driver. The score below reflects that, and the notes that follow it explain who it suits and who I would steer away from it.

| Criterion | Mark | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Stated as available in 169 countries; third-party count puts 123 open and 81 restricted, with the US missing New York and Washington, the UK, France, Germany, Canada and Australia among the excluded. |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | $0 annual fee on every tier and no CoinZoom foreign-transaction fee, but card-funded top-ups cost 3.99% and an unofficial 1.49% liquidation fee applies when crypto is sold at the till. |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | Any wallet asset converts to USD at point of sale; USDT on ERC-20 and TRC-20 is documented, but the ZOOM token itself cannot be spent. |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | The card issuer is not officially named (third parties point to Zenus Bank), Trustpilot is at 2.5/5 from 66 reviews, 61% of them one star, and CoinZoom surrendered its Washington money-transmitter licence in February 2026. |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual card on approval, free physical card from Silver upwards, no CoinZoom ATM fee; Google Pay is documented, Apple Pay is not confirmed. |
| Total | 5.9 / 10 |
If you are holding a meaningful bag of the ZOOM token and want tiered crypto back on everyday spending, the card is built with you in mind — that is the audience the rewards table is clearly aimed at. If you are simply looking for the cheapest or the smoothest way to spend crypto at a café, the fee stack, the complaint ratio and the regulatory friction make this a card I would use as a backup rather than a primary one.
Who they will issue the card to
CoinZoom’s home page puts the headline figure at “available in 169 countries.” That is a company-level statement and the card’s own pages do not publish the underlying list. A third-party summary that I read alongside the official material lists 123 countries as actually available and 81 as restricted, and names Canada, Australia, the United Kingdom, France and Germany among the excluded ones. The same source flags a specific edge case: “European Union residents cannot order the card” even where the platform is otherwise usable in the EU, which is worth checking before you sign up if you live in an EU member state.
In the United States the card is issued in 48 states; New York and Washington are the two named exceptions, and the Washington restriction is now compounded by a regulator-level event I will come back to in the risks section.
What this means for you, in practical terms:
- If you live in a country CoinZoom has not published as supported, the safe assumption is that the card will not be issued to you, even if you can in principle hold a CoinZoom account.
- If you are an EU resident, treat the card as unavailable to order regardless of which member state you are in.
- If you are in a US state other than New York or Washington, eligibility should be straightforward, but the recent licence change in Washington is a signal worth reading further down.
One thing the official pages do not spell out is the citizenship-versus-residence question. Some issuers and exchanges screen by passport, others by where you actually live, and the answer can differ for the same product. CoinZoom’s public card material does not separate the two, so if you hold a passport from a restricted country but live somewhere supported, the only reliable way to find out is to attempt the application and see what the in-app verification step says.
How to get it
The card is ordered through the CoinZoom app, and the order of operations is the same one as for most exchange-linked cards: you open and verify an account first, then request the card.
Identity verification happens in the app before the card is issued. The card’s own pages do not list the documents required — a third-party summary from August 2026 names legal name, date of birth, tax or national ID number, phone number, a government photo ID, and a liveness or biometric check, with occupation, source of funds and sanctions information possibly asked for as well. The card’s official pages do not confirm any of this list, and they do not give a processing time, an age threshold or a set of rejection reasons, so I am not going to treat any of those details as confirmed.
Once verification is approved, you get a virtual Visa debit card immediately. The card’s currency is US dollars, and the app converts the asset you hold in your CoinZoom wallet into USD at the point of sale. A physical card is shipped free if you hold at least 10,000 ZOOM, the threshold for the Silver tier; otherwise a Non-Prime user pays $5 for standard shipping in the third-party table, with $12 expedited US and $60 expedited international listed for the same source. The card’s own help-centre shipping line confirms the $5 Non-Prime standard fee. Delivery time and the cost of a replacement card are not stated by CoinZoom publicly.
A few practical points worth flagging before you start the application:
- Make sure the app is installed from the official store for your platform; the third-party app ratings are around 4.7 on the Apple App Store and about 3.9 on Google Play, but those cover the whole exchange app rather than the card experience specifically.
- Have a government photo ID and a proof of address ready, and expect the in-app camera to ask for a selfie. If your name has changed, the third-party complaint log has a cluster of “KYC name-mismatch” cases that the support team did not always resolve quickly, so set aside time to handle that if it applies to you.
- Hold at least $10 in the account and the ZOOM balance required for your tier if you want a free physical card; otherwise the order will still go through but you will be charged the $5 shipping fee.
