A virtual Visa you load with USDT, 1% from October, and an issuer nobody names
The MEXC card is a virtual Visa Platinum, launched on 31 August 2026 as the “MEXC Global Card,” that you fund with USDT and spend like an ordinary debit card, with cashback in USDT when you pay through Apple Pay or Google Pay. That is the pitch, and on paper the arithmetic is decent: no annual fee, no top-up fee, zero percent conversion on crypto, and a currency rate at the plain Visa rate with no added mark-up. Then, from 1 October 2026, a 1% transaction fee starts applying — the card page showed it waived between 31 August and 30 September 2026. So the card that launched free of a spending fee now costs 1% of every payment, and the fee is taken in USDT, not dollars: a 100 USD purchase deducts 101 USDT.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
There is also a second MEXC card, the APAC version, aimed at selected Asia-Pacific markets, which charges a different way: 0% issuance, 0% transaction fee, but 1% on crypto conversion and the Visa rate plus 1% on non-USD purchases. Two products, two sets of numbers, and the card pages do not always make it obvious which one you are reading about.
What gives me pause is everything the pages do not say. The issuer is not named. The card is custodial, with your spending balance held at the exchange. The card exists only as a virtual product — no physical card, no ATM. You can only load it with USDT, and the networks to use are not named. The limits are published, but the card points at a separate fee-and-limits guide that was not reachable when I checked. And the exchange itself sits at the centre of a long list of user complaints about frozen accounts and delayed withdrawals.
I scored this card 5.6 out of 10. Not because it is a scam — nothing I found says it is, and the cashback tiers are among the more generous on paper — but because it asks you to hand your money to a custodial platform, through a product that has no physical card and no ATM, at an exchange whose reliability record is the weakest part of the package.
Who is the MEXC card for, and who should let it pass
Here is my breakdown, criterion by criterion, out of 10:
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8/10 | Global Card is closed to residents of 69 countries and territories; everyone else is admitted by the country on the proof of address. The application blacklist as of August 2026 includes the United States, China, India, Indonesia, Turkey and Russia among others; the Philippines, Taiwan, Vietnam and Thailand are not on it. |
| Cost | 7/10 | Global Card: 20 USD issuance (temporarily waived), 0% annual and top-up, 0% crypto conversion, currency at the Visa rate with no mark-up, but a 1% payment fee from 1 October 2026. |
| Top-up options | 4/10 | USDT only, and you have to move it to a Fiat account first. The networks are not named. |
| Reliability and complaints | 3/10 | The issuer is not named and the balance sits at the exchange. On Trustpilot the exchange has 1,368 reviews, 88% of them one-star, with themes of frozen accounts and delayed withdrawals. Unofficial sources place MEXC on a Hong Kong regulator’s suspicious-platforms list. |
| Everyday use | 4/10 | Virtual Visa Platinum only. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported. There is no physical card and no ATM. |
| Total | 5.6/10 |
So who suits this card, and who does not?
The card is built for someone who already holds USDT, sits in Asia or one of the 69-excluded or 69-included regions the platform serves, and wants their crypto balance to pay for ordinary things — coffee, transport, subscriptions — with a slice of it coming back as cashback. The audience note that fits best: USDT holders in Asia who want cashback. The cashback tiers are real, they are paid automatically by the 15th of the following month, and at the top tier the rate reaches 10% up to 800 USDT a month, which is well above what most cards in this category offer.
It is not for someone who wants a physical card in their wallet, or who needs an ATM, because neither exists. It is not for someone who intends to hold a large balance on it, because the balance is held by the exchange, not by a licensed bank in a way the card page describes, and no safeguarding or insurance statement is published. And it is not, in my view, for someone whose main worry is that a payment will be declined for reasons they cannot see — because that is precisely the pattern the exchange’s user complaints describe.
Will they give you the card?
The short answer is: probably, if your country of address is on the allowed side of the line, and if you clear Advanced KYC. But the answer is more conditional than the marketing implies.
The card page lists regions with a “Details” link, naming “The Philippines, Taiwan, Thailand…” among them, without showing the full list. Eligibility follows the country on your proof of address, and as of August 2026 the application blacklist includes the United States, China, India, Indonesia, Turkey and Russia among others. The Philippines, Taiwan, Vietnam and Thailand are not blacklisted. The list changes, so the country you read about today is not a guarantee for tomorrow.
Third-party sources put the reach differently. Unofficial, and not confirmed by MEXC’s own pages: DefiLlama lists the card in 110 countries, and SpendNode says the Global Card covers Southeast Asia, Latin America, Africa, the Caribbean, the Gulf, Central Asia, plus Japan, South Korea, New Zealand and Israel — per DefiLlama and SpendNode, 2026. That unofficial footprint excludes Russia and Turkey, which the official blacklist does include. Where the two disagree, the card’s own list is the one that governs your application.