What it really costs: the everyday fee stack
The headline numbers on the card are friendly: $0 annual fee on every Prime tier, no CoinZoom foreign-transaction fee, and no CoinZoom fee on cash withdrawals at “1 million+ ATM locations” (the network being Visa’s ATM locator figure, not CoinZoom’s own network). The cost story, though, is built from a stack of smaller charges, and a few of them are not on the official fee page.
The table below pulls together what the card’s own pages confirm. Lines marked unofficial are not confirmed by CoinZoom and are reported by third parties.
| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Annual fee (all tiers) | $0 |
| Card issuance fee | Not stated by CoinZoom |
| Card-funded top-up (deposit) | 3.99% ($1.99 min) on all tiers; Black 2.99% ($1.99 min) |
| Wire deposit | $12 (Black tier free) |
| Foreign transaction fee (CoinZoom) | $0 (“standard network conversion rates may apply”) |
| ATM withdrawal fee (CoinZoom) | $0 |
| Crypto liquidation at point of sale | Unofficial: 1.49% |
| Instant transfer to a debit card | Unofficial: 1.75% ($1.50 min) |
| Wire withdrawal (US / international) | $35 / $50 (Black tier free) |
| ACH withdrawal | Unofficial: free, $1 min, $40,000 max |
| Inactivity fee | Unofficial: $4.99/month after 6 months, $9.99/month after 12 months; $100 account-closure fee at 36 months |
| Standard shipping, Non-Prime physical card | $5 (confirmed) |
| Standard shipping, Silver and above | Free (confirmed) |
| Expedited US shipping | Unofficial: $12 |
| Expedited international shipping | Unofficial: $60 |
| Virtual card reissue | Unofficial: 1,000 ZOOM |
| Physical card replacement | Unofficial: free |
Three everyday scenarios help turn the table into something a person can use.
A coffee in your local currency. You pay at a domestic merchant. The relevant line is the crypto liquidation: if you fund the card from, say, USDT, the 1.49% unofficial spread on the market-order sale is the cost, on top of the merchant’s own card acceptance. With no foreign-transaction fee, this is broadly the only cost in a domestic purchase. For a $5 coffee that is roughly 7¢, which is the kind of figure a person can absorb.
A dinner abroad. You pay in a foreign currency and the card converts your crypto to dollars and then to the local currency. CoinZoom does not charge its own foreign-transaction fee, but the network and the merchant’s bank each take a cut, and the card’s own page notes that “standard network conversion rates may apply.” That is the line to watch, not a flat percentage. If you also topped the card up by debit card before travelling, the 3.99% top-up fee applies first, so a $200 top-up carries an upfront ~$8 before you have spent anything.
A cash withdrawal at an ATM. The CoinZoom side of the ATM fee is $0, but the ATM operator may charge its own fee, and there are daily and per-transaction limits that depend on your tier. The unofficial daily ATM cap is $100 at Non-Prime and rises to $1,000 at Black. A single withdrawal at Non-Prime is capped at $200 per the unofficial figures, so you may need more than one ATM visit for a larger amount, with the operator fee applying each time.
One last fee worth knowing about is the one that does not appear in CoinZoom’s own cost summary: the unofficial 1.49% liquidation fee that third parties report for selling crypto at the till. If you are budgeting around the card, treat that as the working number for “what does it cost me to spend crypto?” and remember the page does not confirm it.
Top up: getting value onto the card
There is no separate “card balance” in the sense of a pre-loaded pot. The card spends the CoinZoom wallet itself, converting whatever asset you hold into US dollars at the point of sale. That model means a top-up is really a top-up of the underlying wallet, and the card then draws on it as you spend.

The card’s own pages confirm two funding channels: a debit-card deposit, which costs 3.99% with a $1.99 floor on all tiers except Black (2.99% with the same floor), and a wire deposit at $12 (free for Black). ACH is not described on the card’s own pages; the unofficial summary says it is free with a $1 minimum and a $40,000 maximum.
For crypto, the unofficial picture is more specific: USDT is the stablecoin with documented deposit support, on ERC-20 and TRC-20. A few practical implications:
- A USDC holder will need to convert to USDT, or to a CoinZoom-supported asset, before the wallet sees the balance.
- Sending USDT on a network CoinZoom does not support — anything outside ERC-20 and TRC-20 — is the kind of mistake that is hard to undo, because blockchain transfers are irreversible and support recovery is not guaranteed.
- The ZOOM token, despite being the asset that determines your Prime tier, cannot be spent with the card in the unofficial account, which is worth bearing in mind if you were planning to clear a position by spending it.
The card’s own pages do not state minimum top-ups, who pays the on-chain network fee, or which specific coins beyond USDT are supported. If you plan to use a coin that is not USDT, the safe path is to test with a small transfer first or to ask support before sending a meaningful amount.
Paying with it every day
Once the card is in hand, the daily mechanics are standard for a Visa debit card: tap or insert at the till, enter a PIN, get an authorisation. There are a few CoinZoom-specific details to be aware of.
The card currency is US dollars. If you are buying something priced in a different currency, the merchant’s bank and Visa’s network handle the conversion from USD, and the card’s own line is that “standard network conversion rates may apply.” That is not the same as a CoinZoom foreign-transaction fee, and it does not mean a percentage is added; it means the network rate is the rate.
Mobile wallets are the one place the official and unofficial pictures disagree. The third-party account says Google Pay works for active cards; Apple Pay is “not clearly confirmed” for the card. If you rely on a phone wallet, treat Google Pay as the working option and Apple Pay as something to verify in the app before you commit to the card on that basis.
The Prime tier table ties together rewards, daily purchase limits, daily ATM limits and the per-transaction ATM cap. ZOOM holdings set the tier; the card’s own help-centre table is the source.
| Tier | ZOOM held | Rewards | Daily purchase | Daily ZoomMe | Daily ATM | Per-transaction ATM | Trading fee discount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Non-Prime | 0 | 0.5% | $700 | $500 | $100 | $200 | 0% |
| Silver | 10,000 | 1% | $1,500 | $1,000 | $250 | $250 | 10% |
| Gold | 50,000 | 2% | $2,500 | $2,500 | $250 | $250 | 20% |
| Diamond | 150,000 | 3% | $5,000 | $5,000 | $500 | $1,000 | 30% |
| Black | 300,000 | 5% | $10,000 | $10,000 | $1,000 | $2,000 | 50% |
The rewards rate for Diamond (3%) is taken from a third-party reading of the table; the card’s own image filenames on this version of the help centre list 5% only at the Black tier, so the 3% Diamond figure is unofficial. Cashback is paid in crypto; the specific coin is not stated officially, so it is fair to assume it follows the platform’s default rather than a coin of your choice.
Block-merchant categories are not stated on the card’s own pages, which means the usual gambling and similar categories may or may not be allowed. The general pattern for exchange-linked cards is that some categories are blocked by issuer policy, but you will not know which ones until you try, and asking support in advance is the most reliable way to find out.
The cardholder agreement gives you a lock and freeze control in the app’s Spend tab, so a lost or stolen card can be shut down from your phone. Visa’s Zero Liability Policy applies if you report unauthorised or fraudulent charges promptly, but the card’s own pages do not state the time frame for “promptly”, and the unofficial complaint log has cases where users felt refunds were slow.
What can go wrong
The complaint log is the part of the review I find hardest to write, because most of it is second-hand and a person’s experience of support is exactly the kind of thing that varies day to day. I will tell you what is documented, what is not, and what is worth treating as a yellow flag rather than a deal-breaker.
Trustpilot. As of 20 October 2026, Trustpilot shows CoinZoom at 2.5/5 from 66 reviews, with 61% of those reviews at one star and 29% at five. The cluster of one-star reviews in the second half of 2026 centres on funds said to be held or sent to closed accounts, support tickets that went to a bot and stayed there, deposits that did not arrive, registration or verification flows that got stuck, and complaints about fees being higher than the advertised 5%. CoinZoom replies to roughly 70% of the negative reviews on the platform, which is a better response rate than a lot of crypto products, but the underlying issue in many of those cases is not “we replied” but “we have not yet resolved it.”
The Washington licence. On 9 February 2026, a Washington State Department of Financial Institutions consent order records CoinZoom surrendering its Washington money-transmitter licence, with a $150,000 fine of which $50,000 is stayed, and a bar on resuming money transmission in the state before 9 February 2029. I am taking this from a third-party summary, not the DFI document itself, so it is worth your time to look up the order if the US state you live in is Washington. The practical effect for a non-Washington US resident is more about the signal it sends: a state regulator concluded the company had not met its obligations, and the remedy was a licence surrender. That is a fact about CoinZoom, not a prediction, and it is the kind of record a person should know about before parking meaningful funds in any custodial product.