The other half of the question is age. The card page says Advanced KYC is required before you apply — government ID plus face verification — and a proof of address from an eligible country, with no income proof required. But the age requirement is not stated anywhere on the card pages. I have not found it, and you should not assume it is 18; prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults, but some issuers set a higher limit for their own products. Check your own jurisdiction’s rules before you try.
How to get it
The steps are short, which is not the same as being simple.
- Complete Advanced KYC on the exchange — a government ID and a face verification.
- Apply on the My MEXC Card page.
- Transfer USDT to your Fiat account, then fund the card from there.
There is no income proof to supply. There is also no stated processing time for the application and no stated list of rejection reasons, so if it does not go through you will not know from the page why. The network and the card currency are not stated on the main card pages either; unofficial catalogues elsewhere put the card on Visa, which matches the official Visa Platinum branding.
What you get, at the end of it, is a virtual card. Physical cards are “not yet available” on the card page, so there is no delivery step to wait for — the card appears in your account. That also means no shipping delay, but equally no plastic to hand to a merchant who wants to see it.
Fees: what it really costs you
The cost picture is where this card is at its best and its worst at the same time. Let me take it in layers, because the card charges you in two different ways depending on which product you hold.

| Fee or limit | MEXC Global Card | MEXC Card (APAC) |
|---|---|---|
| Issuance | 20 USD standard, waived for a limited time (as of Aug 2026) | 0 |
| Annual fee | 0 | 0 |
| Top-up fee | 0 | 0 |
| Crypto conversion | 0% | 1% |
| Currency (FX) | Visa rate, no MEXC mark-up | Visa rate plus 1% on non-USD purchases |
| Transaction / spending fee | 1% from 1 Oct 2026 (a 100 USD purchase deducts 101 USDT) | 0% |
| ATM withdrawal | Not applicable to virtual cards (no ATM for virtual cards) | Not applicable to virtual cards |
| Per-transaction limit | 80,000 USD | 50,000 USD |
| Per-day limit | 1,000,000 USD; 100 transactions per day | 50,000 USD; 50 transactions per day |
| Monthly / yearly limits | No monthly or annual spend cap listed; 2,500 monthly and 25,000 annually transactions per support article | 1,000,000 USD per year; 1,040 transactions per year |
A few things to notice in that table. The Global Card’s 20 USD issuance fee is listed as “waived for a limited time” as of August 2026, and the card page shows it possibly next to a 0 USD discounted price — the page is not entirely clear about whether you are being charged. The monthly fee is not stated. And the card page points at a separate fee-and-limits guide for the full schedule, which was not reachable when I checked, so treat the table above as the best I could assemble from the card’s own pages, not as the complete official schedule.
Both cards are USD-denominated and funded in USDT. Other currencies are converted by Visa, and the Visa spread is said to be usually 0.1% to 0.3%. Multi-currency balances are not offered.
Now, three everyday payments, and which fees bite.
A 20 USD coffee paid in your own country, in dollars, on the Global Card. The 1% transaction fee applies — 20 USD becomes 20.20 USDT. The crypto conversion fee does not apply, because you are not converting crypto at the point of sale. If your coffee is priced in your local currency and not in dollars, Visa converts at its rate with no MEXC mark-up, so the only MEXC-side cost is the 1%.
A 30 USD subscription paid in euros. Same shape: 1% on the top, Visa’s rate on the currency change, no mark-up added. But be aware that a foreign-issued card can attract extra friction at the till regardless of fee — see the risks section.
A 40 USD purchase where the balance is topped up from USDT as you spend. Here the Global Card’s 0% crypto conversion fee is its strongest point — no percentage is taken when crypto becomes spendable balance. On the APAC card, that same 40 USD would pick up the 1% crypto conversion fee. This is the single clearest reason to prefer the Global Card if your spending is crypto-funded.
The APAC card’s extra 1% on non-USD purchases is worth understanding separately: it is not an FX mark-up in the usual sense, it is a surcharge Visa’s rate cannot offset. If you mostly spend in dollars, the APAC card is the cheaper product despite the 1% conversion fee, because its transaction fee is 0%. Which card is right for you depends less on the headline numbers than on whether your spending is dollar-denominated and whether it is crypto-funded.
Top up the card
Topping up is USDT-only, and it is a two-step move rather than a direct deposit.