The card issuer. CoinZoom, Inc. is described on its own pages as a FinCEN-registered money services business and a licensed money transmitter in applicable jurisdictions, but the Visa issuer and BIN sponsor are not named on the card’s own material. The unofficial account attributes the issuing bank to Zenus Bank, with Cross River Bank holding fiat in non-MTL states, BitGo providing wallet technology, and an NMLS number of 1735216. I am calling these unofficial because CoinZoom does not state them on the card pages. If the identity of the issuer matters to you — for example because your bank’s fraud team will want to know which bank to call — that gap is worth raising with support before you load the card.
Security and recourse. The app lets you lock or freeze the card instantly, and Visa’s Zero Liability Policy is the recourse path for unauthorised transactions reported promptly. Beyond that, the card’s own pages do not describe a dispute process. There is no mention of time frames, reason codes or escalation paths. The general background for crypto cards is that chargeback rights are weaker than for credit cards and that the issuer is usually the party that has to act on your behalf, so a card with an unnamed issuer and an unspecified dispute flow is a card where you are betting on a support ticket being opened and answered.
Custodial risk. CoinZoom holds the crypto, and the card spends from that holding. If the platform fails, the usual outcome is a long, partial recovery process with the bankruptcy estate, not a same-day refund. The historical record for crypto custodians is not encouraging: Mt. Gox, Coincheck, Ronin and others have lost hundreds of millions of dollars. Holding funds on any custodial product carries that counterparty and hack risk, and the card does not change it.
Sanctions and stablecoin freezes. Stablecoin issuers can and do freeze addresses on sanctions lists, which is a reminder that the assets you think of as “your” USDT or USDC are, at the protocol level, controlled by the issuer as well as by the network. If your address ends up on a list, the balance becomes inaccessible, and the card cannot help you there.
What to take instead
The three alternatives below are the ones that come up most often in the same conversation as CoinZoom, and they cover the three most common reasons a person would be shopping around: lower fees, broader availability, or a different rewards model. Each is rated against the same scale, and the notes that follow the rating tell you where the alternative pulls ahead of CoinZoom and where it does not.
| Card | Score | Where it pulls ahead | Where it falls short |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bybit Card | 6.0 / 10 | Crypto conversion fee 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate in most regions (0.5% in Argentina), no virtual-card issuance fee “until further notice”, and a tiered cashback system in USDT up to 10% at the top tier with auto cashback on | Regional list is narrow: Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and an Asia Pacific roll-out, with EEA customers explicitly prohibited; physical card is $29.99 in Australia, AIFC and Georgia, and 6% FX padding applies in Argentina on top of the 7% foreign-transaction fee |
| Coinbase Card | 6.4 / 10 | Zero spending fees and no annual fees on the US card, all fees disclosed in the Cardholder Agreement, and the rewards programme lets a US cardholder pick a rotating crypto reward | US-only (all states except Hawaii), the spread is the real cost when crypto is converted, and you are inside the Coinbase product surface end to end |
| OKX card | 6.2 / 10 | Euro-denominated Mastercard virtual debit card for EEA and Norway, with no transaction or OKX FX fee, conversion spread 0.1%, and cashback on USDG purchases (USDC earns none) | USDC on Tron is not supported by Circle, so USDC on TRC-20 is not available; cashback table varies between platform tiers; physical card is not available. |
If your priority is the lowest crypto-to-fiat spread, Bybit’s 0.9% in most regions is materially cheaper than the unofficial 1.49% CoinZoom is reported to charge. If your priority is a US card with published fees, the Coinbase Card is the simpler product to reason about, with the spread doing the work that a flat fee would otherwise do. If you are in the EEA and want a euro card with a low spread, OKX is the option the recent third-party explainer puts in front of you, and the USDG-only cashback is a constraint to read carefully before you start using it.
A short note on what none of these cards match. None of them is as ZOOM-centric as CoinZoom, and none of them offers a Black-tier 5% cashback with a 300,000-token threshold the way CoinZoom does. If your reason for being here is to be rewarded for holding the platform’s own token, CoinZoom is more generous than the alternatives. If your reason is to spend a coin you already hold with as little friction as possible, the alternatives are closer to the mark.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the CoinZoom card to a fairly narrow set of readers, and I would steer the rest of you toward the alternatives above.
I would recommend it to:
- A reader who already holds ZOOM as part of a deliberate strategy, is comfortable staying in the CoinZoom product surface, and wants the tiered cashback that grows with the balance. Black at 5% is the headline; Silver at 1% is the floor that still beats a lot of debit cards.
- A US-based reader in any state other than New York or Washington, who needs a virtual card quickly, has access to USDT on ERC-20 or TRC-20, and plans to use the card for domestic spending.
- A reader who is happy with a custodial model, has read the Washington consent order, and is treating the card as a secondary spending tool rather than a primary bank account.
I would steer you away if:
- You live in the UK, France, Germany, Canada, Australia or any other country on the unofficial restricted list, or you are an EU resident anywhere.
- You need Apple Pay, or any mobile wallet beyond Google Pay, and you do not want to gamble on whether the card will tokenise in your wallet of choice.
- You want the cheapest way to convert crypto at the till: Bybit’s 0.9% is below the unofficial 1.49% here.
- You want a card from a clearly named, well-capitalised issuer, with a documented dispute process and time frames. CoinZoom’s own pages do not name the issuer and do not describe the dispute flow.
- You are storing a meaningful part of your net worth on the platform, given the Trustpilot ratio and the recent licence history.
For the right reader, the card is a reasonable fit, and the tiered rewards are the genuine upside. For most readers, the combination of the unofficial 1.49% liquidation fee, the unnamed issuer, the licence history and the complaint ratio will push the answer toward one of the alternatives.
Frequently asked questions
What is the CoinZoom card?
It is a Visa debit card linked to a CoinZoom exchange account. The card’s currency is US dollars, and at the point of sale the app converts whatever asset is in your wallet into USD to pay the merchant.
How does the CoinZoom card work?
You verify your identity in the CoinZoom app, get a virtual card immediately on approval, and order a physical card from the in-app Spend tab. When you tap or insert the card, CoinZoom sells the wallet asset for USD at the network rate and the merchant is paid in dollars. In a foreign currency, the merchant’s bank and Visa’s network handle the dollars-to-local-currency conversion at their standard rate.
Is CoinZoom a bank?
No. CoinZoom, Inc. is registered as a money services business with FinCEN and holds money-transmitter licences in the states that require them, but it is not a bank and the card issuer is not named on CoinZoom’s own pages. Third-party sources point to Zenus Bank as the Visa issuer, with Cross River Bank holding fiat in non-MTL states. Funds on the platform are not FDIC-insured.
Who owns CoinZoom?
CoinZoom, Inc. is the company. It is a private entity and does not maintain a public disclosure of its ownership or controlling shareholders.
Is the CoinZoom card available in my country?
Officially, the card is available in 169 countries, but the underlying list is not published on CoinZoom’s own pages. A third-party summary lists 123 countries as actually supported and 81 as restricted, with Canada, Australia, the UK, France and Germany among the excluded, and EU residents said to be unable to order the card even where the platform is otherwise usable. In the US the card is issued in 48 states, with New York and Washington excluded.
How do I get the CoinZoom card?
Install the CoinZoom app, complete identity verification, and request the card from the Spend tab. You will get a virtual card on approval, and a physical card will be shipped to you (free from the Silver tier; $5 standard shipping at Non-Prime).
Does the CoinZoom card require KYC?
Yes. Identity verification happens in the app before the card is issued. The card’s own pages do not list the specific documents or the time the check takes; a third-party summary lists a government photo ID, a proof of address, a phone number, a tax or national ID, a date of birth and a liveness check, with occupation, source of funds and sanctions information possibly asked for.
How do I top up the CoinZoom card?
There is no separate “card balance” in the usual sense. The card draws on your CoinZoom wallet, which you can fund by debit card (3.99% on all tiers except Black at 2.99%), by US or international wire ($12, free for Black) or, in the unofficial account, by USDT on ERC-20 or TRC-20. ACH is described in third-party material as free with a $1 minimum and a $40,000 maximum.
How do I add the CoinZoom card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
The third-party account documents Google Pay for active cards and does not confirm Apple Pay. Treat Google Pay as the working option and verify in the app before you commit to Apple Pay.
Is the CoinZoom card safe?
It carries the standard crypto-card risks. CoinZoom is a custodian, so the platform’s solvency is your counterparty risk, and the card’s issuer is not named on the official pages. The card has an in-app freeze and Visa’s Zero Liability Policy for unauthorised charges reported promptly, but there is no documented dispute process or time frame on the card’s own material. The Washington licence surrender in February 2026 is a relevant fact for anyone deciding whether to keep meaningful funds on the platform.
Exchange cards – cryptocardbasics
Content created by the «cryptocardbasics» team