USDT is transferred to your Fiat account on the exchange, and then added to the card from the My MEXC Card page. There is no top-up fee, and moving USDT into the Fiat account is free. Each top-up runs from 1 to 1,000,000 USDT per the Global Card guide, though an older MEXC post cites a 100 USDT minimum, so the two published figures conflict — expect to be held to whichever your account interface enforces.
The thing that will catch you out is the network. The card pages do not name which networks to send USDT on. This matters more here than it might seem, because blockchain transfers are irreversible: a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost, or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. USDT exists on Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others, so there is more than one wrong answer available. Before your first transfer, confirm in your own account which network MEXC expects. Do not assume the one you use elsewhere.
A card of this type cannot overdraw, because it spends a pre-loaded balance and nothing else. When you close the card, the termination fee is 0 and there is no inactivity fee — but what happens to the remaining balance, and how you move it back to the exchange account, is not stated on the card pages. Budget for having to ask support.
Paying with it every day
Everyday use is where this card is thinnest, and the honest reason is that it exists only in software.
It is a virtual Visa Platinum. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported on the Global Card; the APAC Card supports Google Pay only. Adding it to a phone wallet is the intended way to use it, because a virtual card number has to live somewhere — in Apple Pay, in Google Pay, or in a browser you type into. There is no physical card and no ATM, and there is no list of blocked merchants published on the card pages, so you cannot check in advance whether a given category of spending will go through.
The cashback is the best part. It is tiered by your M-Score, paid by the 15th of the following month, and it is paid in USDT:
- Standard: 4% cashback, capped at 100 USDT a month.
- Premier (M-Score 600–799): 6%, capped at 300 USDT a month.
- Elite (M-Score 800+): 10%, capped at 800 USDT a month.
There is also a referral payment of 20 USDT to the person who refers and 10 USDT to the newcomer. The Standard/Premier/Elite tiers change only the cashback rate and the monthly cap — they do not change the card itself, and there is no metal or physical tier to upgrade into because the card is virtual only.
Online payments use 3-D Secure. Your one-time code arrives by email, valid for 4 minutes, or in the MEXC app. Apple Pay and Google Pay replace your card number with a device-specific token, so the real number is never stored on the phone maker’s servers and each payment carries a fresh one-time code. That part is standard and sound.
One more everyday detail: a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, sometimes up to seven. A shop that suspects double-billing and freezes the amount will not show you the hold at the till.
What can go wrong
This is the section where the score drops hardest, and it is not about technology.
The issuer is not named. The card page does not name the bank or e-money institution that issues the card. Unofficial reporting (SpendNode, 2026) says the reviewed documents identify no issuer and no safeguarding arrangement, and that the exchange holds custody of spending balances; the issuer’s name has not been published anywhere I could find. That matters more than it first appears. A card programme has three parties — the network (Visa), the issuer (a licensed bank or e-money institution), and the crypto brand, which is often only a programme manager or front end. If the issuer is unknown, so is the entity your money is actually held by.
Your balance is custodial. Your spending balance sits at the exchange. Nobody has published a safeguarding or insurance statement for it. Custodial platforms have a history: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Holding funds with a custodian carries counterparty and hack risk. If something goes wrong, an exchange is a counterparty, not a deposit institution.
The exchange’s complaint record is the weakest part of the package. Official incident information for the card itself is not stated. What is documented is the exchange’s Trustpilot profile, read on 2026-10-20: 1,368 reviews, 88% of them one-star, with the score itself currently unavailable under a “breach of our guidelines” notice after fake reviews were removed. The themes in the user reports are consistent — accounts flagged as “risk” without reasons given and then restricted, withdrawals frozen or delayed for months, generic support replies and unresolved tickets, hard account deletion, and one review describing a 0.50 USD fee on a declined Apple Pay transaction. FinTelegram reported a Trustpilot score of 1.8 out of 5 with one-star reviews about frozen or withheld funds and withdrawal friction, and says MEXC was named on the Hong Kong SFC’s suspicious-platforms alert list. I am relaying these as reported, not as established fact: a regulator’s alert is a flag for readers to investigate, not a verdict.
Third-party catalogues disagree about the product. DefiLlama describes a Visa card in 110 countries. CryptoCardHub describes a Mastercard EUR card restricted to inner test users as of February 2026. These cannot both be a full description of what is live. Where you are uncertain about what you are actually being offered, the card’s own app is the only authority.
Programmes can close. Card programmes do get wound down — Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all of its Visa programmes. A closure typically means a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what remains. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source ended new loads on 8 July and spending on 8 August; that is a single unconfirmed source, but it shows the shape of what you would face.
Friction at the till. Merchants can look up the BIN and see which institution and country issued your card, and may apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from your billing address — which is why a card issued in one country can look foreign in another. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs outright for that reason. Address verification, which compares the numeric parts of your billing address against issuer records, is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards and can cause declines. None of this is a fee, but it is the everyday cost of a card issued outside your own country.
Support hours are not published. You can raise a ticket from the platform, and there is a help centre with Russian-language pages, but live chat hours for the card are not stated on the card pages I checked. For a card that is virtual-only, with no ATM and no merchant list, support is not a convenience — it is part of the product.
What to do if something breaks. If you dispute a charge, contact the merchant first, then MEXC Customer Service with your reason and evidence. The windows are 90 days for duplicate charges and 120 days for suspected fraud, goods not received, or goods not as described. Filing a dispute is free, but a review fee may apply if it is rejected for incomplete evidence. Refunds usually land in 1–7 days, travel refunds up to 30. There is a 0.50 USD per-refund fee, but only if your refund rate is excessively high, and cashback on refunded purchases is deducted. If you lose the card — which for a virtual card means losing access — you freeze it in Card Management, then contact Customer Service for a replacement. Repeated failed payments can trigger a risk review and card termination.
What to take instead
If you want a comparison rather than a verdict, these are the three nearest cards, and each solves a different part of what the MEXC card leaves weak.
| Card | Score | Who it is for | Card | Fees |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bybit Card | 6.0/10 | Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru, Asia Pacific. Not for European Economic Area customers — all EEA participation is strictly prohibited. | Virtual and physical (virtual first; physical not in Peru; phased rollout). Networks and currencies vary by region. | Crypto conversion 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate (0.5% Argentina); FX 2% on top of the network rate (7% Argentina, 1.5% Brazil, 1% Peru). |
| Coinbase Card | 6.4/10 | All US states except Hawaii; US identity rules only. | Visa prepaid debit, virtual or physical. | “Zero spending fees and no annual fees”; a spread applies when Coinbase converts your crypto at payment. |
| OKX | 6.2/10 | EU plus Norway, launched 28 January 2026; Iceland and Liechtenstein excluded. | Mastercard, euro-denominated virtual debit linked to OKX Pay. Physical not mentioned. | No transaction fee, no OKX FX fee; conversion spread quoted as 0.1% (explainer, May 2026) versus 0.4% market spread (launch release) — a conflict, the newer figure is the explainer’s. |
Three honest observations about that comparison.
Bybit is the broadest and the most complicated. It has physical cards where MEXC has none, a six-tier cashback ladder topping out at 10% with a 600 USDT monthly cap, and a welcome offer. But it draws on your Funding Account and sells crypto automatically when the fiat runs out, its fee schedule swings from 0.5% to 7% depending on the region, and Argentina carries VAT of 21% on foreign digital services plus a 30% tax on foreign transactions plus provincial gross-income tax of 1%–13.2%. Also note: since 5 October 2026, only crypto-funded transactions earn points or cashback — fiat-funded spending earns nothing. If you want a physical card and live in one of its nine regions, it is worth a look; if you want simplicity, it is not it.
Coinbase is the narrowest and the calmest. If you are in the United States outside Hawaii, it is the only one of these with a card you can hold, no spending fee and no annual fee, and a spread that is disclosed rather than buried. Its catch is that it converts all crypto to US dollars for purchases and ATM withdrawals, and its rewards rate is variable and shown in the app. And “outside Hawaii” is the entire world of its availability.
OKX is the regulated-licence option, which matters for a specific reason. MiCA is the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, and under it e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. A crypto card depends on two licences — one for the crypto side and one for the payment side — and OKX’s card runs through a named European licensed payment provider with a euro-denominated Mastercard. It also has the narrowest fee description: no transaction fee, no FX fee, a small quoted conversion spread. The catch is narrower geography than Bybit and a virtual card only.
If you are outside the United States, outside the EEA, and outside Bybit’s nine regions, this category is thin, and the choice comes down to which exchange you are most willing to hold your money at.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the MEXC card to someone in this specific position: you already hold USDT, you live in a country the card’s proof-of-address rule admits, you spend through Apple Pay or Google Pay rather than at a till, and you treat the balance as money you are actively spending rather than money you are saving. In that situation the card does what it says — 0% crypto conversion, no annual fee, no top-up fee, a Visa currency rate with no mark-up, and cashback that arrives on its own by the 15th of each month — and the 1% spending fee from October is a fair price for that convenience.
I would not recommend it as your primary card, and I would not load it with money you would miss. The reasons are not exotic: the issuer is not named, the balance is custodial with no safeguarding statement, there is no physical card and no ATM, the top-up network is not published, and the exchange underneath it has a documented pattern of frozen accounts and delayed withdrawals in its own user reviews. Those are not hypothetical risks; they are the specific complaints that recur across hundreds of reviews, and a card is only as trustworthy as the platform holding the money.
The 1% fee is worth pausing on too. A card that launched with the spending fee waived and then began charging 1% from 1 October is not a card you build a monthly budget around without deciding, deliberately, that the cashback and the convenience are worth it. At the Standard tier, 4% cashback against a 1% spending fee still nets positive; at the point where a purchase exceeds the cashback cap, it does not.
If you are deciding between this and one of the alternatives, the deciding question is not fees — it is which jurisdiction’s licence stands behind the balance, and whether you need to hold a piece of plastic. Those two questions, not the cashback table, should decide it.
Frequently asked questions
What is the MEXC card?
It is a virtual Visa Platinum payment card, launched 31 August 2026 as the MEXC Global Card, that spends a balance you load with USDT rather than drawing on a bank account. There is also an APAC version for selected Asia-Pacific markets. Both are virtual only — no physical card exists yet — and you use the card number through Apple Pay or Google Pay.
How does the MEXC card work?
You top up USDT into a Fiat account on the exchange, then load the card from your account. The card spends that loaded balance and cannot overdraw, because it is a pre-loaded balance rather than a line of credit. Payments are authorised online with a 3-D Secure one-time code sent by email, valid four minutes, or shown in the MEXC app. Non-dollar purchases convert at the plain Visa rate.
Do I need KYC to get a MEXC card?
Yes. Advanced KYC is required before you apply, meaning a government ID plus face verification. You also need a proof of address from an eligible country, and no income proof is required. The card pages do not state an age requirement or a processing time, and they do not publish the reasons an application might be refused — so treat the outcome as conditional until you have the card in hand.
Who can get the MEXC card?
Eligibility follows the country on your proof of address, not your nationality. As of August 2026 the application blacklist includes the United States, China, India, Indonesia, Turkey and Russia among others; the Philippines, Taiwan, Vietnam and Thailand are not on it. The list changes, so check your own country at the time you apply. Unofficial sources, DefiLlama and SpendNode in 2026, put the Global Card in 110 countries.
Is MEXC a bank?
No — not on the evidence the card pages publish. The card page does not name the bank or e-money institution that issues the card, and unofficial reporting (SpendNode, 2026) says the reviewed documents identify no issuer and no safeguarding arrangement. A crypto card is normally a programme managed by the crypto brand on top of a licensed issuer; here, the issuer is the part that is not published.
How much does the MEXC card cost to use?
On the Global Card: 20 USD issuance (waived for a limited time as of August 2026), no annual fee, no top-up fee, 0% crypto conversion, currency at the Visa rate with no MEXC mark-up, and a 1% transaction fee from 1 October 2026 — so a 100 USD purchase deducts 101 USDT. The APAC card charges 0% issuance and 0% transaction fee but 1% crypto conversion and the Visa rate plus 1% on non-USD purchases.
How do I top up the MEXC card?
With USDT only. You transfer USDT to the exchange’s Fiat account and then add it to the card from the My MEXC Card page. There is no top-up fee and the transfer into the Fiat account is free, with each top-up running from 1 to 1,000,000 USDT per the guide — though an older post cites a 100 USDT minimum, so the published figures conflict. Confirm which network to use before your first transfer.
Is the MEXC card safe to use?
The card mechanics are ordinary — a virtual Visa number, 3-D Secure codes, tokenised mobile wallets — but your balance is held by the exchange, custodially, with no safeguarding or insurance statement published. The issuer is not named. And the exchange’s own user reviews on Trustpilot, 1,368 of them with 88% one-star as read on 2026-10-20, repeatedly describe accounts frozen without reasons and withdrawals delayed for months. Load it with spending money, not savings.
Does the MEXC card work with Apple Pay?
Yes, the Global Card supports both Apple Pay and Google Pay. The APAC Card supports Google Pay only. Adding the card to a phone wallet stores a device-specific token rather than your card number, and each payment uses a one-time code — which is the safest way to use a virtual card, since the number never sits in a browser or a note.
Where can I use the MEXC card, and what if a shop declines it?
You can use it anywhere a Visa is accepted online or in person through a wallet, but no list of blocked merchant categories is published. Two things cause declines more often with a card like this: a merchant checking the BIN and seeing a foreign or prepaid issuer, and address verification, which is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards. A declined authorisation can also leave a hold on your funds for several days, sometimes up to seven.
Exchange cards – cryptocardbasics
Content created by the «cryptocardbasics» team
